Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Sydney torch Hawthorn

What’s annoying is if we’re gonna get smashed play the kids.

Our back 6 last year was great this year they look crap, yes Sicily and CJ haven’t been as good but set them with cohesion. Should be Dimma, Sicily, Morris, CJ, Scrinshaw, Blank, DGB. Impey snd Frost are not good players and they make simple errors so why not build with the 7.

Two ruck setup is so bad when none can mark the ball, just play Meek and whichever key forward is fit whether Ransden, Serong, Jeka or even just put Frost there as he at least will halve it and Lewis in fir Kozi ASAP.

Also our small forwards are good but not pressure players bring in someone just for pressure so we can push Moore up and Breust and Chad as small full forwards
Our defence coach is kade Simpson

Forwards is who knows

Both look to be doing terrible job

You're right.

They have Curnow, McKay and Weitering.

Exactly what we need.

Oh and Harley Reid.

The glaring thing for me is our lack of players who can change the coarse of a piece of play with high level skill and knowhow.

Occasionally a Moore or Newk will do something good and it's glaring compared to most of the rest of what's going on.
Bog average skilled players are rife and it makes any game plan almost impossible to implement effectively.
I think Wardy will be able to with time, and McKenzie a d Macdonald.

In the end of the day, these games are gonna happen this year. I was more dissapointed last week than I was this week, due to the quality of the opponent. Even though the GF result was rubbish, Sydney didn't finish second by luck last year. They're a good side. Our intent was a lot better, but our confidence and skill level was just dreadful.

Can't go into next week with no changes. Brockman, Scrimshaw and DGB should be in at least. Reeves, Kozi and Blanc dropped. We don't need to be playing 2 ruckman in the side at this stage. Nash can go in there when Meek needs a rest.

Love this. I have the exact same thoughts.

Watching the 2nd half again, not sure our mids should get any positive marks from today's efforts. It will be a long season with efforts like this week in week out. Still love my club GO HAWKS

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

The whole narrative of the preseason is that if players aren't performing they're dropped. I can understand after one week not wanting to swing the axe but after dishing this shit up back to back changes need to happen.

No structure at all. What's the point of run and gun if it's going to be turned over 9 out of 10 times.

We really need a strategy for slowing down run ons too. This season and last we've coughed up quite a few high multi goals periods. This week and last week oppos kicked 10 goals plus in a run on us.

In the end of the day, these games are gonna happen this year. I was more dissapointed last week than I was this week, due to the quality of the opponent. Even though the GF result was rubbish, Sydney didn't finish second by luck last year. They're a good side. Our intent was a lot better, but our confidence and skill level was just dreadful.

Can't go into next week with no changes. Brockman, Scrimshaw and DGB should be in at least. Reeves, Kozi and Blanc dropped. We don't need to be playing 2 ruckman in the side at this stage. Nash can go in there when Meek needs a rest.
Blanc is not getting dropped but the other 2 will be lucky to survive. But I would hate to be a forward with the delivery We are providing

The whole narrative of the preseason is that if players aren't performing they're dropped. I can understand after one week not wanting to swing the axe but after dishing this s**t up back to back changes need to happen.

No structure at all. What's the point of run and gun if it's going to be turned over 9 out of 10 times.
We didn't do much run and gun this week

The whole narrative of the preseason is that if players aren't performing they're dropped. I can understand after one week not wanting to swing the axe but after dishing this s**t up back to back changes need to happen.

If Mitchell is true to his word then several players are getting dropped. Hopefully he actually meant it and it wasn't just typical preseason "coach speak."

I don’t know where to start
So I won’t bother

I’m worried about the mental impact this will be having on the players

Sam and the rest of the footy department have their work cut out

Worrying given they've had two preseasons under Mitchell to work some sort of synergy out. You can't tell me T. Mitchell, JOM, Big Boy, Shiels and Gunston were the glue that held this terrible side together.
Most of these guys have played 2 games together as a core group.
You could do a 12 month pre season , tactics and all that fancy stuff you want .

