Fact is that he wasn't at the contest, Clint put him on the wing far too often..Haven't really noticed Ward or Long around the contest at all this quarter.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Fact is that he wasn't at the contest, Clint put him on the wing far too often..Haven't really noticed Ward or Long around the contest at all this quarter.
I reckon he is ok and exactly the type of player we need in the seniors on a wing. Does need to win a fair bit more ball but he is so often in a spot to be used and isn't. I think at senior level that might change.To Saunders or Box Hill?
I don't think Hawthorn would miss him. Pace or not, he still doesn't offer much.
Played mainly midfield which was a terrible decision, he's a winger. Play him as such, get Ward/Long/Finn consistently in centre bounces. Didn't happen today.He's on the wing.
He made poor decisions all day, he was poor overall and isn't anywhere near it. Some of them were baffling to say the least.I reckon he is ok and exactly the type of player we need in the seniors on a wing. Does need to win a fair bit more ball but he is so often in a spot to be used and isn't. I think at senior level that might change.
He made poor decisions all day, he was poor overall and isn't anywhere near it. Some of them were baffling to say the least.
Yeah and tbf, alot of it wasn't even purely the issue of the players. Some of the coaching moves were terrible.He wasn't alone. Most of Box Hill were pretty average today. Bring on next week.
That's rubbish. I watched the first half he was fine. One super quick handball that you probably didn't even notice.He made poor decisions all day, he was poor overall and isn't anywhere near it. Some of them were baffling to say the least.
Just the first? tbf he was better to start than to finish, was terrible in the 2nd half and very eh and meh in the first.That's rubbish. I watched the first half he was fine. One super quick handball that you probably didn't even notice.
Not a great day for the team as a whole obviously. Denver always brings plenty when back at Box Hill. Losing Greene made things tougher when BH pushed back into the game in the second half. I thought Callow helped considerably when moved into the ruck for a change up.Just the first? tbf he was better to start than to finish, was terrible in the 2nd half and very eh and meh in the first.
Nah, don't agree. There's no doubt Saunders brings A Grade effort, you could reward him on that but his decision making is poor, though has good strengths and attributes with his workrate, tank, speed. But football wise, don't think he does enough, decision making is one thing but he's not a good kick either and too often it was kicking long.Not a great day for the team as a whole obviously. Denver always brings plenty when back at Box Hill. Losing Greene made things tougher when BH pushed back into the game in the second half. I thought Callow helped considerably when moved into the ruck for a change up.
As for Saunders - don't know what game you were watching. He was solid in the first half, applying good defensive pressure and always looking dangerous with very limited opportunity given the one way traffic and DOGS midfield dominance. In the second half, with time on the wing, Saunders helped turn the game with speed and work rate. He had more possessions and provided speed, run and carry both ends of the ground. Oppo were unable to lay a hand on him. No drop in defensive effort either. When he gets his chance at the next level Saunders will be used so much more. He gets to good spots and runs great patterns.
High forward role often not a high stat gig. You might want to ask the likes of Jekka, Greene and co how much they appreciate his F50 entry kicks?Nah, don't agree. There's no doubt Saunders brings A Grade effort, you could reward him on that but his decision making is poor, though has good strengths and attributes with his workrate, tank, speed. But football wise, don't think he does enough, decision making is one thing but he's not a good kick either and too often it was kicking long.
Played HF and Wing. Mainly wing.small forward role often not a high stat gig. You might want to ask the likes of Jekka, Greene and co how much they appreciate his F50 entry kicks?
clearly you are not across saunders game today or his othersPlayed HF and Wing. Mainly wing.
And if i did they'd say for him to handball it to someone else.
They weren't good, although i don't think anyones were. The only bloke who hit a target inside 50 was Ward.
Alot of the rest were high bombs i50.
Watched all of today and have watched most of this year.clearly you are not across saunders game today or his others
Mate Saunders providing great defensive pressure and flare and speed. At AFL level he will get used more. His the only player today that looked exciting, not much he can do when the team performed like that… only a footy brain could understand! He’ll be better at the next level, thought he played really well today, despite the minimal inside 50s.Watched all of today and have watched most of this year.
VFL is a very congested game i agree.Mate Saunders providing great defensive pressure and flare and speed. At AFL level he will get used more. His the only player today that looked exciting, not much he can do when the team performed like that… only a footy brain could understand! He’ll be better at the next level, thought he played really well today, despite the minimal inside 50s.
VFL is a inside mid game.
Have a loook a Corey durdin (blues) and ginne
Must also need your 'footy brain' to understand that a player who misses the target by foot almost every kick will somehow be a weapon at AFL level....only a footy brain could understand!
clearly not watching many games or seen his highlights on the hawks website - plenty of kicks hitting targets actually!Must also need your 'footy brain' to understand that a player who misses the target by foot almost every kick will somehow be a weapon at AFL level.
Well said mate. Am glad I'm not on my own.Not a great day for the team as a whole obviously. Denver always brings plenty when back at Box Hill. Losing Greene made things tougher when BH pushed back into the game in the second half. I thought Callow helped considerably when moved into the ruck for a change up.
As for Saunders - don't know what game you were watching. He was solid in the first half, applying good defensive pressure and always looking dangerous with very limited opportunity given the one way traffic and DOGS midfield dominance. In the second half, with time on the wing, Saunders helped turn the game with speed and work rate. He had more possessions and provided speed, run and carry both ends of the ground. Oppo were unable to lay a hand on him. No drop in defensive effort either. When he gets his chance at the next level Saunders will be used so much more. He gets to good spots and runs great patterns.
Can you quit with the 'you musn't be watching' crap? I've been to almost every Box Hill game for the last 10 years.clearly not watching many games or seen his highlights on the hawks website - plenty of kicks hitting targets actually!
Liked Ward's game, spent a fair bit of time in the middle of the game on the wing which was a poor decision imo.How did Ward/Finn/Long/DGB go? Lots of discussion on Saunders.