Round 19, Box Hill Hawks v Coburg Tigers, 1.10pm, 4 August @ BHCO

very ordinary game.........noone really put there hand up for promotion ellis probably the most likely looked classy but didnt get huge numbers of the ball.didnt see any future stars thats for sure.

BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Jones Gilham Hallahan Pratt Bateman Murphy

Bit of a o_O with the BOG.
Both the coaches and 3WBC radio gave their best on to Mitch Hallahan with his great start to the game gobbling up 14 possessions in the first quarter.
Adam Pattison got the award for Honest Efforts.

Bit stiff for Ellis not to be featured in the top 5 best.
Among others, I think he's done enough to play the next few Sunday's for the Hawks.

Bateman was clearly best on gorund in the first half but faded out of the game.
Ellis has played two consistent games and is a chance this week against port.
Cheney has actually lost form IMO since he got dropped
Murphy took some marks in defence but when a team kicks so many goal against you then you know the defence is struggling
Hallahan finally getting some continuity of games and is genuinely showing something. Has three good games in the guts.
Schneider was solid but his form has also dropped.
Litherland has been the most disappointing has really dropped in his defending even losing the contests on the ground now
Hill had it a few times but hardly put his hand up for selection.
Kelly played 10 minutes in the reserves game and then was pulled out to play in the seniors and David Mirra pulled out. Once gain part of the defence had a poor game.
Duryea did some good things and some bad things average / poor day for most in our backline
Mcauley ordinary day from Broc didn't do much in the ruck or around the ground.
Gillham average day for gilham along with the rest of his team mates in the backline still kicks the ball well.
Pattison once again gave his all in the ruck and up forward didn't have a good day in front of the sticks could have kick 3 or 4

All in all a wins a win we move on to next week where hopefully we can inject some speed into this side with wanganeen and amos back. Tough assignment down at port see you all there

Interesting seeing this in the Hun - it sounds like this reporter was at a different game, or not there altogether :)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...rformance-in-vfl/story-e6frf9jf-1226442948206

HAWTHORN defender Stephen Gilham could have to join coach Alastair Clarkson in paying for a carpentry invoice after banging the selection door down with another best-afield display in the VFL today.
The 27-year-old outclassed and at times humiliated Richmond pair Tom Derickx and Brad Miller, halting Coburg’s late charge to help secure Box Hill’s 24-point win at Box Hill City Oval

Looks like Luke Lowden is out for the rest of the season with a broken wrist. He's out of contract also. It may be interesting to see how hard we go to retain him, or whether the kid himself may entertain offers elsewhere.

Interesting seeing this in the Hun - it sounds like this reporter was at a different game, or not there altogether :)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...rformance-in-vfl/story-e6frf9jf-1226442948206

Miller kicked four for the game and I think Gilham played the majority of the game on Miller. I don't think Gilham is banging down the door for selection just yet.

For mine, Ellis was the closest to earning a recall to the senior side from yesterday's game. Whenever Ellis was out there, good things happened for Box Hill, although he did spend a fair amount of time getting his calves worked on while on the boundary. Chance was busy but I don't think he was all that effective from what I saw. His body also looks like it is almost done with footy. He spent the third quarter time break having physio done on the backs of his legs.

Broc did fairly well in the ruck and around the ground while Pattison was useful up forward taking marks at centre half forward. I still think that Pratt is wasted at half forward but Box Hill is prepared to play him there now. Brad Hill was also busy but the conditions of a heavy track didn't suit him. I think he'll do better when there are less taller players in the side and he cam combine with Wanganeen and Amos.

Hallahan is starting to show something out there now he has the opportunity to string a few games together. He is built tough, loves a contest and doesn't mind a goal. Still some way off senior footy but there is something to encourage us. Taylor Duryea goes about his business quietly and has the example of Suckling to inspire him. Still needs to develop a defensive side, but he has good skills by feet.

Murphy of the Tom variety was decent enough but his younger brother Xavier, a listed Box Hill player, looks to have something about him. Could be worth a rookie selection at the end of the season. Played predominantly across half forward and jagged a couple of goals. Clever player.

Bigfooty's own Taylor Gilchrist was very good across half back, with some neat skills and clever decision making. Been playing well.

No senior players in attendance yesterday, and apart from Adam Simpson, no senior coaches either. Bailey, Boseley, Wanganeen (I think) and a few other Box Hill regulars played while Lowden was elsewhere separate from his teammates.

