Competitions Round 1 Lineup vs Fremantle - CLOSING TONIGHT!! 9.00pm. GET YOUR FINAL TEAMS IN BY THEN

FB Morris Roberts Boyd
HB Wood Hamling Murphy
C Macrae Libba Hunter
HF Dahlhaus Redpath Daniel
FF Dickson Boyd Stringer
R Campbell Bont Wallis
In JJ Jong Picken Suckling
Em Roughead McLean Dale

Not so sure. AS moves away from his direct competitor, lines up the 'third man up' and bumps him to the head. Doubt the tribunal will see height as a factor (that's a dangerous precedent). The golden rule is, if you choose to bump and make contact to the head you wear the consequences, especially when the guy doesn't even have the ball. I reckon he's gone.
His eyes did shift towards the Tiger player but he was given a bit of help getting there from the other Richmond player. He either bumps the guy or gets sandwiched himself. Bit harsh IMO.

Biggs. Morris Wood
Murphy. Hamling Adcock
MCcrae. Libba. JJ
Suckling. Redpath. Dahl
Stringer. Toyd. Dickson
Minson. Wallis. Picken

Bont. Daniel Hunter. Moyd

His eyes did shift towards the Tiger player but he was given a bit of help getting there from the other Richmond player. He either bumps the guy or gets sandwiched himself. Bit harsh IMO.
Agree it's harsh and a lineball call, but he does brace, move line, choose to bump and make very solid contact so I'd be surprised if he gets off - especially this early in the season when the tribunal likes to make statements and set precedents.

Either way, Freo may decide 2 weeks is too risky and cop the offer.

Possible Freo Lineup (From the top of my head) vs Dogs possible lineup

FB: Ibbotson, Pearce, Johnson
FF: Dickson, Boyd, Stringer
HB: Spurr, Dawson, De Boer
HF: Dahlhaus, Redpath, McLean
C: Hill, Fyfe, D.Pearce
C: Hunter, Wallis, JJ
HF: Bennell, Taberner, Ballentyne??
HB: Murphy, Hamling, Boyd
FF: Griffin, Pavlich, Walters
FB: Morris, Roberts, Wood
R: Clarke, Mundy, Neale
R: Roughead, Bontempelli, Liberatore
Int: Barlow, Suban, Mayne, Weller/C.Pearce
Int: Macrae, Picken, Stevens, Suckling

A lot of interesting matchups there! Particularly the midfield battle.
Research tells me that your listed Freo full back in Alex Pearce is also on the injured list with OP and virtually no chance for round 1.

Agree it's harsh and a lineball call, but he does brace, move line, choose to bump and make very solid contact so I'd be surprised if he gets off - especially this early in the season when the tribunal likes to make statements and set precedents.

Either way, Freo may decide 2 weeks is too risky and cop the offer.

It's complete garbage and why footy is only getting worse

He doesn't jump or raise the shoulder at all simply hits him straight and because he is taller hits his head.

Footy is still a contact sport this is pathetic

because he is taller hits his head.
Being tall should not be an excuse for bumping someone in the head. The rules are quite clear against high contact- they don't make a special allowance for taller players to hit shorter players in the head. I'm sure Sandilands is quite aware that he is tall, and he is therefore more likely to hit someone in the head if he bumps them. Knowing this, he should adjust his bumping technique or avoid bumping if he doesn't want to break the rules.

Sorry for the intrusion but who's shaping up for ruck for you guys. Is Minson still on the outer? With Sandilands out it could be a really telling battle.

Being tall should not be an excuse for bumping someone in the head. The rules are quite clear against high contact- they don't make a special allowance for taller players to hit shorter players in the head. I'm sure Sandilands is quite aware that he is tall, and he is therefore more likely to hit someone in the head if he bumps them. Knowing this, he should adjust his bumping technique or avoid bumping if he doesn't want to break the rules.

Disagree with all of this mate but no problems

Pretty hard to make yourself suddenly smaller in a blink of an eye.

The AFL have to understand with all different size players running around sometimes accidents will happen and in the end footy is a contact sport.

If Caleb Daniel runs at Sandilands both contesting the ball what do you expect Sandilands to do? Stop coz he is bigger ?

No one wants head contact but it's gonna happen occasionally until the AFL make it non contact sport which it is becoming more and more

Disagree with all of this mate but no problems

Pretty hard to make yourself suddenly smaller in a blink of an eye.

The AFL have to understand with all different size players running around sometimes accidents will happen and in the end footy is a contact sport.

If Caleb Daniel runs at Sandilands both contesting the ball what do you expect Sandilands to do? Stop coz he is bigger ?

No one wants head contact but it's gonna happen occasionally until the AFL make it non contact sport which it is becoming more and more
Totally disagree with your final point sorry. It's far from a non contact sport or moving anywhere in that direction. I'm a firm believer the afl is a tougher sport than it has ever been and the players the bravest in its history. The players are all bigger,stronger faster and fitter. The hits they cop in this era are incomparable to any other time in the league's history. We need to be careful these athletes keep their srength,speed and power well away from the head. That's all the league is trying to achieve.

Well this is clearly a different situation, because Sandilands stepped away from the ball to bump Griffiths. I agree that head hits are going to happen occasionally though. If two players are genuinely playing the ball and there is incidental head contact, there shouldn't be a suspension.