Autopsy Round 20, 2023: Hawthorn v St.Kilda

Not sure where all this belief is Sicily played terrible, had 26 possessions and 410 metres gained 16 kicks, 10 handballs and 7 marks, was part of the group of players picking our system apart and literally walking through our wall defence
Last time he almost single handily won them the game

He was enormous and easily had the 3 votes.

Wont get a vote today

Not sure where all this belief is Sicily played terrible, had 26 possessions and 410 metres gained 16 kicks, 10 handballs and 7 marks, was part of the group of players picking our system apart and literally walking through our wall defence

Last time he was BoG, today he was just one of the cogs.

Lyon will have been very happy.

He hardly impacted the game no matter how many touches he had. We stopped him in the air which is where he does most damage.

How many intercept marks did he have?

Bit different receiving the footy or getting ground balls that it is cutting off every second entry.

Getting 20 odd touches of half back isnt that impressive these days

Gresham comes back into the 22, King and Hill will be back hopefully.

Caminiti won't miss so we actually need to find someone to drop.
I’m glad you didn’t suggest Membery or Hayes because they’re both completely underdone. Caminiti will miss because. Just because.

Brad Crouch did heaps all day, but Owens into the middle really freed him up and he had a heap to do with the 4th quarter burst.

I thought Owens and Hunter Clark gave a real contest out of the midfield in the last. If HC could ever get fit he could be a weapon.

I’m glad you didn’t suggest Membery or Hayes because they’re both completely underdone. Caminiti will miss because. Just because.
Hayes has only missed a week in the last month.

He played the 14 v14 scratchy the week the zebs had a bye

How many intercept marks did he have?

Bit different receiving the footy or getting ground balls that it is cutting off every second entry.

Getting 20 odd touches of half back isnt that impressive these days

Yeah, it's the damage that they do off that intercept that hurts most, they race the ball end to end. Stopping him in the air takes away so much of their advantage.

Nas is unreal. My god, I hope he stays with for a long time.
Wood was big today, back to his form from earlier in the year. So important aerially.
Lots of players played their roll well today, and it makes all the difference.
And I'm no Gresham lover - was relieved when he was dropped in fact, as I am sick of his kicking. But credit where it's due. I thought he was quite good today. Worked hard.

Good win that.

He destroyed us last game. That didn't happen this game.

Sharman was good today. Did a role... kicked a few goals.... delivered nicely to Hammer for one of his goals.

Was an important part of our win.

Just live with it mate.

Oh, now i get why you are talking up his game. Sharman played on him 😂

How embarrassing

I kinda subscribe to this being a year of exploration, as Ross said, so I might be being the Saints of 2023 with rose coloured glasses. However even with that in mind, I loved quite lot about the performance today.

Nas- What more can be said about this kid other than the entire team seems to look for him and his ball use at every possible occassion. That speaks volumes to him and he is quickly becoming one of the most important players in our team. That he is doing it at 20 years old and with roughly 30 games under his belt is super exciting

Caminiti/Sharman- I'm going to lump these two together, because I thought today they did a similar thing well today, and that was they were able to get the ball to deck and then apply great attacking pressure. This I think is particularly promising as it means that they'll both be able to be effective foils for King going forward. More than this, if they can start sticking half the marks they fly for then watch out. Caminiti in particular has got amazing contested marking potential. The kid is in his first year, coming off no preseason, and is managing to influence AFL games. You're usually lucky to have a first year KPP influence VFL games, so that is an underrated win. It might just be his name, but I feel like he's got a bit of young Fevola about him

Windhager- Didn't have the best game but loving how well he has adapted to his role on the half back flank. I think he's been moved back there to find some form and get some more games under his belt out of the heat of the centre, but the fact that he's been able to go back and find the footy shows to me that he has natural football talent

Owens- quiet first 3 quarters, but came to life when moved into the middle in the 4th, and I think wrenched the momentum of the game back into our favour. He's going to be an amazing player when he has the tank and the experience to play an 80/20 mid/fwd split, instead of the other way around. He has such power at stoppages, and that brilliant ability to slip through tackles. He's also a barometer type player who lifts those around him, and those are as rare as hen's teeth.

Obviously I'd love for us to play a 4 quarter game, instead of a 2 quarter game, but I think that considering the age of our list, the injuries we've had to key players, and the fact that we are still learning under a new coach, being inconsistent isn't all that surprising.

The next 4 weeks, and the next 2 in particular , will be very interesting, and should tell us more about where we are at. Ultimately, however, I think that this year isnt so much about wins and losses as it is about growing and improving for next year and beyond. I think there was definitely some growth shown today

Hayes has only missed a week in the last month.

He played the 14 v14 scratchy the week the zebs had a bye
He needs more exposure than that given his performance yesterday.
If the Club wants to get the best out of him for the long term, I reckon we need to give him every opportunity to get his confidence and touch back.
Let him play for Sandringham until we see that.
I didn’t see it yesterday.

Autopsy Round 20, 2023: Hawthorn v St.Kilda