Preview Round 21, 2018: Essendon v St.Kilda - Etihad Stadium, Friday 10th August, 7:50PM AEST *Ross' 100th*

Who Wins?

• Bombers

Votes: 54 83.1%
  • Saints

Votes: 11 16.9%

At least I saw a reaction from Sinclair to his efforts on Saturday night.

Club just ruled Josh Battle out this week - Marshall and Pierce would appear to be certainties.

Well the upside to that is that I am very curious as to where Pierce is at. So at least I will have something to focus on.

Well that plus Freeza's second game ;)

From what I've seen of Essendon they are quick. We are, let's say, less quick. If they get open space, it will be goodnight Vienna.

Hopefully we get a response from the Bulldogs debacle and somehow keep the game competitive. As to the possibility of recalling Weller - no, just no.
They absloutly cut through Hawthorns defense like a knife.

At least I saw a reaction from Sinclair to his efforts on Saturday night.

Club just ruled Josh Battle out this week - Marshall and Pierce would appear to be certainties.

Good. I'm glad Sinclair had a reaction. It's about the only thing he's done all year with the exception of one or two games. He should be ashamed of his year...along with 95% of the others putting on their jumper each weak.

Goddard of the bj kind to get 35 touches, 30 of em kicks off the.....half back flank
2qlqzyo.jpg

Brilliant. It looks like the Coles finger.
Best wishes to St Kilda.
Saad is one of their improved players.
Also, Fantasia is in great form and must be stopped.
Heppell mentioned Essendon can play finals which is a sort of disrespect to St Kilda.

Brilliant. It looks like the Coles finger.
Best wishes to St Kilda.
Saad is one of their improved players.
Also, Fantasia is in great form and must be stopped.
Heppell mentioned Essendon can play finals which is a sort of disrespect to St Kilda.[/QUOT

It is a bit disrespectful...but then it can be argued that our team is presently devoid of any form of self-respect, so maybe it is deserved.

Heppell seemed quite dismissive, as if St Kilda did not exist at all.
It should motivate the St Kilda players to dash Essendon's finals hopes.
Carlisle is a very good player and he can intimidate the Essendon key forward.
Essendon's slowness in defence is their Achilles heel with veterans like BJ and Hurley.
It should be an interesting match and belies the ladder position.

What I want to see

Out: Hickey (inj), Battle (inj), Coffield (managed), Dunstan, Newnes, Lonie, Brown
In: Pierce, Marshall, Paton, Rice, Connellan, Goddard, Phillips

B: Webster, Goddard, Geary
HB: Rice, Carlisle, McKenzie
C: Sinclair, Steele, Freeman
HF: Billings, Marshall, Acres
F: Gresham, Membrey, Connellan

Foll: Pierce, Steven, Ross
Int: Armitage, Clark, Paton, Phillips

Essendon's slowness in defence is their Achilles heel with veterans like BJ and Hurley.

I reckon there would be a few Saints fans agree.

wow
Thanks

We should get this bloke on the coaching panel

I haven't read the thread. I probably won't watch the match. Friday morning I'm handing my PhD in for examination (Yay!). So that night, I'll go out with the wife, and have a lovely time out on a date - maybe see a movie, a nice dinner, etc. I'm sure as hell not going to let what is probably going to be a hundred-point drubbing ruin what should be a day celebrating the end of 8 long years doing a part-time doctorate.

One thing I will say, assuming others haven't brought it up. But apart from any other incentive the Bombers have to smash us, given their push for finals percentage, etc - they know that it was us beating them by 100+ points that was the coach-killer for Hirdy. I'm sure they are quite keen to do their best to reciprocate.

Congratulations mate! Have a good one.

Ahh I don't know - I reckon Longers injury is worse than Hickeys!!!
Yeah but Hickey got more possessions while he was injured ;)
Hopefully we get to see a bit of Pierce this week and he can perform at the level required for AFL.
If we want to be a successful club then list management decisions need to be difficult to make, not easy.

What I want to see

Out: Hickey (inj), Battle (inj), Coffield (managed), Dunstan, Newnes, Lonie, Brown
In: Pierce, Marshall, Paton, Rice, Connellan, Goddard, Phillips

B: Webster, Goddard, Geary
HB: Rice, Carlisle, McKenzie
C: Sinclair, Steele, Freeman
HF: Billings, Marshall, Acres
F: Gresham, Membrey, Connellan

Foll: Pierce, Steven, Ross
Int: Armitage, Clark, Paton, Phillips

Lonie stays in he is playing some good footy.
Brown stays in has done nothing wrong.
Coffield we must persist with him in.

Lonie stays in he is playing some good footy.
Brown stays in has done nothing wrong.
Coffield we must persist with him in.

Coffield looks physically cooked to me, Lonie is getting involved lots but consistently screws up far too much to be an AFL quality player and Brown is getting beaten defensively so he's completely redundant. Our season has been dead for months; it's time we find out what our kids can do.

Lonies last three games have been very good, no way he gets dropped.

His numbers have improved in the last two games and I don't actually expect him to get dropped, I just don't think a tiny, slow small forward who can't kick more than 30m or make an effective tackle is ever going to get a game in a decent team and we should stop wasting our time.