Preview Round 13: Essendon Bombers vs Carlton Blues - Battle of the Consolidation Prizes - MCG - Sunday 9th June - 7:20pm

Yeah but you also told us El Hawli was like lightning quick or something, so...
He is not slow. He just isn’t Adam Saad speed. I would say he beats everyone on our list other than Hind .
Box Hill had a few speedy types so he was not always able to break free with ease.

He is not slow. He just isn’t Adam Saad speed. I would say he beats everyone on our list other than Hind .
Box Hill had a few speedy types so he was not always able to break free with ease.
I was being facetious. I'm glad he's quick, just bemused that he may not be "****ing quick."

RFK has said El Hawli brings immediate selection pressure. Did he do enough to put him on a wing against Carlton? And maybe Cox or Caddy forward if Langfird diesn't get up? Or El Hawli to hb and Martin to a wing?

I was being facetious. I'm glad he's quick, just bemused that he may not be "****ing quick."

RFK has said El Hawli brings immediate selection pressure. Did he do enough to put him on a wing against Carlton? And maybe Cox or Caddy forward if Langfird diesn't get up? Or El Hawli to hb and Martin to a wing?
Not first game of n the system IMO .
Need to give a few VFL games. He will played better at half back but the wing was death for anyone yesterday.

Not first game of n the system IMO .
Need to give a few VFL games. He will played better at half back but the wing was death for anyone yesterday.
Million dollar question then; when he does come in, if he's played at hb, would you push Martin back to the wing.

I'm more than happy now for Redman to play the distribution role that Martin does. The foot skills are equitable, just not sure about the tank.

Their form at the MCG is fairly average.

If this was at a narrow ground like Adelaide Oval, KP or Marvel, then yeah maybe. But at the MCG I don't think they are a 6-goal side better than us.

I think it'll be a kick either way.
Pardon the intrusion, but just curious what you mean by average?
Since the loss to you guys last year that kick started our run, we are 8-2 at the G. Two of those are finals games. Three were against the Dees, one Sydney and one the Pies, who went on to win the flag.
The two losses were Cats and Pies by a combined 19pts.

Anyway, just seemed an odd take, but hopefully we have a cracking game and the standard of umpiring lifts dramatically from this week.

Bring your best Dons. Top 4 hopes potentially at stake for both clubs. When is the last time that could be said?

Since the loss to you guys last year that kick started our run, we are 8-2 at the G. Two of those are finals games. Three were against the Dees, one Sydney and one the Pies, who went on to win the flag.

Anyway, just seemed an odd take, but hopefully we have a cracking game and the standard of umpiring lifts dramatically from this week.

Bring your best Dons. Top 4 hopes potentially at stake for both clubs. When is the last time that could be said?

no worries, more than welcome.

last year's form is irrelevant to be fair. new season new form. I suspect he's talking about your 2024 form.

Dont think the blues have been stellar on the G this year, but i think you will handle us comfortably. hope we keep it close, do the crowd some justice.

We always welcome our rivals unlike other club forums :p

Your mob is the only team that gives me that fear and it comes with the whole hatred and rivalry too. Just watching you guys play, I reckon when you actually hit 100% you could be unbeatable. Hopefully, we can get over you on Sunday but lets hope the atmosphere is electric! 90,000 PLZ!

That headline is completely misleading.

Anyone who listens to the press conference, read Brad’s tone. He wasn’t disagreeing or arguing with any of those calls. He got asked directly about them, and in a roundabout way he said the umpires have a tough job and were good tonight.
Well if he's not seeking clarification from the afl on some decisions and what you said is all he said about it the tweet is not just misleading it's a flat out lie?

Million dollar question then; when he does come in, if he's played at hb, would you push Martin back to the wing.

I'm more than happy now for Redman to play the distribution role that Martin does. The foot skills are equitable, just not sure about the tank.
Think I am waiting to see how he goes.

Well if he's not seeking clarification from the afl on some decisions and what you said is all he said about it the tweet is not just misleading it's a flat out lie?

I'll be honest, I had a couple watching the game yesterday haha - I then listened to Brad's press conference afterwards, and can recall the general 'gist' without necessarily remember his word-for-word.

But it was genuinely like "It seems as though they are fairly consistent that if you kick the ball off the ground, that that will be called deliberate. They usually call it that way, so we'll just seek clarification to confirm that is the case."

Have a listen if you get a chance. His tone wasn't one of any real concern/questioning.

EDIT: Found the quotes.

"I think if you kick the ball off the ground, the umpires tend to pay deliberate out-of-bounds. So we've just got to clarify that so I can let our players know," Scott stated.

"I didn't think the umpiring had any bearing on the game tonight. Whichever team prevailed deserved to win," he remarked.

"Umpiring's really hard because people say 'use common sense' but they also want umpires to umpire to the letter of the law."

I think everyone is underrating our performance up north. We're a chance.

The only place we didn't beat them was accuracy in front of goal.

Kudos to all those who travelled, we definitely outnumbered them at the ground.

It’s funny how he seems to have same walking gait as Adam Saad

Blues will bring the pressure, that's for sure. Across the board we need to lift. Are we capable?
If we had of won last night, it would have been robbery and given us a confidence that we shouldn't really have. I'm hoping the loss has stung and we get back to work.
No damage done, by a close loss interstate, but get blown away going into the bye will be a real concern for the second half.
Admittedly I'm a pessimistic supporter, but just can't see us being able to stop them, in our current form.

Robbery?

We had 25 scoring shots to 21, more i50s, were pretty much par on every team stat (excepting tackles where we were substantially ahead).

It was a pretty even game, either team winning would have been pretty well acceptable. We had our chances and were wasteful.

Hey guys what's up with Shiel, is he making his way back from injury or he's just not in Scott's plans ?

Both really.

Had pre-season injuries and started back late, plus the form of Caldwell and Durham in the midfield has kind of pushed him aside a bit.

Is in good condition physically as far as we know and just rolling around in the VFL waiting for a call-up and/or a trade IMO.

Both really.

Had pre-season injuries and started back late, plus the form of Caldwell and Durham in the midfield has kind of pushed him aside a bit.

Is in good condition physically as far as we know and just rolling around in the VFL waiting for a call-up and/or a trade IMO.
Thanks and wow, what a fall from grace from a 'star' that Essendon and Carlton were throwing everything at landing, to being stuck in the VFL despite injuries to Parish, Setterfield, Hobbs amd Duursma...

I know his dodgy kicking became an issue but seems like there's more to it for such a fall...whether a fallout with the coach or just a personal issue with Shiel impacting his footy.