Toast Round 19 = Port Adelaide 83-85 Collingwood

I was very pleased with Mitchell early and at the very least he's been great for reducing the load on Adams.

A bit like Grundy/Gawn though. It's not that one player has been trash, it's that the other, when given the chance, has looked great. Maybe I'm overreacting to how good Adams has been the last two weeks. What do you think of those games in comparison to Mitchell over the last Month or so even the year?
Adams has had a very good fortnight, no doubt. Mitchell has also had quite a few standout games, particularly early on where he was the difference maker in the middle for us in a few games.
Honestly it’s been a year where one or the other seems to be having a good game, rather than both standing out, but to me that’s ok. I don’t think this is a Gawn/Grundy situation at all. We all lamented last year that we Adams was having to carry the load by himself, and that we needed another inside bull to ease the load on him so he didn’t get injured, and Mitchell has provided exactly that. Add to that, Adams playing more forward this year has probably skewed his stats, but to me if feels like a bit of a self sacrificing role for the greater benefit of the team, and he’s been playing that forward mid role to more than an acceptable standard, whereas the Gawn Grundy combo seems to have been detrimental to both Gawn and Grundy on individual levels, and also to the detriment of Melbourne.

I’m happy overall with both of them in the team playing their roles. And I think we’re better off having them both in the team.

Adams is the one reducing the load on Mitchell. Not the other way around.
Nah, the load reduction is mutually beneficial for both players.

I say this as Mitchell tends to spend more time in the middle although I agree with you. Both beneficial with Adams slightly favourable close to goal.

Adams has had a very good fortnight, no doubt. Mitchell has also had quite a few standout games, particularly early on where he was the difference maker in the middle for us in a few games.
Honestly it’s been a year where one or the other seems to be having a good game, rather than both standing out, but to me that’s ok. I don’t think this is a Gawn/Grundy situation at all. We all lamented last year that we Adams was having to carry the load by himself, and that we needed another inside bull to ease the load on him so he didn’t get injured, and Mitchell has provided exactly that. Add to that, Adams playing more forward this year has probably skewed his stats, but to me if feels like a bit of a self sacrificing role for the greater benefit of the team, and he’s been playing that forward mid role to more than an acceptable standard, whereas the Gawn Grundy combo seems to have been detrimental to both Gawn and Grundy on individual levels, and also to the detriment of Melbourne.

I’m happy overall with both of them in the team playing their roles. And I think we’re better off having them both in the team.
Definitely agree that it's been great having them both. We would have been worse this year without Mitchell. Adams doing it alone was not enough. With De Goey and Nick both there it seems less essential, but still beneficial. I think we work out a way for both to play but for Adams to have significant CBAs as well.

Possible there are reasons for Mitchell's poor game last night, maybe needs a freshen up, but we'll see. Possible that Crisp playing less inside has been an issue too, removing more pace from the square.

Loved the interviews Taylor Adams gave after the game. Loved the handball Billy gave to Tay for his goal. Loved the fact that Tay won the last clearance. Loved that the boys showed how much they mean to each other. This team is special and is on the verge of something great.

I say this as Mitchell tends to spend more time in the middle although I agree with you. Both beneficial with Adams slightly favourable close to goal.
Adams has shouldered less load than Mitchell over the year, due to playing forward is my point. A huge reduction on his usual load. It's why he's been able to play full time mid the last two weeks and look so fresh. But yes, Adams giving Mitchell a chop out reduces his load too, but not as much.

Ordinary with lack of clearances and lack of damaging possessions. Adams has played with much more force, runs with the ball and drives it forward. The game where Mitchell came on as sub was one of his better recent ones, statistically, probably helped to come on against tired players.

Maybe I've been a little unfair in rating his performance, but his clearances have been down and his slow looping kicks have become frustrating. Even the Suns game only 4 clearances, mostly accumulation, not much damage. Lacks the run and drive of Adams. Against Port he was awful, subbing him off a big part of our comeback.

Even if Mitchell is performing to an ok standard, like the Suns game. The question still has to be asked, is Adams better? Judging by Taylor's last two games it seems he is. Do we keep Adams forward, risking having to sub Mitchell off, or do we make a tough call on Mitchell? Going to need to see improved performance from Tom.
I think given Adams’ injury issues last season we keep him forward and use him sparingly in the midfield when we need. And also ignoring Adams has added a lot of much needed competitiveness to the forward group.

Definitely agree that it's been great having them both. We would have been worse this year without Mitchell. Adams doing it alone was not enough. With De Goey and Nick both there it seems less essential, but still beneficial. I think we work out a way for both to play but for Adams to have significant CBAs as well.
See this is where we differ. I don’t think Nick or Jordy really have an impact on the necessity to have both Titch and Adams in the team, because neither of them are the types who get down and dirty at the bottom of packs, they’re the ones who typically benefit from the work of those guys. Having them both in the 22 means we can always have one at the coalface if we choose.
Possible there are reasons for Mitchell's poor game last night, maybe needs a freshen up, but we'll see. Possible that Crisp playing less inside has been an issue too, removing more pace from the square.
I’m not overly concerned tbh. No player goes through a season without having a few down games. If Titch has 3 or more in a row, then there’s probably cause for concern.

I suspect Titch has done more inside work this year than the last few, with Mitchell giving more time to his young brigade. And thereby making Titch expendable.

So Titch could well be running on empty. It’s a perfect time for a rest and giving Macrae a run.

I suspect Titch has done more inside work this year than the last few, with Mitchell giving more time to his young brigade. And thereby making Titch expendable.

So Titch could well be running on empty. It’s a perfect time for a rest and giving Macrae a run.
Nah mate. Titch good to go.

And Adams has looked dangerous when playing forward. Brings another dynamic to the forward line. Wouldn’t be possible if Mitchell wasn’t in the team.

Loved the interviews Taylor Adams gave after the game. Loved the handball Billy gave to Tay for his goal. Loved the fact that Tay won the last clearance. Loved that the boys showed how much they mean to each other. This team is special and is on the verge of something great.
Loved the four points as a by product of the loves

I think with 5 more games left in the year that’s unlikely. The next month and a bit will be spent trying to get the synergy between our best 23 as good as possible.

Sensational game of footy last night, and I’m excited to tuck into the replay tonight.

One thing that has me slightly concerned is our forward mix. With Elliot playing as a lead up forward, we are really relying on only Hill and Beau for fwd pressure. I thought the footy was exiting a bit too easy and that’s probably reflected in the tackles inside 50 stat which was reading fairly bleak early.

I reckon it’s a watch, as it costs us ground territory and invites more pressure as we saw in the second qtr

I think with 5 more games left in the year that’s unlikely. The next month and a bit will be spent trying to get the synergy between our best 23 as good as possible.
I understand this but if Titch is sore, not sure what else can be done.
We can allocate his midfield to time to others, (without Macrae’s inclusion) but that doesn’t help settle the 23 positionally.

Isn’t it much easier, not to do any shuffling and just slot Macrae in Mitchell’s place?
Then just swap him out when Titch is ready.

Toast Round 19 = Port Adelaide 83-85 Collingwood