Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*

If North showed us that we just don't kick enough to worry anyone, and the Hawks showed us that half the side really need a kick in the goolies to give a crap about being a footballer, then this match just becomes dispppointing because between then and now, they still need another kick to care.
The Simpsons GIF

I saw about 3 mins of this match, including the last 90 seconds - so many questions. First one: why were we wearing the indigenous jumper? After today and Hawthorn, I'll be glad to never see that rag again for the rest of my life.

I read a post from Narkles Helmet in the gameday thread that unsettled me - because I fear he's right. It was about Lyon's suitability for today's game. Can we talk about that? We bought him in for culture, not necessarily style. What are the alternatives?
jumper looks sweet, colours just work better together than rwb come @ me

What was this??
Poo was moved to FF sometime in the third. After a goal was kicked. Poo moves to his position deep.

Gresham then walk down to him and motions him out of the way. And Poo shook his head and pointed to the coaches box

Such an ingenuous and patronising post.
Absolutely nobody is saying everything is all sunshine and roses.

But you’d prefer to be sitting 15th, would you?
Might have to check the poster he was referring to

Personally I'm ecstatic with the win, look we're 5th with 109% after 16 rounds and we just had a good hard fought slog against a team that were angry playing in front of some loud cheers. We were down by 31 points! That shows some real mental toughness.

Did I mention the crowd was yelling and screaming?

I didn't realise they were yelling AND screaming

I feel quite ashamed of myself for seeing our performance in a negative light

I'm sorry everyone

So annoying wet toast decides to have a dip for the first time in 2 years.

They put on pressure 220+ off the scale, probably haven’t even hit half way on that in 2 years.

They laid 90 tackles, averaging 60.
19 tackles inside 50, average 10.

We had
30 more contested
12 more inside 50s
8 more scoring shots…

I’ve been banging on about our form for weeks. People are underestimating how bad we’ve been, we’re a bottom four team masquerading as a finals team. That’s how big the drop off has been and I think we need to start acknowledging it.

Thank god for Mitch Owens.

Poo was moved to FF sometime in the third. After a goal was kicked. Poo moves to his position deep.

Gresham then walk down to him and motions him out of the way. And Poo shook his head and pointed to the coaches box
Not sure when but it was when they walked back to a fwd structure after a goal or even a qtr and gresh was talking to owens from a few steps away and Owens was just looking at him and turned away, gresh kept talking and Owens just turns and says ok and turns away again
LOL

seemed like he was trying to push some authority or opinion and the body language given back was 'get a touch eyebrows'

I didn't realise they were yelling AND screaming

I feel quite ashamed of myself for seeing our performance in a negative light

I'm sorry everyone
Not your fault mate this is what I'm here for share my knowledge with the masses. Yelling is one thing but screaming...well, screaming is an entirely different beast.

Time to get SPP was last season maybe the one before. When he was in trouble off field and we could have used paddy to entice him over.

Feel that ships sailed unfortunately.

There's no quick win here unfortunately.

I wanted him at the draft. His All Stars game was fantastic, played just like he does now, bustling, head first footy and scoring goals through brute force. He's as refined as a sledge hammer but a maniac swinging one of those will take care of a bunch of pussies with more refined weapons in a confined space and he does his best work in heavy traffic. I reckon willpower takes care of talent in a one on one., SPP has willpower.

Even with games like this you can learn something. I thought Caminiti was very good when he went into the ruck. His willingness to compete and to keep following up was terrific. I much prefer him in there rather than Owens
I'm not sure on the goal assist stats, but he dished out a couple of handballs that resulted in goals....... and then got completely burnt by Butler!
Maybe it's his long skinny arms but he seem to be able to dish off a handball when most others fail.

Not sure what's going on with Gresham, but if I use the "in balance" test i.e. in balance does he provide more good to the team than bad, he's sitting in the bad ledger at the moment. The amount of times he kicks the ball forward without looking and causes a turnover is poor for a player of his experience and skill. If he continues on his current trajectory, he'll be just another Saints player that has not lived up to his potential.

Ahh Monday morning after a win - this is the thing about being a Saints supporters for more than 60 years - you really learn to like wins no matter how they come about. And this one came about through sheer hard work which is a great way to win especially when you aren't in sparkling form.

Wasn't that difficult to figure out the the Weagles were going to throw everything at us given their hiding last week and the hiding they copped from the local media.

And as everyone who follows AFL knows, if any side brings maximum effort and intensity to the contest they can match it with any other club in the league irrespective of where they sit on the ladder.

It was insane pressure, there were 50 tackles in the first qtr alone (164 for the game!!!) and the pressure levels for both sides were virtually off the scale (200+) for most of the first half but we we absorbed it and then kept on going.

Thought Marshall was exceptional in the 2nd half, back to the sort of form that lets you forget that he's really not a very good "ruckman". The move of Caminiti playing the 2nd ruck role (and King rucking a bit when it was deep) was right because it allowed Owens to concentrate on playing more as a forward.

Now I had to end on a positive note (frowned upon apparently) but I've run Squiggle Auto tip about 10 times and its still saying we're headed for finals. 4 more wins would guarantee it - so wins against Suns, North, Hawthorn and Carlton should do it.

Looks like Battle will miss next week (and maybe Hill) so Cordy into defense and Jones and Billings to come in for Hill and Byrnes.

Don't like the pairing of Marshall and Caminiti against Gawn and Grundy so maybe Campbell in for Phillipou who is looking a bit tired. Give him a rest and get him ready for finals.

So Marshall v Gawn Campbell v Grundy

The team we had had the start of the year with the senior players out performed better than the one we have now with senior players back in.
The only senior player that's playing right now who missed the start of the season is King. And that's part of the problem.

The sugar hit we got from a lot of the fill ins has worn off but we haven't had the availability to replace them.

Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*