You need games at the top level to as a group to build the connection and the synergy . It may take 10 , 20 , 40 or 50 for it to happen .
Then you can add players in and make a smooth transition.

I know this barrow will get pushed every game we lose which probably be plenty.
Its the reality of what we are

Our gameplay at the moment is the equivalent of a Golden State Warriors ultra offensive mindset.

But unfortunately we don't have Steph Curry and Klay Thompson raining threes, we have Kossi and continuing around like headless chooks.

The question next week is whether Sam will bite the bullet and go defensive to try and grind out a win down in Tassie.

Or does he back his system and roll the dice again with the current game plan?

Maybe, just to get a win in the books, he dusts off Clarkos old journals at the back of the coaching box and goes ultra defensive for a week (can't believe I am saying this).

Watching the 2nd half again, not sure our mids should get any positive marks from today's efforts. It will be a long season with efforts like this week in week out. Still love my club GO HAWKS

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
You’re a sick sick man 😉 watching that again

Most of these guys have played 2 games together as a core group.
You could do a 12 month pre season , tactics and all that fancy stuff you want .

You need games at the top level to as a group to build the connection and the synergy . It may take 10 , 20 , 40 or 50 for it to happen .
Then you can add players in abd maje a smooth transition.

I know this barrow will get pushed every game we lose which probably be plenty.
Its the reality of what we are

Clarko and RTB have both had one preseason and have their teams looking much more organised.

Nailed it. They guys need system and an instinctive understanding of where team mates should be in tight corners. Takes time, I guess. But if we keep getting walloped like this there won't be enough trust to develop confidence!
I think the thing that is really going to hamper us is the simple lack of forward targets at the moment. If we had someone to straighten us up when we have the ball it would instantly add a sense of purpose to our play and give us something to aim for, literally. I thought our midfield was ok . We did win the clearances and we were not thrashed in the contested possession count this week at least. But I looked at our forward line when it was named and could not see how we could kick six goals unless Bruest had a day out. And we don't have a lot of ready made back-up options really. We could drop Kosi and bring in Ramsden but then the kid will get the number one defender on debut playing in a team with poor forward fifty entries as it is...its a huge ask and we might just end up damaging his confidence with no real gain. I think this is just going to be a long hard year and we all just have to get through it as best we can.

At least it will feel like we lived longer.....

What is the go with our set from opposition kick in’s, we seem to set up so deep that it invariably end up on a wing with in seconds of the kick in
I couldn’t agree more. Kick in defence setup is a shambles. Essendon and swans both walked it out up to the wing. Lots of good video for the coaches to work with…….sadly

Not sure if you appreciate Swans fans in here, so tell me to piss off if you like. But I don't know how many of you were up here for the match and I thought an opinion from the ground might not go astray.

The lack of structure was definitely noticeable and had a frustrating side-effect that the player with ball in hand couldn't see any viable option and had to try and take the game on. I lost count of how many times a Hawks player tried to do too much and either got completely shut down or shanked the disposal because they had to rush. It might've also been a lack of experience which meant some of the players were second guessing their decision. And the Swans are obviously a terrific defensive pressure team and the tackles stick and they hurt.

The other big difference between the two teams was how they used the width of the ground. The Swans spread fast and ran hard every time there was a turnover and even if the ball wasn't actually switched, the Hawks had to stretch to cover that option which left one-on-ones across the ground and at times, free Swans floating around. On the flipside, the Hawks stayed pretty narrow and even if they got the ball forward to advantage, Sydney defenders were able to peel off their opponent and impact the contest.

All that being said, it's hard to read too much into a smashing like that. A lot has to go right for the winners and a lot has to go terribly for the losers.

Blanc is not getting dropped but the other 2 will be lucky to survive. But I would hate to be a forward with the delivery We are providing

I must say, I do feel for Kozi a bit. He's at his best when he is playing deep forward and leading towards the ball. He is the victim of trying to be coached into being another Roughead type player.

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Sydney torch Hawthorn