Toast Round 22 = Collingwood 109-101 Geelong

Scott in his Presser ststing he had been told by people who watched the footage that Cameron and the guy he HB to were in the field of play at the time and he questioned the reporter who asked the question if he saw it. When he replied he had and that both were outside the boundary ... Scott replied he must have viewed the footage from a different angle... WTF

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Acting like a Toddler having a Tantrum

Lol, fair enough. I’m out.

Good call.

Better things to do in Paris than hang out on BigFooty …
  • Hang out at the D’Orsay
  • Browse around the Pompadou Centre
  • Pop into L’Orangerie and if you like what you see do a day trip out to Monet’s Garden
  • Cruise the cool bars of the 18th Arrondissement
  • Buy a fresh baguette, ripe Camembert, a fresh tomato from a local market, et viola!
  • Do the Louvre.
  • Go clothes shopping around Marais district, it’ll be $$$ cheaper and better quality than anything you’ll ever find in Aus.
  • Wander up to and around Mount Martre

20230811_234250-png.1771431

We cant be too hard on the umpires. They were unsighted, all 4 of them.
Ah... Now I understand Scotts confusion. He meant it was inside the fence. If that picture alone is not a sad indictment on the poor quality (selective umpiring) of umpiring when all 4 have clear view I don't know what is. 4 umpires were supposed to stop such howlers not to cause them

The ignored front on contact to Hoskin-Elliott just outside the goal square has been lost amongst the mark & handball from the carpark.

Also felt the cats got away with quite a few hold on our mids especially in the first half and a lot of 50/50 decisions which are sometimes paid / sometimes not went their way. Immediately following some of those 50/50 there was a more obvious one our way, which probably makes the umpiring seem worse.

+ Mihocek’s obvious dropped mark, shocking Centre bounces

Glad we held our nerve and didn’t push Howe back after Moore was subbed. Offers a nice point of difference as a forward including retaining a defensive mindset when required. Nice to see him spoil a few times when caught behind

Worked Perfectly

We actually played better last night when Moore went off

Ah... Now I understand Scotts confusion. He meant it was inside the fence. If that picture alone is not a sad indictment on the poor quality (selective umpiring) of umpiring when all 4 have clear view I don't know what is. 4 umpires were supposed to stop such howlers not to cause them

And that’s why we need five umpires

CD609926-1F53-4836-AE61-02CB8E7C2F1D.gif

The goal review system should be extended to cover things like this.
Yeah, boundary line decisions are black and white or blue and white last night. Unlike things in play there’s no grey or interpretation, so they absolutely should have the ability to review.

The other argument is the introduction of a captain’s review, one per quarter or half and retained if successful.

Too much at stake to be missing such obvious ones, but thankfully didn’t cost us the 4 points that mattered last night.

A win, but an unconvincing win against a side not really up to it in 2023.
Limping to the finals.
And I won’t be convinced until we beat someone above us on the ladder.
Lot of our Wins this Year been Very Simmlar as last night

Different people do things differently. 🤷🏽‍♂️
Didn't worry me. I think it is interesting to know from where people are watching the game. I am always a bit perplexed by the ones who say they didn't see the game because they were overseas. Understandable if it is a business trip and your time is not your own, but I have never missed a game while overseas. My Sydney barracking mate who returns to the states 4 months each year is up in the middle of the night to watch his team and never misses.

That was huge. Had to win to restore confidence and belief in ourselves.

Early on, it looked like more of the same but the team found it's pressure game in the second quarter and didn't relent even with Geelong's best attempts to comeback (with a bit of help from the umpires).

Fantastic from Josh Daicos. Really stepped up in his brother's absence and showed why he's worthy of greater respect by the wider footballing public. Nick has had all the adulation over the past two years, but Josh has become a significantly good footballer since McRae took over as coach.

Ginnivan's return provided a real spark and energy for the team, even if it unfortunately came at the expense of Moore being subbed off due to a hamstring injury. He was unselfish, getting his teammates involved and making good decisions with ball in hand.

Nice to see Mihocek regain some form after a recent form slump with an equal career best 5 goals in a match. He really needed that after only kicking 2 goals in his last 5 games.

Nathan Murphy was extraordinary. Remarkable how he was able to recover and play this week after last week's injury. He was the general in defence, particularly once Moore went down with injury.

Jeremy Cameron's two out of bounds goal were baffling. I'm still gobsmacked hours after the event. I don't usually like to talk about umpires, but tonight was shockingly bad from them. If officiating doesn't improve, the umpires will inevitably ruin a cutthroat finals match.

Took a significant step of securing the minor premiership and a home Qualifying Final.
Agree with all of this.

After the Carlton and hawthorn games I thought I’d know more about whether we’re over the slump after the Geelong game, but oddly I still feel like I’m not sure.

I think that first quarter has given me PTSD! It was going to be all over, another wasted year that could’ve been anything!

2nd and 3rd Quarters we were excellent in hindsight, and I sort of knew it at the time, but the die had been cast and I couldn’t get that first Q out of my head.

Then the last quarter roller coaster, up by 22, up by 9, up by 4+ goals, then finishing up by 8.

On the one hand Geelong are a very good team, so we must have done well to overrun a large deficit, but then the general play was atrocious in Q1, then we gave up the last 3, but played 1.5 to 2 good quarters in between. Cameron kicked a bag and we lost Moore, while Noble, JDG and a few others will be sore.

Are we back? I still can’t tell. Guess I’ll know more after the Brisbane game…

I rarely ever get 'foaming at the mouth' feral at the footy but those boundary decisions just piss me off. Field umpiring there's a bit of grey area with every decision, I get that, but boundary umpiring is literally black and white. Either the ball has fully crossed over or it hasn't. There's no excuse for getting something like that wrong in this day and age of professional umpiring.

Also it's time to kill the centre bounce. I love the tradition of it but today's umpires are just not up to it, sad really.

Where were the Shocking Calls that went our Way?

Mihocek’s clear dropped mark that was paid.
Centre bounce that really should have been recalled.

He didn't clunk it. It bobbled up, so throw in at best for the Cats. Mark being paid was exceedingly lucky
Looked to me like a one grab mark… the ball never left his right hand after he got the first touch on it so the left arm wrapping around the ball later is irrelevant. Whether the ball had fully crossed the line when he got that first touch is impossible to tell with that camera angle. If the umpire got it wrong it wasn’t by much. But I don’t agree with you that it was a two grab mark.

Mihocek’s clear dropped mark that was paid.
Centre bounce that really should have been recalled.

Blatant push in the back for Adams first goal.

These things balance out

To be fair Mihocek had three bites of the cherry before the ball hit the deck so understandable if the umpire decided to pay the mark. It was line ball. But the goal from the dodgy centre bounce was pure luck from an umpiring mistake.

Worked Perfectly

We actually played better last night when Moore went off
We looked better for having the bigger Frampton at full back. I’d still like to see Moore, Frampton and Murphy as our three tall defenders.

Blatant push in the back for Adams first goal.

These things balance out
Umpiring on the goal-line is essentially a different sport. The amount of by the book illegal contact that goes unpunished down there astonishes me

Geelong’s two best players last night were Dangerfield & Cameron, both were acquired through free agency. Both are genuine stars. It it weren’t for them we would have won easily. I despise Geelong and Chris Scott. Arrogant club and a total sook of a coach. Makes Malthouse look chirpy in comparison after a loss.

Toast Round 22 = Collingwood 109-101 Geelong