Jordan Kelly only played around 10 minutes for the DS in which time he looked set for a very good game with some strong contested footy. Playing for the DS and then having to wait around for three hours for the senior game was hardly an ideal preparation. I thought Kel generally positioned himself well and a highlight of the game was his courageous strong mark in the last quarter. Will Langford looked a class above in the first quarter with good ball handling and run. Langers was servicable after missing multiple games due to injury. I really rate Mitch Hallahan. Given he has missed a lot of footy due to injury I think he is tracking very well. He is improving with every game and I love his ability to keep his feet and stand up in a contest [Joey Kennedy].

Whats up with Litherland? In AC's preseason player write ups it sounded like Litherland was a good chance to debut this year - but sounds like he is going backwards and is miles off?

Young player and i am going to give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he is getting tired towards the end of the season. Was playing good footy earlier on in the season. Has geunine dash. His form has tapered badly over the last 3 or 4 weeks. Earlier in the year he was providing run and was very rarely beaten on the deck. Looks jaded not going as hard as he was earlier in the season can happen to young players. Lets see how he responds

He has not shown as much as I believed he would. He needs to show more and impose himself on a game. He is playing the role of small/medium defender so he should not be considered to be an emerging KPD. Reckon he will go around again next year but he is perilously close to the abyss.

Dixie am glad you mentioned X Murphy as the kid is a real goer with a great ability to get involved in the game time and time again. Couple of his handballs were instinctive genius and he also took a strong mark holding out a bigger opponent in the last quarter. I rate him and think he is a definate rookie candidate. His legspeed looked ok to me which was my query on him but must say my eyesight was fading given the bar service at the presidents lunch was so good. He is very light on - reminds me of Nahas build-wise He isnt an animal but just influences the contest time and time again. Pretty good chance of being able to make the next step given his instinct is strong. I reckon Campbell Brown made it at AFL level because of his determination rather than ability and this kid has a great feel for the game which gives you the feeling it would stand him in good stead. Keen to hear your comparisons - he is perhaps a bit like a Garry Moss but would seem to have a better allround game. Mind you I am making this call having only seen him play 1 game live and a few on tv.

Changa was a class above in terms of workrate but you have to take the good with the bad in terms of his kicking. I think his only hope at AFL level as a permanent member of the side is as the sub but you cant have a sub who burns the footy. He will get a gig through injury but not in our best side I dont think. I did think he looked a bit better than when he was in the AFL side earlier this year. Looked fresher.

Hill can burn the ball a bit as well but is so clean with his ball handling and love the way he takes the game on. No doubt he looks the type who will be a better player with better players around him so needs more time at AFL level.

Thought Tommy Murph was solid all day. Was more prominent than Gilham.

Broc was servicable, same with Pattison.

Ellis very constructive with the footy but still gives the ball too much air with his chip kicks. But showed his class all day.

Cheney definately down on form. Nowhere near the prolific backman he was earlier in the year. Seems to have lost the edge to his hard-nosed approach to the contest.

Schneider was so-so. Brilliant chase-down.

Duryea is creative. Didnt have a heap of it. I like that he reads it ok in the air as it seems hardly anyone else at hawthorn does.

Litherland. I have seen him do some good things before but the negatives outweigh the positives by a mile at the moment. For mine he just does not have the foundations for being a reliable AFL defender as he does not do the basics well or at times even do the basics at all.

Hallahan. I too am a big fan of his. He is super strong through the legs and hips. Was prolific early and solid all day. Just needs to build his tank for AFL level and we have a player. Wouldnt mind seeing him debut at AFL level this year. He is a big body we are crying out for to block for Mitch and Sewell.

Presidents lunch was a belter. Great table with a couple of parents of players on it.

Lots of talk on the ABC coverage about Hallahan being in trouble for an off-the-ball stomach punch. Apparently the Coburg bench were making a big deal of it. Anything arise out of that report-wise? Hallahan had 30 possies, be good to have him out there in the run home.

1 week

@ Roger Rogerson
Cheney definately down on form. Nowhere near the prolific backman he was earlier in the year. Seems to have lost the edge to his hard-nosed approach to the contest.

Hard nosed approach?? Mate the kid had gastro saturday night so im guessing he wasnt feeling 100 %. Hope to see him back at full strength in the next few weeks!! I actually thought Brad Hill was good on the weekend he's going to be a ripping player in a year or two!!

@ Roger Rogerson

Hard nosed approach?? Mate the kid had gastro saturday night so im guessing he wasnt feeling 100 %. Hope to see him back at full strength in the next few weeks!! I actually thought Brad Hill was good on the weekend he's going to be a ripping player in a year or two!!
Yeah, gastro can really mess with your nose. And other things.

@ Roger Rogerson

The dreaded Fidel Castro. Never a good experience. Hopefully he has bounced back quickly.

Round 19, Box Hill Hawks v Coburg Tigers, 1.10pm, 4 August @ BHCO