Review Round 2, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne

Who were your five best players against Melbourne?

BAA13FC9-CA2F-4839-930D-97CE3EC2CCF3.png

Melbourne were up by 33 points when lightning caused a 35 minute delay.

West Coast kicked a goal within 2 mins of the restart. They would go on to kick 4 unanswered. They also had 13/14 of the last inside 50s of the game and the ball was camped inside their forward half 82% of the time.

Sound familiar?

Some of Charlie’s forward pressure acts and second, third efforts were sublime.
Daniher too really had a go. It’s mental. When he decides he really wants it, he’s a 100% better player. And we got a couple of goals directly from his intelligent rucking.
McKenna is an absolute beauty. He’s the recruit I’m most excited about. Pretty good last week in a shockingly bad team effort and excellent last night. Second game in two years so you’d expect he hasn’t anywhere near peaked yet. And exactly what we need. Giant stroke of luck that he fell in our lap.
I thought Joyce looked surprisingly good. Cracks in and made some pretty good decisions.
I like Fort’s ruck-craft. Against two of the best in the business he was no rag doll. Smart player and always gives his best. Oscar was terrific. Those big belts forward create danger and opportunity. No one knows where the ball is going to land but forward of centre you’d back our ground ballers in a fifty fifty.
Wilmot is clearly learning quickly. When he’s more confident in his ability he could really break lines. Gets good distance with his kicks too.
I’ve felt zorks is sometimes underrated on this forum. I think he’s been one of the best players in the league for a decade. Devil of a right foot and the left is pretty evil too.
The last ten minutes didn’t happen. Period. The situation was too strange to blame the players. Ignore it.

This is a great observation Mr Ripper. You and I have been watching football for a while and over the journey I'm sure we could recall numerous players who had very high FOOTBALL IQ. If I think back to some of the great Fitzroy players who I watched play regularly, I would rate (in no particular order) Gary Wilson, Bernie Quinlan, Leon Harris, Leigh Carlson, Paul Roos, Ron Alexander, Matt Rendell, Paul Broderick, Jimmy Wynd, John Blakey, Scott McIvor and Billy Lokan as players who stood out as smart footballers in terms of on-field decision making and positioning.
Gary Pert before injuries curtailed him. Richard Osborne was a very smart footballer up forward. You don't kick big bags like he use to and he wasn't super tall without being smart.

Pert was the Jedi Master of the Dark Arts of defense. I think recall Tony Lockett as describing Pert as a "dirty" player, by which I think he meant that Pert knew all the little niggling, toe stomping and elbow jabbing tactics a fullback needs. Ozzie was great, but perhaps a little mercurial. I know Quinlan rated him, so that's good enough for me. To see Richard Osborne in full flight, go to 22:19 and watch him pull Essendon apart with a last quarter burst of football. Kicked 4 for the quarter and just took the game away from them after the team found another gear.

Gerard Healy tells the story of when Wilson was carving them up one day and Wilson was about to receive a handball and turn right into Healy's face and he thought I've got you this time you little.... . Wilson sensed he was there and instead of receiving the handball palmed it straight to Healy who startled ,grabbed it and Wilson then grabbed him and got a holding the ball. Healy said he just shook his head in disbelief.

Hoping that the Berry shoulder thing might have just be a stinger like the Lachie Neale one a couple of years ago??

Brisbane hosted 2 big games from different codes last night.
The Broncos v Dolphins was always going to get the headlines in a NRL dominated state.
A sellout crowd expected and both teams were undefeated.
Throw in the Bennett connection and the close result pretty much guaranteed all the media coverage was theirs.
Crowd: Broncos v Dolphins 51,047 a record for a standalone club game.

Across the river at The Gabba we had Melbourne coming off a 50-point over the Dogs v the Lions who were coming off a 54-point flogging the week before.
The club were hoping for a good crowd, but would enough people turn up.
How were the Lions going to get a win, and how was the AFL going to get some media coverage especially in Brisbane?

Enter the blackout and all the media issues solved. Then the Lions win by 11 points to get there season back on track.

Just going on the various morning shows this morning, all had the Lions game before the Broncos game. Also, a separate spot for the blackout.
Have no idea about the print media as i guess they had already had space allocated to both seeing it was a night game.
The same with social media but i imagine it got a good showing.

So, one game has turned things around for the Lions for all bar a few supporters.

Oh, nearly forgot the crowd: Lions v Melbourne 30,047 a good attendance considering everything.

