Review Round 10, 2023 vs Narrm

I don’t really know.

This Groundhog Day loop is insanity.

Might as well give the forgetful optimist mask a spin.
Absolutely it is. I think we have some hope in that our list is in good shape and certainly the way we are playing and setting up has Josh Carr all over it, who I am assuming will be our next senior coach.

yeah we were well ahead on the frees at half time but back to even by the end of the 3rd quarter

They must have been 5 or 6 to 1 up early in the first quarter too.

Everything revolves around Rozee and Butters really. Horne-Francis will eventually make it a trio but at this stage he's still a player who impacts in bursts, which is absolutely fine.

The fact that we could field Boak, Wines and Drew as a second midfield rotation is pretty wild.

There's echoes of the West Coast team of the mid 2000s - solid enough at either end but a deep and dynamic midfield that will always keep us in games.

Absolutely it is. I think we have some hope in that our list is in good shape and certainly the way we are playing and setting up has Josh Carr all over it.

I laughed at half time when Carr was interviewed on the ground and said we needed to be harder at the contest even though we were winning contested ball.

Not too mention Oliver getting one every time he put his hands up

they missed a heap of his throws as well.

and then sooks it up when he gives an obvious free kick away.

I reckon they got 5-6 frees from the centre bounce, maybe 3 in the 3rd quarter from frees that weren’t there.
My favourite was when Oliver gave away the most obvious front on contact against wines that has ever happened and still had a soon to the ref about it

They must have been 5 or 6 to 1 up early in the first quarter too.
yeah for sure right at the beginning they got a bunch then we got a bunch as well. If you have the ball chances are you will get more frees unless you're us and we still seem to be able to control the ball and give away double the frees of the other team. Last night was an outlier to that

Absolutely it is. I think we have some hope in that our list is in good shape and certainly the way we are playing and setting up has Josh Carr all over it, who I am assuming will be our next senior coach.

My contention is the same as always.

The playing talent is there (sans the odd hole at present), but the direction has never been up to it (give or take the novelty of Carr’s increased influence with old mate literally sidelined).

The obvious fear is what I believe to already be in train after the media have been superficially wishcasting it for the past two months (and will only become more and more likely with each minor round win).

Thought Ollie Lord played like a real key forward should. Got in front, protected the footy by sticking out his big chest, threw his weight around. Loved his game.

You know when you are 21 and you start a new job and are not sure you belong but you have the tools?.

That is where he is at.

So strong. Moves well. Has some footy nous.

Still has a lot to learn n.

Gets that belief and he will have a six-eight goal game might be in the snafl this year but it's coming.

But under 40 000 at the ground. Do yourselves a favor kids, get out to the game and watch these guys play at the moment, really entertaining brand of football to view at the game.

Guys like Butters and JHF are just so different in the way they move, individually both very different also, than anyone else on the footy field at the moment. You just sit there going, how do they do that.

My contention is the same as always.

The playing talent is there (sans the odd hole at present), but the direction has never been up to it (give or take the novelty of Carr’s increased influence with old mate literally sidelined).

The obvious fear is what I believe to already be in train after the media have been superficially wishcasting it for the past two months (and will only become more and more likely with each minor round win).
I have the same fears. There is no doubt in my mind, at least, that there has been too much change for it be Kenny led. In other words it is Carr driven, mostly. I certainly don’t want an extension otherwise it will back to where we have been for the last decade. I don’t think Kenny has got it tactically, so it must be Carr. I just hope and prey that they appoint him. I think Kenny walks anyway and that it has already been decided hence Carr now in the drivers seat.

Warrenonphone.jpg

It's great theatre. Who didn't enjoy rubbing it in Grundys face more after that?
Phones and celebrations are one thing, but going specifically to shush the crowd is so unbelievably lame. Even worse when you're having a terrible game and being carried by your team mates like Grundy was... and even worse if you're doing it to the exact club that gave your brother a contract. If they aren't there you don't have a job mate

View attachment 1691615

No premiership with this defence

Really wish I had been at this game. It’s killing me that I wasn’t. Caught bits including the last 5 minutes on my phone, but will need to watch the replay. Had another thing on in town that I’d told my fiancé we could go to, and stupidly didn’t look at the date. She said I could go if I wanted to, but it seemed like one of those “but don’t even dare” kind of scenarios.
Haha I landed in Rome and was watching the score with 5 minutes to go int he taxi from the airport

Phones and celebrations are one thing, but going specifically to shush the crowd is so unbelievably lame. Even worse when you're having a terrible game and being carried by your team mates like Grundy was... and even worse if you're doing it to the exact club that gave your brother a contract. If they aren't there you don't have a job mate

nah its good theatre, fires the crowd up and when it backfires as spectacularly as it did, its great.

if JHF did it to a big home norf crowd of 5000 after slamming home his 5th goal, would you hate it?

You know when you are 21 and you start a new job and are not sure you belong but you have the tools?.

That is where he is at.

So strong. Moves well. Has some footy nous.

Still has a lot to learn n.

Gets that belief and he will have a six-eight goal game might be in the snafl this year but it's coming.
Sometimes when you see a player you think, geez this guy has something. I reckon Lord falls into that category. I reckon he is going to be a very good player for us going forward. Seems that a number of commentators have the same view.

Schulzenfest how many supe coach points did Teakles man get today as BOG?

Oh wait.

Credit where it’s due I thought Lycett was combative and wasn’t a potatoe like weeks gone by
Actually good for the first half, but ran out of puff after half time and the Double G's torched him after the break.

Doesn't have the stamina any more, well the past 3/4 years really, to run out games.

The Dees' mids fed off that supply in the second half, but I presume Carr unlocked a strategic adjustment, that saw our mids take control again in the last quarter?

Thought it was our best win since the Geelong final in 2021, although someone mentioned that the Dees can be "gettable" - aka Essendon in Gather Round, Brizvegas, and nearly Gold Coast.

That said, I didn't think Melbourne played poorly last night. It was a high intensity game from start to finish.

But of course you want to be playing near your best at finals time, not early. Teams have runs of wins followed by indifferent form. It happens.

Not many sides maintain outstanding form. They surge, they wane, they surge again. We will likely go through a patch where we struggle, but hopefully regain our mojo in time for a tilt at finals.

For what it's worth, I am still convinced that last night's win was highly meritorious. Let's see if we can keep it going for a while yet!

Review Round 10, 2023 vs Narrm