Autopsy Round 13... cats 16.4 def Dogs 5.13

I deleted the tape as I had no interest in watching this shitfight again but Q1, when the rest of the team was in shellshock, Jake ripped a blokes head off in front of me on the left forward flank and then nearly killed himself and an another Cats flog about 35 seconds later flinging himself into the fence in the process. Gave away the free for the second one but at least someone stood up to the bastards in the right way. Think his physicality is fine tbh, it's how he seems to score most of his goals...?
And that stuff that opportunistic throwing the late kicking opponent to the ground viciously - I saw that from jake- but i don't care, not a real fan of that stuff - I was talking more re marking contests, set piece opportunities where he is one out and his leading patterns.

Hey guys, sorry for the intrusion...came looking to see if you had a preview thread up yet for round 15. Anyway, which players do you expect to return from injury? We'll have Richards and Papley available but neither of them stood out in the 2s today. Fair chance to be unchanged I'd say.
Doesn't look like you got much response. Wood is a lock, Stevens, Tom Boyd, Webb all selection possibilities alongside Clay Smith if he's got his match fitness up to scratch. I'd think Dahl will still be a little off by then.

And that stuff that opportunistic throwing the late kicking opponent to the ground viciously - I saw that from jake- but i don't care, not a real fan of that stuff - I was talking more re marking contests, set piece opportunities where he is one out and his leading patterns.

Both were marking contests - first he was late and had to punch and the second he was behind and the free was a bit unlucky I felt. I kind of get what you are saying, I just don't think being a strong o/h mark is anywhere near Jakes go to armoury or ever is likely to be. He is so good at everything else though. I've come back around to mid being his best position for that reason unless we have 2 marking talls playing and he can be the third option in which case he dominates.

Doesn't look like you got much response. Wood is a lock, Stevens, Tom Boyd, Webb all selection possibilities alongside Clay Smith if he's got his match fitness up to scratch. I'd think Dahl will still be a little off by then.
Clay smith is no chance.

Bugger! You know how many times I checked that I had every one in?
Well I don't know where to put him.

He is falling to the ground too much this year. It's why I missed him. Stand your ground boy. Bugger me it's a hard team to get into.

Seeing your so observant why don't you slot him in.

Me, I'm going to put a hungy on us winning the premiership.

I'd say Mclean or Smith the unlucky one to ️️miss

My take away’s from the Game.

We cannot rest on our what we have. Our game plan will currently beat a lot of teams and make the 8 yet will it hold up in Sept, no.

Bevo has another half season to tinker with it.

We need another injection of freah faces, especially good ball uses. It time to give Webb his chance. He ticks the box of a clean uses of the ball, an area we are behind the best teams. We need to be more clean from defence, JJ will help with this. When Suckling gets its, I’m calm, yet if it’s Hunter or MaCrae it nervous. Taking the ball out of the defensive 50 is not their go.

It’s unfortunate yet our highest possession winners cannot hurt the opposition like other top teams. This means that on the ultimate stage I don’t believe we can compete yet.

We need to tinker with our outside game to create goals more easy. This may require tinkering with the current line to get the correct mix to win in Sept.

About to have a down game after 12 rounds, last week's big game looks to have a big effect on us after 6 day break, a timely break, we are still young, move on.

Bugger me. Jongy cannot win with some posters on here. He is criticised for not getting enough disposals and not impacting games because he stands outside the contest. Then against Geelong, he played a seriously good 3rd quarter by being in the guts and managing to help hold the ball in as well as help get it out. And what he is now criticised for? Going in and not being on the outside watching opposition players. The kid can't win.

Jong put himself between the Geelong player and the ball where he could. His body size and his tenacity in close helped stop the ball getting an easy exit to Geelong who always had a player or 2 waiting at the back of the contest. We got back in the contest because of our increasing effectiveness at the contest. Jong was part of this and deserves bouquets not brick bats.

