Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*

One thing I have learnt is that the beers do taste better even after a win against the volunteer group down at the Perth Demons

What are you on about?

Most pundits had us in the bottom 4 and 99% of them had us outside the 8.

RTB has us 5th. With 8 left. With an insane injury list all year and us playing 4-5 <20 year olds every week.
The team we had had the start of the year with the senior players out performed better than the one we have now with senior players back in.

hope u treat me the same after I expressed my disappointment to the RTB appointment. You s add bd others were happily laughing at my opinions and said i was a troll
RTB ain’t achieved much yet and ain’t got a any flags. each to their own
Might have to have another squizz chieftain, I was one of the most vocal in my displeasure of RTB's appointment.

I’ll go 1 week at a time.

8 weeks left.
Enjoy the ride.

That's the problem, I haven't enjoyed footy since the Essendon game. He has us playing the ugliest most boring footy imaginable and I sat through years of Richo. At least when we were winning more than losing we had hope to fall back on. My faith is gone. I reckon we are more likely to **** things than fix them under Lyon now.

We have had 9 wins.

With a number of players performing better then anticipated

Of course we need improvement. We are 16 weeks into a 4 season minimum journey
And a number of players performing well below was anticipated
Have a forward line that can't score and a midfield that is no good
Most teams worked us out very easily after round 6 and we have struggled since

Mate we were playing against the Kalamunda amateurs, bloody oath the deficiencies should've disappeared against a side like this.

Hard to see how anyone can spin this into a good result - it was shocking and we were lucky to be ahead when the final siren rang.
After every shit performance there are a few fans under the influence or just living in lala land who try and spin things as not so bad.

WTF are we 4 years off challenging? FS. I'm not sure I can be ****ed for that long. It will be hard to sit through.
You honestly did not expect a flag this year.
As it is we sit 5th, may or may not make the finals, but stav means Lyon wanted four years for a reason.
I would say he is acutely aware of our limitations and hopefully he looks to fix them personnel wise beginning this trade and draft period.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Who is performing worse then expected?

Steele Ross Howard?

After every s**t performance there are a few fans under the influence or just living in lala land who try and spin things as not so bad.
I can understand trying to see the positives, and as minimal as they are they are there, but one of them definitely isn't "we were playing a side looking to bounce back in front of loud supporters". No. This is the worst side, apart from foundation years of expansion clubs, in 68 years.

RTB during the week also said they were stripping it back as they tried to do a few things gameplan wise and the players weren't able to implement it properly.

And yet we still dish up the dross. I think RTB needs to stop sugar coating it and protecting the players. Enough is enough with this group that crumble under any expectation whatsoever.

I've seen fire and I've seen rain
I've seen sunny days that I thought would never end
I've seen lonely times when I could not find a friend
But I always thought that I'd see us start well and miss finals again

Maybe?

Clearly Howard didn't talk otherwise Hill would've received the ball and looked to get the kick away immediately.

And I don't even think it's Howard's fault, even though he was s**t today. Hill should be more aware in that situation.
Crowd went pretty loud as Oscar closed in, might have been drowned out. Maybe Hill ignored him.

Gresh as well
pretty senior core there
If Gresham and Steele were even close to their best we'd have a lot less to be worried about.

Though Gresh was pretty good in the 2nd half. Unfortunately he hasn't put in a 4 qtr performance all year.

Same goes for Steele. Seems to get into the game more in the 2nd half but hasn't played a 4 qtr game all year.

No idea why he's so disappointed.

A wins a win apparently...
Did you watch the broadcast after the final siren? We trudged off the field with our heads down, not a smile in sight. Then when they switched over to the song - one of the lamest renditions I can remember. Gresham belting out the middle part of the song was funny, perhaps he's the only happy one given he went to half time with 4 touches and probably revived his spot in the side with 11 in the 3rd quarter and a goal.

People in here talking like it was the North game earlier in the year, we didn't play that bad, if we play like we did in the second half for 4 quarters we would beat about half the comp I reckon. Forward line would be looking a bit stale and average if not for Butler and Mitchi though.

Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*