Round 3, 2008 vs Hawthorn. The 'Rivalry Round' Thread (officially approved by Giantroo)

Re: Round 3, 2008 vs Hawthorn. The Pre Game Banging on Thread

Playing well? that's subjective. The Hawks haven't had real opposition yet as North flung the cue in the rack after quarter time in R1 :eek: and in R2, we just did the basics without breaking into a real sweat. The season starts THIS WEEK and getting one back for the one we LOST in R1 in front of the North faithful is paramount.

So I'm guessing you tipped us to beat Fremantle then?

Pressure is the Key

If North spply pressure throughout the game they will have a real shot. Hawks can be forced into errors and enough pressure and flooding will nullify our gameplan.

If the hawks are sharp with disposal and can generate some run. We will be very hard to stop.

Looking foward to the match. Would love a close, tight game. Nothing wrong with a good old fashioned hate-filled rivalry and a blow out either way wouldn't be as fun.

Wow - your name says so much. :)

SOAP (Travelling back from Perth) could be the defining factor... Time will Tell... bookmark it

The Travelling factor is a cop out, the Perth clubs do it regularly and more often then not come away with the points

So I'm guessing you tipped us to beat Fremantle then?

Nope. Given the HIGH expectations of their list, you guys haven't won in WA for a few years, Freo play their best footy @ home and on top of that, losing a KPP like Croad would help Freo. If the truth be known GAMBLER, I had either team under 15.5 in my parlay. ;) But picked Freo overall.

North run away from Freo with a comfortable win only a month ago @ Subi.

The AFL couldn't play a Melbourne final on the Friday Night and the Hawks-Adelaide was the lowest drawing game. Make no mistake that Semi Final was one of the most one sided finals I've been to between 2 Victorian clubs at the MCG.

We have just under 34000 ticketed members and you have 29000 so its not worth arguing about.

Meh. I was on a flight from Los Angeles to Melbourne (getting updates from cabin crew via air traffic controllers in Tahiti) while the SF was in progress, so I'll let someone else who was there to comment on crowd splits.

But I was in Adelaide for the Prelim, and there would've been 5,000 North fans making the trip to AAMI. As it was our first EVER interstate final, a lot more people than you'd expect made the effort to get there (and a sell out is never an issue for a Port game)

Fremantle are garbage. But if you want to gloss that performance up, and you weren't that convincing anyway, you go for it. I won't stand in your way. :thumbsu:

Fremantle are a better side than Essendon and will finish above them on the ladder. We travelled to Perth and beat them easily enough. You were given a right royal reaming by Essendon who were a 15 goal better side than you after quarter time. Essendon are at least an 8 goal inferior side to Hawthorn.

The fact is that you guys should be petrified of Hawthorn, yet like many stupid people, you people continue to bring up last years Preliminary Final as the basis for an erroneous argument that you are the better team. Keep deluding yourselves. I hope that you enjoy the hiding that will be dished up to your overrated mob on Saturday.

The Travelling factor is a cop out, the Perth clubs do it regularly and more often then not come away with the points

I agree. When a team loses, the media harp on it like it's MISSION IMPOSSIBLe... look at the Lions in R2.. 10 hours in the air.. :rolleyes:

Although the game was always going to be closer (yup another either team under 15.5pts punt) the Pies were jibbed.

Fremantle are a better side than Essendon and will finish above them on the ladder. We travelled to Perth and beat them easily enough. You were given a right royal reaming by Essendon who were a 15 goal better side than you after quarter time. Essendon are at least an 8 goal inferior side to Hawthorn.

The fact is that you guys should be petrified of Hawthorn, yet like many stupid people, you people continue to bring up last years Preliminary Final as the basis for an erroneous argument that you are the better team. Keep deluding yourselves. I hope that you enjoy the hiding that will be dished up to your overrated mob on Saturday.

You'll disillisional Cryptkeeper. We made the finals in 2005 after butchering 2004 & 2003 with little gas in August and 2006 = JYD gameplan. Last season was no surprise to myself even after Thommo went down. Half the reason the Bombers got better when Lucas went off at quarter time. If you think it takes a full strength team to WIN... oh, well, that's your fancy conclusion.

I'd take 22 contributors or a Champion team theory OVER a team of champions theory PER SAI !!

And FYI, JYD outcoached Big AL in the Semi final.. the players just went out and did what they were instructed whereas your guys have some anger management issues that require attention.

Don't wanna rattle the Hawks... :rolleyes:

This is better. The gloves are finally off for rivalry round.:thumbsu:

But a reminder. Taking the piss is encouaraged but personal abuse from either camp won't be tolerated. If in doubt of what's acceptable, refer to the OP.

Play on.

Oh dear, now you are using pre-season Mickey Mouse games to fuel your argument.:rolleyes:

fuel it? just filling your tank really. You can't expect to be sitting on top without beating an insipid Dee's (y'know even the Doggie's pumped them last week!!) and Freo.. well, I've already told you how ordinary they are.

You've beaten two shit sides. One who wouldn't beat a VFL side. The second not convincingly and they're crap. And petrified of Hawforn? Hahaha.

You're frontrunners. Move on.

You've beaten two shit sides. One who wouldn't beat a VFL side. The second not convincingly and they're crap. And petrified of Hawforn? Hahaha.

We may have beaten two shit sides but you have only beaten one shit side and been spanked by another shit side. This therefore makes you the third in a trilogy of shit sides that we will have played this season.

