Review Round 19, 2023 vs Collingwood

How ******* bad is that Elliot goal where he changes direction outside the boundary and isn’t called? Aliir ran in a straight line, as per the rule, and got pinged. Should have been a throw in.

Garbage umpiring as usual.
i agree buy the elliot one was a mark and aliir was out on the full, don't know if that is different.

Wines and Boak are serial offenders in my opinion.
Lycett very poor also
I think it’s interesting to note that we’ve heavily fallen back to bomb it high on the kfs head in general play.

They mentioned pregame that were like 17th for scores from the back half, which doesn’t make sense with our mobile collection of great kicks there..

Except for the fact as I’ve said for ages hinkleys flood , which is near impossible to opponents to navigate without turning over is also hard for us to navigate, and when we do we’re under that much pressure we just bomb it… like last night.

I’ve noticed , and I think we all have, that our best delivery inside 50 is coming from stoppages where our players move the ball before we’ve had a chance to set up to clog it up.

ironically we’re our own worst enemy when it comes to scoring.
Most of those high bombs fell short and were intercepted easily.
Long bombs forward have to get out the back of the zone to be dangerous, eg like Rozee does.

Lol.

Wines played just about the worst game of his career last night and it was still twice as good as any game Sinn has ever played.

The logic of 'Wines isn't playing good footy by his standards, so we can get better by replacing him with an inexperienced teenager' is so flawed.
But we are going to have to sooner or later.

Has been for several weeks and very little has been said about it.

Last 5 games

Marshall 27 marks 9 goals 31 score involvements
Finlayson 21 marks 9 goals 34 score involvements
Dixon 20 marks 8 goals 25 score involvements

Maybe it's something to do with how we're playing generally.

This is my biggest issue with the umpires.

That and this “rule of the week” s**t they keep doing. Last night “rule du jour” was Deliberate Out of Bounds/Insufficient intent.

With those conditions, the volume of those they were paying was insane.
I think it’s called lack of feel for the game.
Farrell was intentional but at full speed, in slippery conditions it’s exceptionally hard to keep it in.

I think it’s called lack of feel for the game.
Farrell was intentional but at full speed, in slippery conditions it’s exceptionally hard to keep it in.
When I see that (Farrell deliberate call) I ask myself if you reverse the roles and it was a Collingwood player running at the boundary with 2 Port players on his tail. Would we have got the free?

Marshall was fine
Sure he shouldnt have missed but there was a clear ploy to let it be 1 v 1s ahead of the ball
It isnt going to be a huge game from any tall fwd

When I see that (Farrell deliberate call) I ask myself if you reverse the roles and it was a Collingwood player running at the boundary with 2 Port players on his tail. Would we have got the free?
Yes

It was a huge miscalculation by farrel to hit the ball that hard

Lycett, Boak, Wines, Dixon all banged up and sadly down on form.
They all look like they need a rest for at least a couple of games & if they can’t get back we need options
Agree. One of them has done ok despite being banged up. The other three haven’t. An irony that in a year where we could seriously challenge, it will be senior players who haven’t got it done in big games for the last decade who will likely be the noose around our neck again.

Why did Finny rush a snap from 45 out when it was in his correct side to do a drop punt. Plus suck some time. It was like he couldn’t control his adrenaline
That was one of the misses that came to mind. Also Marshall missed a soda. Geez, a bit more composure and we could have had the game skinned. Adds to the disappointment for mine. I have been shitty all day. As I am sure most of our true supporters have been as well.

The thing is that it’s unlikely to change anytime soon. Missing simple or even 50-50 shots at key moments in matches is engrained in our DNA. No bigger culprit than T Boak over an entire career, but now others are defined by it also. Nothing to suggest we wouldn’t do the same in a big final this September.

I cannot disagree PJ. It has happened time and time again.

I come in peace.

Actually thought you guys played the conditions much better than us and really brought a high pressure game.

You not only put work into Daicos but also Q & Noble and took away our running overlap game through the middle by crowding us.
I thought it was good coaching (ducks for cover behind Ken).

We really had to pull out some tricks to win.
God bless Jaimie Elliott.

Best of luck in the finals. Just not against us.

I have calmed down!

Watched the game in Thailand with a neutral NRL supporting mate who also follows the Brisbane Lions. Hands down, best game he has ever seen. Amazing for a neutral, but not so for us.

Bottom line .... Our kicking for goal sucks!

IMO Port has out-performed this year. To win a Grand final we need..
A decent ruck
A new Captain
A new coach
Another year into Jones, Farrel, Williams, et-al

Next year Port will do a "Collingwood" and be hard to beat!

With 22 disposals and a game high 742 metres gained Burton (AkA The General) gave us a heap of drive from the back and could have kicked a couple himself. It was a dogshit decision to drop him and bring Jonas in last week
I also didn't agree with dropping him for Jonas but I stand by my opinion despite your quoted stats

Collingwood players can successfully run ou to their preferred side for extra distance and keep their body locked in the right kicking posture. .
Nick Daicos did it in the first game against us but last night about 3 of them did it , probably got them over the line those clutch kicks , we were probably the better team on the night

All players miss shots at goal that they normally would kick with their eyes closed but in critical moments of a game, missing those shots differentiate the good sides from the ones a rung below.

You are old enough I reckon to remember Scott Hodges, Darren Smith, Rohan Smith, Mark and Steven Williams and even Timmy Ginever lining up for goal from set shots and not missing.

The very encouraging thing about Port at that moment is that we are playing with the same commitment and aggression that we expect from Port sides through the ages but the one thing that we must improve on and what was grossly underrated of the Port sides of old, that is, skills! We always did the really simple things exceptionally well when under extreme pressure and that includes kicking at goal.

I am quite perplexed at how some around here have chucked a wobbly and ruled ourselves out of winning the flag - "sack the coach", "sack" this player or that, wah wah wah. We are sitting second after losing a game to the current ladder leaders who played to their absolute best and where we lacked the poise at critical moments of the game to win. We lost because we we didn't kick straight, not because we lacked courage and commitment; not because we didn't hit the ball or the man with the ball hard enough.

We are in this Premiership right up to our ears and the young fellas, far from looking demoralised, look pissed off at themselves and will work harder and improve.

Review Round 19, 2023 vs Collingwood