Review Round 20, 2022 - Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

I'd like Robbo and Zorko to both retire, and Lyons to get dropped, so that we can replace them with players who can move faster. And I'd like McStay to take the Collingwood offer so Fagan stops picking a team that's too tall. We cannot continue playing a team full of slow players, we get destroyed by anyone with pace and pressure.

Ashcroft for one. Think we really need a massive overhaul end of season and bring in the likes of Wilmot, Lohmann Dev. And possibly Fletcher. And Robbo out for one. Lyons possibly. Matho has a run of poor form back to the VFL.
More than this i reckon. Time to look at our leaders if we are displaying a lack of fortitude.

Genuinely the most unpleasant experience at the footy I have had, and the end result was only about 5% of the issue.

Unfortunately you would have copped a month of built up rage from Richmond fans. A shame that we were the team to fall apart and make Richmond look calm in a close game.

I’d like to wait for Mighty Lions explanation on why Fagan didn’t sh!t the bed with our team selection, playing a ruck as our medical sub, and not having a plan B for Bolton, but all he ever does is tell us who we can’t talk about.
Mate - he wont the answer question and will only defend Fagan. Its ok for him to pot players, but no one dare do the same to Fagan or his preferred players.

Hell, you simply said Ely will be playing country footy next year - not sure how thats unreasonable - and ML threw the toys out of the cot being totally offended by your mere suggestion. - which I actially agree with.

What can be said about giving up a 42 point lead. I thought our season was probably over after we lost to Essendon, but that feels like the cue just went into the rack for sure.

We clearly need some kind of reset, our play at the coalface just isn't up to standard and no idea how we make it better. Seems like we have our current best options in position but it's just not enough.

It's tough after the past few years where it has really seemed like this team was going to explode with all the good young talent coming through, but it just hasn't happened.

dont like going to matches against big 4 clubs if not in a mcc / medallion club seating thing

had a similar experience to what youre describing round 2 against essendon
It's not just Big 4 clubs.

Some of the worst fan experiences I've had were from North Melbourne & the Doggies.

What does Roberston have to do? Seriously?

Will probably come in the team next week and be stuck on the forward flank or defensive wing. Needs to play midfield. Lyons has to go he's just not contributing across multiple facets of the game. His stoppage work is decent but outside of that... nothing.

Genuinely the most unpleasant experience at the footy I have had, and the end result was only about 5% of the issue.
Which is why I watched the reserves and then went home. Tigers are up there with the bomber supporters as worst in the league for abusing/threatening opposition supporters. And the trip home on the train post-game is a risk too far for me.

Bailey getting punched off the ball and going to hospital is especially cruel when there is no red card system.
I don't think there was anything in it. Looked very innocuous. Think he just got unlucky when he and Pickett collided.

Edit: Unless something happened after the camera panned away.

Anyone care to defend pea hearted McStay who has checked out like 6 weeks ago? He had a good half against GWS and again has ckeked out yet Fagan wants to play a set up and a player that cant be trusted and wont be here next year. Tell me what the point is?

It seems like with the reports of McStay leaving people now judge him more harshly. McStay is what he has always been. A 2nd/3rd best tall. He's a streaky shot at goal, he's even more inconsistent in taking marks. Not sure why's he a 2nd ruck these days. Probably because Daniher can't be trusted not to play hero ball and turn the ball over when he's between the arcs. Speaking of Daniher where was he after quarter time? Went missing for 2 quarters and then popped up to kick the ball into Fort's face.

Bizarre how Andrews is part of the leadership group but he is the worst player/leader in the defensive half.

Not even a rant, but number of times he doesn't pay any respect to his opponent or even make a contest.

Time to do a mini reset of the club. Harsh calls need to be made or we will continue to be a 5-8 team that never challenges.
Not sure if true, but Hollow Knight, postered that Andrews knees are shot. He certainly runs like it.

I am just going to dig out some positives from the bleakness because - why not?

Kiddy - developing into a genuine game changer. Still young enough but already takes it upon himself to get us going forward. I really think he is going to be a key player for us in the next several seasons.

Hipwood - missed badly at goal but showed signs of fighting back to form.

Rayner - missed several goals badly but he is showing the signs of what he is capable. Next season needs to be the year he really explodes.

This might be the loss we need to decide we have some rethinking and at least partial rebuilding to do.

Review Round 20, 2022 - Richmond vs. Brisbane Lions