We will have beaten three shit sides by 4.45PM Saturday.

We may have beaten two shit side but you have only beaten one shit side and been spanked by another shit side. This therefore makes you the third in a trilogy of shit sides that we will have played this season.

We will have beaten three shit teams by 4.45PM Saturday.

I'll say it again, this time with jam on the spoon since you're obviously a little kid who struggles to comprehend anything;

You're frontrunners, move on. :thumbsu:

We may have beaten two shit sides but you have only beaten one shit side and been spanked by another shit side. This therefore makes you the third in a trilogy of shit sides that we will have played this season.

We will have beaten three shit sides by 4.45PM Saturday.

Couple of simple questions for you.

1) Why is last year's final such a bad argument to use? How exactly have you improved since then and in what areas?

2) When was the last time you have beaten us by more than 5 goals to make us petrified by you?

3) Do you honestly hold your team in the same regard as Geelong?

Now I can honestly say that Hawthorn is a favourite to win this game, and rightly so. They seem to be in form early this season whereas we still have a lot of blokes who are yet to get into their seasons so to speak. Fair enough. But that's no reason to be scared of Hawthorn. We still have a decent chance of winning the game IMO, as player by player our team stacks up very well against yours. Your players may have been in better form in the first week or two, but we can improve from last week and probably will.

I am actually really looking forward to this game against the so called main challengers to Geelong after round...2...:D

Why do you keep throwing in the "we were missing key players" bit? What makes you think we have any interest in that?Aren't you? :confused:

Then what was the business about "Especially since North have only played Essendon & Richmond"?

Fremantle are garbage. But if you want to gloss that performance up, and you weren't that convincing anyway, you go for it. I won't stand in your way. :thumbsu:
whatever, i'm bored

More showboaters @ Hawthorn than 1%er players. North on the otherhand have many 1%er's and far less showboaters..

Wouldn't be ironic if Thommo flexed muscle again this week?? :D

Hope a speedy recovery for Croad. I saw the incident on cable.. just tackled Neitz and big Dave's body weight just crushed Croad's forearm. Ouch!!

whatever, i'm bored

what kind of insipid comeback is that?? that's laughable.. even a give away that you have NOTHING.. jocks down.. and it sure doesn't smell good either.

Hope a speedy recovery for Croad. I saw the incident on cable.. just tackled Neitz and big Dave's body weight just crushed Croad's forearm. Ouch!!

Cheers mate :thumbsu:.

Serious question but do you guys thing Harris can compete with Mitchell? He's not a bad little player but he's a few levels below Mitchell which may prove important in the outcome of the game...

Cheers mate :thumbsu:.

Serious question but do you guys thing Harris can compete with Mitchell? He's not a bad little player but he's a few levels below Mitchell which may prove important in the outcome of the game...

Harro is grossly underated. That's all. Mitchell looks fab when he isn't in traffic and has better free flow disposal on the run but if getting the HARD ball is the job between the two, I'd back in our terrier that isn't reknown for his fancy play in the open. The media can talk up Mitchell all they like, two levels, four levels... we don't care. Let the BIG H dictate the winner of prime extractor.

I'm sure you'll enjoy, appreciate the rivalry even more now.
Cheers

Meh.. Harro has never been soundly beaten by Mitchell

Mitchell get's more stats, that doesn't mean he's a more productive player with those

Fremantle isn't a shit side, especially at home.

They pushed Collingwood at home - which is no easy feet for a WA club, and were one of the favourites for the flag in preseason betting. Winning a game in 30+ degree heat in front of their support base can never be taken lightly.

Interstate travel for Victorian clubs has improved over the last few years, but its still bloody rare

Couple of simple questions for you.

1) Why is last year's final such a bad argument to use? How exactly have you improved since then and in what areas?

We've got a more complete forward line now

In the past clubs like North have picked us off easily if we miss a target in the forward line because Buddy was the only forward prepared to really take the backman on, now we've got Rioli and Stokes down there we can now compete on the carpet.

Look at the Semi Final, you destroyed us on the rebound.

2) When was the last time you have beaten us by more than 5 goals to make us petrified by you?

Football changes so quickly from year to year, 12 months ago most clubs would have marked North down as a guarnteed win in their preseason projections...fast forward 9 months and you finished 3rd.

Neither Hawthorn or North can draw on last year ahead of this game, the football landscape changes too quickly to do that. With that said, I doubt if we do win, we'll win by more then 4-5 goals.

3) Do you honestly hold your team in the same regard as Geelong?

Probably a peg or 2 below it with a bunch of other clubs...I do think we're one of the few teams that has the potential to lift to a competitive level against them over the coming 12-18 months.

Fremantle isn't a shit side, especially at home.

They pushed Collingwood at home - which is no easy feet for a WA club, and were one of the favourites for the flag in preseason betting. Winning a game in 30+ degree heat in front of their support base can never be taken lightly.

Interstate travel for Victorian clubs has improved over the last few years, but its still bloody rare

I agree. Winning interstate in WA in the heat is no easy fete. Too bad some obnoxious Hawthorn supporters that come along and think North losing to Ess in R1 defines our club yet can't have anything of substance to contribute when other meaningful games are discussed.. and mind you, Corey Jones, didn't play in the SF last season.. I bet most of you Hawker fans forgot who did the damage in front of goals in Tassie last season??

Round 3, 2008 vs Hawthorn. The 'Rivalry Round' Thread (officially approved by Giantroo)