Mate if you can’t distinguish between the “last 10 minutes of any game” and what happened last night (and in R21 2021), then you’re being deliberately obtuse

Youre right there’s nothing we could have possibly done. Lucky there wasn’t 14 minutes remaining

Difference with the melbourne, west coast game is that Melbourne doesn’t have a proven record of consistently going missing in big games and getting smashed and also giving up big leads

They also weren’t likely to play west coast in a final and not want to have their opponents with the recent memory of us rolling over and almost allowing them to run us down

There was plenty to play for but a large proportion of our playing group decided it wasnt up to them to put in and help the team finish the game off

The AFL has no integrity when it comes to decisions they make. How can it be that the rule book describes what happens in the event of a game interruption but then on the night they just overrule and do whatever they like. The book says max 30 mins, but they apply 60 mins when it counts. Can we take the AFL to the tribunal?

I think Melbourne really benefited from the 38min break.
Were absolutely dead in the water until time came back on.

Anyone wonder why the Gov wants to tear down and rebuild this stadium so badly?

Youre right there’s nothing we could have possibly done. Lucky there wasn’t 14 minutes remaining

Difference with the melbourne, west coast game is that Melbourne doesn’t have a proven record of consistently going missing in big games and getting smashed and also giving up big leads

They also weren’t likely to play west coast in a final and not want to have their opponents with the recent memory of us rolling over and almost allowing them to run us down

There was plenty to play for but a large proportion of our playing group decided it wasnt up to them to put in and help the team finish the game off
I don't think we need to dwell on it but our performance in those last 12 minutes was very poor and we could've lost the game. It's totally understandable what happened and that we were in a no win situation so your mindset completely changes. Melbourne got a surprise at how easily they were doing it and that gave them a filip.

It doesn't change or detract from the rest of the game. Just a highly unusual set of circumstances that we didn't handle well , and maybe not many teams would've . That's it

Hey DERRINALPHIL - wanna catch up for the Footscray game? Should get some regular posters together at Docklands. We could sit on the 3KZ is Football Wing.

I don't think we need to dwell on it but our performance in those last 12 minutes was very poor and we could've lost the game. It's totally understandable what happened and that we were in a no win situation so your mindset completely changes. Melbourne got a surprise at how easily they were doing it and that gave them a filip.

It doesn't change or detract from the rest of the game. Just a highly unusual set of circumstances that we didn't handle well , and maybe not many teams would've . That's it
Did see some real desperation from McKenna ,Ashcroft and Cameron in the last 3 or 4 minutes that held them out.

Hey DERRINALPHIL - wanna catch up for the Footscray game? Should get some regular posters together at Docklands. We could sit on the 3KZ is Football Wing.
you bet and I thought I would talk to teddougchris as he is a dog.

What's the seat number again?

you bet and I thought I would talk to teddougchris as he is a dog.

What's the seat number again?
Usually go Level 3 Aisle 12 and get as close to the front as we can. Right on the wing (Docklands side). Best General Admittance seats in the AFL. Maybe we'll see royboys4eva there too. I've got footy training Thursday arvo and will leave straight from there. Might need you to throw the scarf over a couple of good seats. Any BF Lions fans who see a tall distinguished bloke who looks like a dentist, most likely in a vintage homemade knitted Fitzroy Jumper / beanie combo and a slightly less tall but equally intelligent looking bloke who looks like he has come straight from training the U11's who will be wearing Damian Cupido's team windbreaker and a Fitzroy scarf, come and say G'day.

The AFL has no integrity when it comes to decisions they make. How can it be that the rule book describes what happens in the event of a game interruption but then on the night they just overrule and do whatever they like. The book says max 30 mins, but they apply 60 mins when it counts. Can we take the AFL to the tribunal?

Someone on Reddit posted the relevant sections from both the official game laws and the AFL laws. The game laws specify 30 minutes, the AFL laws specify 60 minutes.

The AFL laws overrule the game laws.

Someone on Reddit posted the relevant sections from both the official game laws and the AFL laws. The game laws specify 30 minutes, the AFL laws specify 60 minutes.

The AFL laws overrule the game laws.

Still stupid. Surely if it exceeds 30 mins and the game is over both coaches just call it and not risk injury.

Players association need to get involved here. Speaking of getting involved.

I saw Died Pretty last time they were gigging and they were amazing. They are doing a show in Brisbane and one in Melbourne. Worth seeing.

Review Round 2, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne