Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Sydney torch Hawthorn

Clarko and RTB have both had one preseason and have their teams looking much more organised.
North are 3 years into a rebuild now, Clarko coaches a defensive style and structure .......you know the one a lot on here found bland and boring and wanted change from .
And please dont compare us with Stkildas position

Defence is easier to coach why most rebuilds are defence driven

The whole narrative of the preseason is that if players aren't performing they're dropped. I can understand after one week not wanting to swing the axe but after dishing this s**t up back to back changes need to happen.

No structure at all. What's the point of run and gun if it's going to be turned over 9 out of 10 times.
I would be ok if we did turn it over trying to run and gun. But instead our ball movement other than a20 minute patch against Essendon has been horribly stop start

As bad as it was, I don't think t was that bad. The big positive is that the midfield seems to be gelling a little. I think we can see how important Worpel, Newcombe and Day are and are going to be. It already looks like the future leadership group to me. The team as a whole, however, is not clicking at all. They are all over the place and paying a hefty price.

The most disappointing aspect of the team is the lack of leadership from senior players and if I was to drop any players that is where I would be looking. I hope that Hollywood mentality of playing in a cellar dweller team hasn't taken grip. They would all be on very, very good money due to the youth of the team.

I also think that some of the younger mob are looking like fringe due to poor skills and lack of effort. We need these blokes to at least take the game on. They are playing for their careers. Football is a high energy game and needs to be played that way. Take the bloody game on.

I liked Meek's game and thought he rucked well and looks good around the ground. Reeves seems out of sorts in general play. Jiath has made fatal errors in defence 2 weeks in a row and although he seems to have lost confidence he looks very good when he is attacking the football. He really needs to work on his defensive game but I still reckon he is better on a wing. I thought Kozi fought well but Greene was very disappointing. All his misses were very kickable.

The team will get better when it starts to click a bit so I am sure we will slowly see things coming together. Don't think we will beat North next week but I expect a much better game than the first 2 weeks.

So you're saying poach all of the Sydney coaching staff?
Not the coaching staff.

Use the examples they set as a template.

Their midfield is a fraction older and more experienced than ours (but not by heaps).

To not acknowledge and try to learn from their method, technique and output would be the height of (unwarranted) arrogance.

Most of these guys have played 2 games together as a core group.
You could do a 12 month pre season , tactics and all that fancy stuff you want .

You need games at the top level to as a group to build the connection and the synergy . It may take 10 , 20 , 40 or 50 for it to happen .

Then you can add players in abd maje a smooth transition.

I know this barrow will get pushed every game we lose which probably be plenty.
Its the reality of what we are
McCartney and Mitchell both said this numerous times heading into the season, but it seems we have a lot of posters who simply ignored it or never listened.

Jai is having a slow start to the year, was hoping he would continue on last years trajectory but has stagnated so far.

Sicily was awful today. As were most in our backline.

Do we actually have any tall forwards on the list who are available?
To be honest I think those 2 get a pass because they are carrying so many others.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk

Will Day, like most South Australian and West Australian draftees, arrives at a Victorian club as a wantaway.
That is a lazy, complacent generalisation.

Do better.

McCartney and Mitchell both said this numerous times heading into the season, but it seems we have a lot of posters who simply ignored it or never listened.
It was a logical and reasoned warning that has been largely ignored

I would love us to try CJ on the ball or up forward where his creativeness may just create a goal and his errors won’t cost us one each time. Kosi has such flat hands when trying to Mark, never looks like taking one. Our forwards put no effort into trying to stop the opposition defenders from running straight past them and steaming the ball out. Just a lack of effort a lot of the time

Seriously can we ban people from posting about Harley Reid? We're not Carlton ffs, bloody embarrassing that our own fans are death riding us
Nothing wrong wit h looking for a positives in a sea of negative.

Death riding is a bit harsh.

On that note, had we not won those pointless games 4 years ago, we would have Logan MacDonald and not kosi out there today.

Watched this on delay without sound, and haven’t read anything here or elsewhere.

My thoughts:

Backline:
Sis, Blanck and Dimma OK. Impey, CJ and Bramble not working. Thought Impey was the best of the three. CJ out of form and may need a spell.

Mids:
Best line. Finn least noticeable, but I think he played back in the second half. Meek better than Reeves. If we play one ruck / promote Rama, Reeves may get a spell.

Day was good; and Worpel and Nash showed a lot.

Forwardline:
Moore the best. CMac and Greene OK. I’d give Rama a run, play Butler again. I need to find a replay of the 2nd half of Box Hill, but Brockman maybe also in.

I understand that the gameplan (whatever it is) will take time to be embedded. But there is no excuse for just how unorganised and undisciplined we are with our setups. It's diabolical. What has Mitchell and co. been doing all off season?

So you understand that this will all take time to embed and learn the setups, but you then question why they look unorganised with our setups?

I understand that the gameplan (whatever it is) will take time to be embedded. But there is no excuse for just how unorganised and undisciplined we are with our setups. It's diabolical. What has Mitchell and co. been doing all off season?
Gameplan and setups are the same thing its learned practice and then time in game under repitition .

On that note, had we not won those pointless games 4 years ago, we would have Logan MacDonald and not kosi out there today.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk
Chances are we would have picked DGB anyway...

So you understand that this will all take time to embed and learn the setups, but you then question why they look unorganised with our setups?

Game plan in terms of ball movement will take time, that doesn't worry me too much.

Defensive structure ~ not being 5/10m behind their opponents and looking lost at all times shouldn't.

As bad as it was, I don't think t was that bad. The big positive is that the midfield seems to be gelling a little. I think we can see how important Worpel, Newcombe and Day are and are going to be. It already looks like the future leadership group to me. The team as a whole, however, is not clicking at all. They are all over the place and paying a hefty price.

The most disappointing aspect of the team is the lack of leadership from senior players and if I was to drop any players that is where I would be looking. I hope that Hollywood mentality of playing in a cellar dweller team hasn't taken grip. They would all be on very, very good money due to the youth of the team.

I also think that some of the younger mob are looking like fringe due to poor skills and lack of effort. We need these blokes to at least take the game on. They are playing for their careers. Football is a high energy game and needs to be played that way. Take the bloody game on.

I liked Meek's game and thought he rucked well and looks good around the ground. Reeves seems out of sorts in general play. Jiath has made fatal errors in defence 2 weeks in a row and although he seems to have lost confidence he looks very good when he is attacking the football. He really needs to work on his defensive game but I still reckon he is better on a wing. I thought Kozi fought well but Greene was very disappointing. All his misses were very kickable.

The team will get better when it starts to click a bit so I am sure we will slowly see things coming together. Don't think we will beat North next week but I expect a much better game than the first 2 weeks.
Good post Bob as usual. Yep midfield def showed something today. Greene was disappointing with his goal kicking but had 4 shots at it which says to me we have def found an avenue to goal.

I said the same thing to my mate we are yet to click this year which will inevitably happen. I also said is this patch we are seeing now our low watermark for the year or do we have tougher times ahead? We checked the fixture and agrees that if we get rolled by Norf next week that will hurt more than these two....

Game plan in terms of ball movement will take time, that doesn't worry me too much.

Defensive structure ~ not being 5/10m behind their opponents and looking lost at all times shouldn't.
What about the first goal. Frost from our leadership group slacks off by 2m first bounce. What are our standards and who is enforcing them? That's the biggest concern for me. Rebuilding year mask bad habits and if they aren't being singled out and examples being made at selection culture suffers.

He has to be dropped. There is no way he is playing in any successful side we have years down the track, bookmark it. Give DGB games.

Queue the sooking

Day is an A grade mid, 26 touches and 7 clearances at 76% by foot.
Newcombe 27 touches and 5 clearances
Worpel 22 touches and 6 clearances

Our midfield is looking good we just need to find a target forward and stop transition through the middle and we're lot closer than people realise.

I agree with the midfield. C-Mac, Mackenzie, and Ward should all be quailty players to add to that hopefully.

I think the team selection is not helping our cause, our spine is deplorable! We are shooting our selves in the foot going in with a unrecognised CHF!
Blanck & Frost as the two key post, plus two medicore Rucks. Lucky to win any contest or break even down the spine!
Fix the spine up and it will straighten up the whole side! How and what that looks like remains to be seen. Lewis is a huge out for us we haven't got the depth in our spine at all.

There was a situation on the wing where Bramble held the ball, waiting for Amon to run forward to give a handball over the top and they both looked like they were acting the part of a teammate who knew what the other was about to do, but had no idea what the other guy was about to do at all.

Summed it up for me.

We've listened, but if it's okay with you, I'm not happy about getting totally thrashed. I'm funny that way.

Then chose to be irrational and ignore them I guess.

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Sydney torch Hawthorn