Autopsy Round 13, 2023: Sydney v St.Kilda *PRIDE GAME*

As a Sydney based saint, damn that felt good!!! Just got home from the game and it’s a very different feeling to the usual bitter SCG disappointment. Haven’t felt this since Joey’s point all those long years ago.

Great hear everyone get the song going in the last 5 minutes in the saints bay as the swans supporters started streaming out of the ground.

Buddy you’re a legend, but this was our night!!!

What’s going on with Steele this year? Have had more of an eye on him due to fantasy but is also one of my favourite players when he’s on.

Just seems off the pace and lacking direction in terms of role. Looked back to himself a little more in the second half but it still feels like it’s a grind for him to impact the game and get involved. Also doesn’t look like he’s covering the ground well despite dropping weight

Playing sore. He used to be so durable but his game style is catching up to him. Has a sore knee and came back very quickly from a collarbone. Thought the week off would be good for him but he still seemed off it, last quarter was encouraging though

Multiple flogs on their forum think the umps gave us the game...ffs. Umpiring was atrocious on both sides, but the Gulden goal and Amaty's miss were nothing short of make-believe frees for cheap shots on goal that should never have happened.

Nicholls was a shocker, he paid a couple of soft free kicks and goals to the Swans in their forward 50 in the 3rd quarter that helped to keep them in it.

Thankfully he made up for it in the last quarter by paying us a few soft fifties and free kicks to swing the game back our way, he was a double agent.

We must have slipped him a few more dollar bills at the 3 quarter time break than the Swans did, money well spent if we did.

The SCG always has crap games, tonight was worse then normal but it's a terrible ground for footy. Second half was better once it dried up a little.

All of the back 6 stood up really well. Wilkie is the perfect match up for Buddy, even in his current zombie state. NAS has come on so quickly and Stocker is not afraid to take on some risky kicks and I trust him with ball in hand.

Owens already our most important player & Windhager showed flashes of class in a scrappy game which is encouraging, and the forward pressure was impressive all night long. It won't be long before Pou pulls off one of those 360 spins and kicks goal of the year, it's coming.

He is a real life Monkey, a Japanese superhero.

As impressive as the romaji efforts have been on here this evening...
I would like to observe that although it was a Japanese TV show with Japanese actors and great music from a mostly Japanese band, the story is a Chinese one about a journey from China to India. But yeah, works for me anyway.

I just finished watching the replay, having missed the game. Solid win, composure went out the window a few times. Thoroughly enjoyed the last minute or so. Very happy to hear Blakey not concussed, but as Jason said - would like the AFL to actually come out and say there was nothing wrong with the tackle and he wouldn't have been rubbed out anyway.

Would also like Ralph Malph to get a couple of weeks himself for knobbery.

Big thanks to Nas, Sincs, Marshall, Wilkie, Mitch, Dan, Max and all the others for their efforts. And goodnight.

I know we've all been joking around tonight, but my partner literally just told me that she's pregnant. Would be our first kid. Might just have to float Mitchito as a name, what do you think my guys, seems the universe is pointing us in a direction?

Michito or Nasiah, both would be good options.

If it's a boy (or a girl), maybe George ?

After this guy.

19740058.jpg

I know we've all been joking around tonight, but my partner literally just told me that she's pregnant. Would be our first kid. Might just have to float Mitchito as a name, what do you think my guys, seems the universe is pointing us in a direction?
Congratulations mate! Life changer.

Not a great name for a girl, but if it's a boy why not? I'd maybe go with Mitch unless your partner is also a footy fan or a fan of Japanese culture.

Thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the Members tonight for Buddy’s 359th🤣. First win I have seen at the SCG in 15 years I think.

We did it the hard way though. Kids like windy, Mitch and NAS need to play every game they are fit for the rest of the year.

Our Mids struggled again in the first half. Ro out of form around the ground and not getting the job done down the line. King was always another kick down so Ro taking some marks on the wing is important.

Hammer struggled although there was plenty of service that gave no tall a hope in the first half.

Hill was woeful with ball in hand but kept working hard applying pressure.

If she says no to Mitchito try Mattaes.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

On The Age website

"Streaker delays play
A fan ran onto the field waving his shirt around and was promptly escorted off by security guards."

If you're talking about a shirtless man that gave more effort and a better side step (albeit against a few puffing larger people) than most Wallabies players in a generation. That vaulted sideways over the fence and was last seen running up the aisle without a hand laid on him then no wonder the average person that is paid to write or talk about footy can't tell the difference between a reportable or not tackle.
So true!

My only complaint is that after that win… we are still only 5th!

Staying in 5th place is good enough for me.

We have shored up our spot in the Top 8 at least, if we lost this game tonight we would be right back in the pack and fighting for a spot in the Top 8.

It wasn't pretty tonight, we ground out another tough win on the road, our first win against the Swans at the SCG since 2009, I will happily take that.

Ralphy reckons Butler get two weeks.
FMD. Surely not.

Jason Dunstall sorted Ralph out when asked about tackle. According to Dunstall there is no way Butler can be suspended, the game is in real trouble if the perfect tackle leads to a suspension.

You can’t legislate for accidents.

If Butler gets given weeks for that tackle by the MRO we should appeal it and take it to the tribunal and if that fails we should take it to the High Court.

The fabric of the game is at stake, if a tackle like that gets a suspension this game is stuffed.

Don’t get me started on that AFL plant Daisy, she was wanting Butler to get the death penalty the way she was carrying on

She is also a turnip.

Unlike others I don’t think she adds value to the coverage. Most of her observations are obvious and general in nature. Overrated.

There you go, I said it. It is what it is. Come at me!

Pearce’s comments about the Butler tackle showed a complete lack of feel and understanding for the game. Blakey was in dreamland, with the football, in the middle of the SCG, fluffing around. He was unprepared and didn’t brace for a tackle he didn’t see. His arms weren’t pinned.

It was an accident that Blakey’s head hit the ground. Butler was not reckless. It was a brilliant effort to tackle.

We cannot have players suspended for that.

No chance.

Will get 2 weeks just based on Blakey being concussed.
Except that he was not concussed.

Sydney coach John Longmire revealed post-game that Blakey had carried a toe injury into the game that hampered him before the incident, which contributed to the Swans' decision to make the sub rather than waiting for him to pass a concussion test.

"No, he passed his HIA he was fine in the end," Longmire told reporters on Thursday night.

Autopsy Round 13, 2023: Sydney v St.Kilda *PRIDE GAME*