He showed, that with an increased tank, he could be a seriously good player. To take a contested mark, kick a goal, dispose efficiently, play almost error free.......his development would appear to be on course. Of course we would all like more......but patience with young player development is all about allowing them to come on at their own pace.

I'm not sure what more this kid could have done.

I dont particularly care what others think but for all his deficiencies I thought Jong was one of our better players on Sat night.

We played a lot of dumb footy . One thing from where I sat was obvious from start to finish was how often our mids all got sucked in too close at stoppages.
We got badly burnt on the outside when it flipped out and it happened a lot. Our rucks were very poor and didn't help. and our third man up tactic just made it worse. Paid no respect to Dangerfield , left him with 5 metres on everyone else too many times. We gave him a bruise free day !
I understand this is the way we tend play , but surely you make adjustment based on circumstances on the day.
Poor coaching .

Games like this show up the players who you know in your heart aren't that good, really prove you right. Redpath, Roberts and Biggs were those guys last night.

I wholeheartedly agree with this comment in regards to Roberts. The problem is, he has never shown any passion or much talent either. If the only thing he can do is stay in the right position on the field and then get beaten embarrassingly as soon as he's in the contest, he doesn't deserve to be selected again.

In comparison, Red and Biggs have both had games where they have made huge impacts, kicked goals, smashed packs, and defended with their heart and soul. They are still young and not ready to lead our team at the moment but their commitment to the cause is obvious.

Can someone please point me in the direction of an example of Roberts playing passionately, doing everything he possibly can to defend for his team. I just don't see it. It is one thing to lack talent (he does) but to lack the passion to play for your teammates is unacceptable. JJ, Easton, Hamling, Zaine, Kieran please get on the field and play your hearts out for our great club. Roberts to be delisted this year.

example of Roberts playing

One Hawthorn poster had Roberts as the most improved for our club on the back of the WCE game, when I asked him had he seen how Roberts performed for the rest of the matches he couldn't answer. I have nothing against Fletch, he tries but IMO he's only a depth player. When Collins comes up to speed Fletch will be on the outer. Hamling has far more potential than Fletch but Hamling's size is his downfall and is a 3rd tall defender which we have plenty of.

I wholeheartedly agree with this comment in regards to Roberts. The problem is, he has never shown any passion or much talent either. If the only thing he can do is stay in the right position on the field and then get beaten embarrassingly as soon as he's in the contest, he doesn't deserve to be selected again.

In comparison, Red and Biggs have both had games where they have made huge impacts, kicked goals, smashed packs, and defended with their heart and soul. They are still young and not ready to lead our team at the moment but their commitment to the cause is obvious.

Can someone please point me in the direction of an example of Roberts playing passionately, doing everything he possibly can to defend for his team. I just don't see it. It is one thing to lack talent (he does) but to lack the passion to play for your teammates is unacceptable. JJ, Easton, Hamling, Zaine, Kieran please get on the field and play your hearts out for our great club. Roberts to be delisted this year.

Questioning his passion for the club is pretty weak.

We have do be disappointed with that game on many fronts. Probably the most disappointing thing was in what has been an even year to date any of 8 teams could grab the flag. We were in the mix and with a number of good payers to come back this could be the year.

However the defeat was comprehensive unlike the Hawks Roos, GWS were I felt with players back we are good chance of beating those teams in the finals.

We now appear to be well behind the cats and we need to see how we go against the Swans and Roos in the run to the finals. Well there is still hope we just need to see how we perform. Maybe the age/ experience factor against the cats showed us up (see chart below we were least experience in the number games played in the last round played ) and we desperately need Wood, Dahl and Koby back and performing well.

AVE YRS DAYS GAMES
NORTH 27 37 137
HAWKS 26 82 127.5
Geel 26 146 121.54
Crows 25 87 114
WCE 26 11 102.27
GWS 24 48 79.22
SWANS 25 2 74.45
WB 24 145 69.95

Questioning his passion for the club is pretty weak.

