Unofficial Preview Round 1 Vs Giants - Saturday March 16

Can't afford for LDU to have another quiet game.

Get Greenwood and Shiels in for some mature heads.
If we are any chance to be competitive, we need 30+, 500m, 6 clearances from LDU. Basically he needs to be aiming to be best on ground against a swathe of talented GWS veterans.

Agree with Nostra that they look ****en grouse off the halfback line. The concern will be Curtis's player, although I'm not sold on Zurhaar's defensive pressure either. That wave of runners through the middle crushed Collingwood last night, so it'll be interesting to see if the relatively stodgy two way running from the preseason from WiPhi, LDU etc continues. If it does I think we lose by 5+ goals, we aren't on their level yet.

Big game from the second tier mids required.

Powell and Phillips specifically.

I actually think Northball is the wrong method against this lot. They're better at it than we are and they're older, stronger and faster. We need to make it a gross, contested slog to be any chance, and even then Green is damn near the best contested mid in the comp so it might need to be Greenwood to sit on him.

That's what happens when you've had infinite first rounders and early second rounders since 2011.

Picks;
2011 - 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14
2012 - 1, 2, 3, 12, 14, 27
2013 - 1, 2, 14, 29
2014 - 4, 6, 7, 23, 24
2015 - 7, 13, 16
2016 - 2, 5, 14, 20
2017 - 11, 27, 28
2018 - 22, 24
2019 - 4, 10
2020 - 12, 15,18
2021 - 3, 15
2022 - 1, 16, 21, 22
2023 - 12, 17

That's 44 first rounders in 13 years already..

Angry Office GIF
How many are still there?

Free hit.
We are not expected to win or get close. The boys will fatigue later in the year being so young, but we’re fresh now and full of run. Sheez, Wardlaw, McKercher, Fish, Stephens, Pink, Dawson and Duursma amongst others are too you to be scarred from 5 years of crap footy. Bring it!

So wouldn't they be included on the list?
The probably are.

Which is why they have multiple first rounders in multiple years.

They’re had multiple first rounders every year of their existence.

Teams that attack fast in transition are one of our several forms of kryptonite. Teams that destroy the premiers with that game style.... sheesh.

Poor Stephenson is gonna be absolutely knackered trying to pick up the slack of his teammates

We're completely and utterly up against it. They're a better team than us on practically every front, it's at their home ground, and they've already had a proper competitive hitout (not that we slacked off with the two pre season games).

If we can get everyone through the match unscathed without having an abhorrant 80+ point loss then that will be enough for me. The week after is where I'll start being a bit more critical.

Heaps of Fun nailed it on the previous page, for our first game of the season we've been thrown to the wolves by the AFL.

We're completely and utterly up against it. They're a better team than us on practically every front, it's at their home ground, and they've already had a proper competitive hitout (not that we slacked off with the two pre season games).

If we can get everyone through the match unscathed without having an abhorrant 80+ point loss then that will be enough for me. The week after is where I'll start being a bit more critical.

Heaps of Fun nailed it on the previous page, for our first game of the season we've been thrown to the wolves by the AFL.
We play 3 of the 4 prelim finalists in the first five weeks…..

I had somehow scraped that factoid out of my memory.

Amazin'
Was magnanimous of them not to fit the Premiers in there.

You know who else plays three of the four preliminary finalists inside the first five rounds?

No one. Absolutely none.

Complete and utter campaigners.

Going to this one which is genuinely exciting as 2023 was the first year since infancy I didn’t attend a game (covid aside). Keep it within 30pts and I’ll be ecstatic.

Will be an interesting match up. Last years prelim finalist smashed the premiers last night, but we didn't really think we were at the level of either of them did we?

Last year we lost by 28 in Tassie. Stats don't read well from that game, as many of the stats leaders are no longer with us (Zeibs, Hall, Goldie, TT).

I will be looking for the positives and that we don't throw in the towel if it goes against us early. Good games from debutantes in the first real hit out, growth from the 2nd-4th year players, and to see what the new experienced recruits bring.

Unofficial Preview Round 1 Vs Giants - Saturday March 16