Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Hawthorn give Carlton the Blues

Beaut stuff tonight Hawks 👏

Three and zip before heading to Tassie - fantastic start to the season. Something rather enjoyable about knocking over the teams we have to date as well.

A bit of a shame the crowd wasn't 70k+, but the weather and Carlton fans potentially still frustrated after last week's capitulation may have played a part.

Ward and Mackenzie both had great games. The kick from Mackenzie to Watson was insane. I also thought that Finn played well and was solid. There was a passage of play, where he involved himself 3 times, which resulted in Col getting a goal. His work rate is off the charts. Chol is really enjoying himself, and is having lots of fun. The more relaxed he appears to be, the better his games are. From my perspective, I think both Richmond and Gold Coast both stifled his progress. I can only see him getting better.

The B Double, Battle and Barrass they work so well together. It brings back memories of Lake and Gibson, Langford and Mew, Moore and Knights! A combination that just works so well together. The fact that they have players that also compliment them such as Weddle, Sicily, Amon and Jars is premiership material. A lot like Lake and Gibson who had Stratton, Frawley, Hodge, Burgoyne. Langford and Mew had Aryes, Collins, John Kennedy Jnr. Loving the combo, they are awesome.

What a win! We just beat three of our top five most hated teams... Syd, ess, bluuz/!

• don't like this injuries early in each game stuff!
  • impressed by CJ ! Looks more comfortable in defence for mine.
  • Day, although did get caught with the ball, he was involved in a lot of our foray frwd, love the way he just glides across the ground and delivers it on a platter.
  • Newk absolute monster game.
  • Ward was fantastic as was Mackenzie. Our second tier midfield pairing coming on very well.
  • Chol, excellent.
  • Massimo and Amon are deadly with ball in hand their workrate without it is as just as impressive.

We do need Worpel back though, our contest work has been a bit below average which can't be sustainable.
Great to see gunners coming on and doing so well.

interesting to hear we had 19 players on the ground at one stage. Glad Carlton didn't call for a player count! Though at least it wasn't actually in play, however, so didn't get an advantage and will prob be just a fine
There was a moment near the bench when Watson celebrated and helped a teammate up off the ground and to do so stepped into the crossover area but not onto the field.

He was just getting around a teammate but I imagine he will be told to be careful.

Wasn’t able to watch all of it but the main things I noticed where how good we look the moment we get the ball into space.

However our current clearance play just isn’t good enough. Can’t keep getting smashed around the clearances. The 2nd quarter showed how hard it can be to move the ball if we can’t win clearances and the opposition set up well behind the ball.

Still it’s a great start being 3-0. Need to start bringing our A-game though. GWS and Geelong will smash us if we play as well out of the clearances as the last two games.

Awesome to have cj back!

Concerned over ginni, the doco showed he had that dodgy ankle in pre season and he has been a bit quiet this season. Seems to be underdone, maybe just keep him closer to goals until he heals up a bit
It'll be interesting to see how long we select Ginni and Weddle without them playing a game in which they're in the top 8-10 on field. I understand that they can have quiet games, and contribute in "team first" ways, but I think that only lasts so long. It may be BHH starting this week that changes the dynamic.

Jack Gunston doing Jack Gunston things…two critical goals. Elite!
How classy was that. Gunston been in the coaches box the last few weeks, quick warm up today and then just heads out, takes two expert marks and finished off like he was taking practise shots at training. We had been wasteful in front of goal until that point, it really steadied us. Exactly why he and Breust will be so valuable as the sub this year.

Great to see the boys winning in different ways each week. Shows that the players can adapt from game to game.

Couple of highlights for me, personally.

Bloody loved that Chol had a big game, I've wanted to see him do well and that was a ripper.

CJ put his balls on the line, can't knock that effort.

Geez I'm stoked we have Barrass, he's pretty damned solid.

Considering Carlton had everything to prove, I'm stoked that the boys came away with this one.

A fair bit to work on, but trending upward. On to GWS.

Our Depth of the bottom 10 every week shows we are building a serious team

Also at what point are the umpires going to pay Watson a free kick for having his throat targeted by an opposition player

Twice in 3 weeks this year, an opposition player has deliberately done so with no repercussion.
Yeah this needs to stop. Every time a player successfully tackles Watson, they seem to feel like he needs to have his head buried in the turf. Can't just ignore it forever umps.

That passage of play that lead to our last goal was amazing - Battle had a great defensive effort and great awareness to flick the ball out to CJ.

Then the kick from D'Ambrosio was the epitome of elite; hemmed in on the boundary with no room to move and still managed to lazer a kick into space for Day. He did the several times last season too. I can't think of many other players in the league the could pull that off.
That kick from Mass is legitimately unfair, players aren’t supposed to be able to make that kick. Him and Amon are such a pleasure to watch use the footy.

Autopsy Round 2, 2025: Hawthorn give Carlton the Blues

Write your reply...