I have been to every Melbourne Doggs game this year. You may disagree but I can see passion on the field very clearly. Libba, Macrea, Hunter, Moz, Dunks, Red Caleb etc. put their bodies on the line and give 2nd, 3rd 4th efforts. They refuse to be beaten. Maybe you don't believe this is something that can be visually identified but I do. Roberts appears to have an incredibly low dose of it in the way he goes about his footy. Footy is warlike and you need players who are going to leave it all out there. If he finds this hardness, dedication, whatever you want to call it in the future great but if I was his teammate at the moment I would be calling him out on it.

He simply isn't physically capable IMHO. You reckon Bev would give him a game if he was a non tryer? Seriously?

Positives

Danger has shaved his creepy pseudo beard off but still looks like a mid west serial killer

Negatives

Everything else
Good call, his beard looked shit. As for looking like a "mid west serial killer" - Danger murders teams most weeks, so I guess he decided it was time to look the part.;)

We played a lot of dumb footy . One thing from where I sat was obvious from start to finish was how often our mids all got sucked in too close at stoppages.
We got badly burnt on the outside when it flipped out and it happened a lot. Our rucks were very poor and didn't help. and our third man up tactic just made it worse. Paid no respect to Dangerfield , left him with 5 metres on everyone else too many times. We gave him a bruise free day !
I understand this is the way we tend play , but surely you make adjustment based on circumstances on the day.
Poor coaching .

Only watched the first quarter so far...

The problem compared to previous games was we werent getting the hands on the footy - you dont have to worry about where the opposition is if they dont have it. But the cats beat us convincingly at the stoppages in the first quarter at least.

Things I noticed from the 1st quarter:

1) we rely on winning the clearances more than our opponents, and if that doesnt happen, we can be caught out defensively.
2) Geelong denied us the easy switch by manning up our wide players. Without the easy switch, we either have to kick it down the line, or take them on through the corridor - the latter being a source of turnovers, and much harder than it would be without Murh and JJ.

Both of those things put our backline under different kinds of pressure.

How many best 22 were geelong missing out of curiosity. It's absolutely no excuse, I just want to know.

For us I count:

Jj, wood, Stevens, Murphy, crameri, Dahl
Sorry if his has been answered since you've asked, but I'll try and answer it in a way which I think is relevant. We have a number of injuries, some to key players but many are what I'd call fringe.

We've been pretty blessed this year with lack of injuries to key players. However, we still had a number of fringe players who perhaps won't see a lot of footy at the pointy end of the season.

From the team playing Saturday night, I'd have had four from the 22 omitted if we had a full list to choose from. These changes are as follows;

Mitch Clark > Shane Kersten
Jackson Thurlow > Tom Ruggles
Nakia Cockatoo > Cory Gregson
Cameron Guthrie > Jordan Murdoch

We also have Scott Selwood who, at his best would crack into a full strength Geelong side of 2016, but until he has a run around in the VFL and proves himself, he's still a relatively unknown quantity.

Sorry if his has been answered since you've asked, but I'll try and answer it in a way which I think is relevant. We have a number of injuries, some to key players but many are what I'd call fringe.

We've been pretty blessed this year with lack of injuries to key players. However, we still had a number of fringe players who perhaps won't see a lot of footy at the pointy end of the season.

From the team playing Saturday night, I'd have had four from the 22 omitted if we had a full list to choose from. These changes are as follows;

We also have Scott Selwood who, at his best would crack into a full strength Geelong side of 2016, but until he has a run around in the VFL and proves himself, he's still a relatively unknown quantity.
So almost full strength. We fielded the youngest side any club has had on the park in 18 months on Saturday night. Certainly think it will be a lot closer next game.

Really? The only change would be Guthrie (who has been fantastic this year) for Murdoch, the rest is much for muchness.

Poor coaching .
This exactly. The kangaroos did it too us also. We have so many at the contest which often serves us well, but surely we are not silly enough to 3rd man up and tap it out of the contest when that's how the opposition were deliberately setting up.

Autopsy Round 13... cats 16.4 def Dogs 5.13