Game Day Round 1 : WCE vs North Melbourne @ Eatadick Stadium 26/3 - More North than North

Winning Margin

It's not the easiest game we could've started with - an away game against a team with a lot of spirit regardless of what men they have out on the field - but I'm tipping us to win by a few goals. We've had a pretty solid team for a few years now, and while not having our first 2 choice ruckmen sucks, we have good players all over the field.

The biggest issue is going to be West Coast themselves - can they show some mental fortitude given that it's the start of the season and they're in enemy territory?

I think so. Simpson spoke this week about how much last year's finish burned into him (and you know 2015 was even worse), so I'd think he'd have put some focus on making sure everyone has the right "do or die" mentality about this season. That's one of the reasons they brought Mitchell in - sure, they got a Brownlow medalist for a dime, and it's also so he can transition into assistant coaching in a year or two - but make no mistake, they want his leadership while the premiership window is open.

Also, I remember reading something in an AFL article or watching a video about our first-round away games in recent years, so I looked into it a bit further:

2010: away against Brisbane, lost by 34 - they finished 13th out of 16, but that was also the year we won the spoon, so with 4 wins for the year we were losing most of our away games that year
2011: home against North, won by 4 - we finished 4th, them 9th
2012: away against Bulldogs, won by 49 - we finished 5th, they finished 15th out of 18, so fair performance
2013: 'away' against Fremantle, lost by 28 - we finished 13th that year, while the Dockers finished third and made the GF
2014: home against Bulldogs, won by 65 - we finished 9th, they finished 14th, so good scoreline considering that
2015: away game against Bulldogs, lost by 10 - we finished 2nd, they finished 6th, so losing a first round game to a fellow finalist on their home turf by only 10 points is acceptable
2016: home against Brisbane, won by 64 - we finished 6th, they finished 17th, so a bit of a drubbing

Seriously, whoever made that comment... since 2010, we've lost 2 first round games outside of Perth. One when we performed so badly that year that we only got 4 wins (basically that it being the first round didn't really mean anything), and one by less than 2 goals against arguably the second best Melbourne team for that year.

After looking into that, I don't think the first round away 'factor' is a real thing, and am a bit more confident that we'll win, given that we're a chance to make the 4 this year and North looks like they'll miss the finals, and we've typically won and lost our first round games as final ladder placings predict we would.

Drink wherever or whatever you want, as long as you aren't Addicted.
Haha. Do love a beer and have no qualms with cracking one at any time the mood suits me. That mood has been known to suit me at 6.00am. Although its generally if I'm fishing with a few lads or helping out with some manual labour. Have also been known to quite enjoy a champers or an apple cider for brekky, particularly after a big night, its refreshing on the palate and the sugars give me a bit of a pep up, I'm sure the alcohol has nothing to do with it. :)

I actually don't have any guilt drinking early in the morning. But I probably chose not to.
unless I'm watching the game with mates, I won't drink. I hate drinking by my self.

Actually last bit is incorrect as there's day I get sense of anxiousness and so a beer and dart helps settle me down. But when it comes to footy and drinking by my self, I rarely do it.

NORTH Melbourne will unveil four first-gamers and two club debutants against West Coast on Sunday as it boldly embarks on a new era.

Jy Simpkin, pick No.12 in last year's NAB AFL Draft, ruck revelation Braydon Preuss and 2015 draftees Mitch Hibberd and Declan Mountford will make their AFL debuts against the Eagles, while former Bulldog Nathan Hrovat and ex-Magpie Marley Williams will play their first games in North colours.

It's not the easiest game we could've started with - an away game against a team with a lot of spirit regardless of what men they have out on the field - but I'm tipping us to win by a few goals. We've had a pretty solid team for a few years now, and while not having our first 2 choice ruckmen sucks, we have good players all over the field.

The biggest issue is going to be West Coast themselves - can they show some mental fortitude given that it's the start of the season and they're in enemy territory?

I think so. Simpson spoke this week about how much last year's finish burned into him (and you know 2015 was even worse), so I'd think he'd have put some focus on making sure everyone has the right "do or die" mentality about this season. That's one of the reasons they brought Mitchell in - sure, they got a Brownlow medalist for a dime, and it's also so he can transition into assistant coaching in a year or two - but make no mistake, they want his leadership while the premiership window is open.

Also, I remember reading something in an AFL article or watching a video about our first-round away games in recent years, so I looked into it a bit further:

2010: away against Brisbane, lost by 34 - they finished 13th out of 16, but that was also the year we won the spoon, so with 4 wins for the year we were losing most of our away games that year
2011: home against North, won by 4 - we finished 4th, them 9th
2012: away against Bulldogs, won by 49 - we finished 5th, they finished 15th out of 18, so fair performance
2013: 'away' against Fremantle, lost by 28 - we finished 13th that year, while the Dockers finished third and made the GF
2014: home against Bulldogs, won by 65 - we finished 9th, they finished 14th, so good scoreline considering that
2015: away game against Bulldogs, lost by 10 - we finished 2nd, they finished 6th, so losing a first round game to a fellow finalist on their home turf by only 10 points is acceptable
2016: home against Brisbane, won by 64 - we finished 6th, they finished 17th, so a bit of a drubbing

Seriously, whoever made that comment... since 2010, we've lost 2 first round games outside of Perth. One when we performed so badly that year that we only got 4 wins (basically that it being the first round didn't really mean anything), and one by less than 2 goals against arguably the second best Melbourne team for that year.

After looking into that, I don't think the first round away 'factor' is a real thing, and am a bit more confident that we'll win, given that we're a chance to make the 4 this year and North looks like they'll miss the finals, and we've typically won and lost our first round games as final ladder placings predict we would.

2013 - We lost Lecra to an injury when he was killing it during that first half. Pretty sure we had another player go down also i cant remember?

2015 - When we lost Brown early on we were down a rotation during game that was fast pace from the get go.

Jameson on the rocks.

I spent to much time in North America.

King is a twit of the highest order
Actually King has some decent things to say and some of his analysis and insights are good. He has taken a Kevin Barlett pill in that he cannot be objective about his old club and you also need to peel off some crap where he over works it.

I think some of his tactical nous is good, but he always seems to be saying some dumb shit re: evaluation of talent

Interesting also that Mountford has played as a run-with player before, could potentially do the job on Mitchell
G'day guys.

Yep, think Mountford will have a run with role as he was 'groomed' for this in the VFL last year.

Preuss playing seems to mean that either:

a) Majak misses out
b) Brown hasn't come up after the last week's practice match

The inclusion of Hibberd raises a question mark over Sam Wright's condition.

Preuss in is a bit of a surprise - potentially they play Goldstein, Preuss, Daw, Brown and Waite. You'd think we would play three talls down back if this is the case.

We used to throw Brown, or if desperate Petrie, into the ruck in previous years but I think going forward we will be playing one of Preuss or Daw.

I don't expect Daw to be picked if Brown is ready to go. Hopefully we do not call on Brown to ruck ever again, not just because he is hopeless in the ruck and vital as a FF but because he has a long history of knee issues. I think Brown/Waite will be fine up forward until Wood is ready to return. Goldy/Preuss can spend some time forward.

With us missing Cunnington this week and with the Eagles having Mitchell/Priddis, it is going to be important to dominate the ruck and limit their first possession.

Fully expect this to happen, but Id imagine our two you've mentioned will be looking to shark as much as possible.

Game Day Round 1 : WCE vs North Melbourne @ Eatadick Stadium 26/3 - More North than North