Review Round 3, 2017: Williamstown v Box Hill Hawks, 30 April 2017, 2.00pm @ Burbank Oval

Female boundary commentator mentioned his appearance, and the commentators in the box decided to use it as a running gag every time his name was mentioned.

Wow. Really thought there would be a better story than that. Probably underlines the poor quality of the call

From Box Hill twitter:

Disposals: Morrison 29 (14 marks), O'Rourke 28 (5 clearances), Mirra 26 (8 rebound 50s), Willsmore 25 (6 inside 50s), Henderson 22

Goals: Vickery 3, Henderson 2, Schoenmakers, Hams, Fitzpatrick, Lewis, Stewart, Miles, Lane, Duryea

Can think of no reason not to play JOR and Morrison next week.

Things like that really s#*t me, why bother to get a female in your commentary team if you are going to basically reduce all her comments to who she thinks are the hottest players?
Imagine what she thinks about Shoenmakers hey Bumps!
Ooooh Shoey :heartribbon:

Ok in what was a perfect day down at willi hardly any wind for 3 qtrs.
Box Hill played a strong second half to come away with the win.

JOR after starting well in that 1st qtr was tagged in the second. Whitey who was also good in the first wasn't sighted. Cousins and stewart were playing forward and really hadn't done much. This led to an almost complete dominance by the Willi midfield. We were just hanging on really with Mirra and Morrison keeping us in it. Henderson wouldn't like to go over the tapes of the first half of this game he was putrid. Fumbles, dropped marks, footsteps etc...

Box hill had an extended stay indoors at the half and came out and hardly had a warm up. Whatever was said worked. They gradually worked their way into the contest. O'Rourke getting into it along with Dallas. All the while Harry Morrison Mirra and Heatherley who played much better in the second half put in a much better defensive performance. Come the last qtr and cousins and whitex joining O'Rourke on ball we romped away with the win . I must say much to my astonishment and a couple of others beside me.

I make no bones about saying that Morrison in my opinion was too slow to be able to impact at AFL level watching him today i have to say he has changed my mind. I need to see him at AFL level to see if his abilities transfer. Well done Harry great game especially in that First half and 2nd qtr when everyone else was crumbling around you. So composed great field kick and good overhead and courageous.

O'Rourke hmmm i think he needs another week. Played well got his hands on it but needs another full game before we unleash him

Pitt didn't play the second half will he play this week? or is he injured? We also lost Teia miles in the third after a heavy clash being two down on the bench and still running over the top of them was a great win. Congratulations box hill on your resilience and willingness to turn things around when things weren't going well for you. On to next week

Actually made the trek down to Williamstown today for my first Box Hill game ever. Guess I was desperate for something to cheer me up from yesterday's terrible effort. It was a pretty nice day down there, cold and a bit of wind as you would expect, but good conditions for football.

Wasn't much to cheer about in the first half as Box Hill were getting well beaten at the stoppages and it was probably only Williamstown's inaccuracy that kept us within striking distance at half time. We started with a very tall forward line with Vickery at fullforward with Schoey and Fitzpatrick also down there, along with Mitchell Lewis at times.

Pitto didn't appear after half time, and I think it gave our team a better balance with Fitzpatrick moved into the ruck with Vickery going in there a little as well.

We completely lifted after half time across the board and kicked 3 or 4 goals to 1 in the 3rd quarter against a slight breeze which set up the game and then cruised home for a very nice win in the end.

I'll try and give my best summary for the Hawthorn listed players below:

Conor Glass - Was very quiet, actually has some decent size about him and isn't as skinny as I thought he would be. But he didn't get a lot of it.

Kurt Heatherley -
I thought he did pretty well for his first game back after injury, was out bodied a few times by Cordy. Our backline was under a lot of pressure in the first half and I thought he stood up quite well. Love his attack on the ball and seems to be pretty good at killing the high ball and good closing speed.

Taylor Duryea -
Was ok, lifted in the 2nd half and took a nice mark near the end of the game and kicked a goal. Played mainly in defence, but seemed to move up to the wing and half forward after 3 quarter time.

Teia Miles -
Was pretty quiet, seemed to playing in defence early and then moved forward after half time which got him more involved in the game. Didn't see him in the last quarter.

Harry Morrison -
Was actually very impressed with Morrison. Seems like an old head on young shoulders. Was probably our most creative defender and seem pretty composed with ball in hand and made good decisions. Don't think body wise he is up for senior football yet, but was encouraging from what I saw.

Dallas Willsmore -
Played on the wing, half forward and half back at times. Used the ball ok, and is a very penetrating kick. Like the others, he lifted after half time.

Kade Stewart -
Liked Stewart's game, things seem to happen when he is around. Didn't get heaps of it, but loved his pressure, his tackling is first rate. Spent a bit of time in the middle and also forward and kicked a goal in the first quarter from a free kick.

Ricky Henderson -
Henderson was disappointing early, but lifted as the game went on. Played on the wing most of the game, but got forward and kicked a few nice goals, I think both coming in the 2nd half. Was one of our bests.

Ryan Schoenmakers
- Schoey was good today, very clean. Had more space to work with after half time when Pittonet went off and Fitz went in the ruck. Kicked a nice goal in the 3rd quarter and was inches from a 2nd in the last quarter. He had good hands and was used more of a centre half forward leading up to the wings and did pretty well.

Brendan Whitecross
- Was ok, good leadership, very vocal, always pointing and encouraging players.

Jack Fitzpatrick -
Bit quieter today than past weeks, did crash the packs and kicked a goal in the last, butchered another which he should have kicked. We seemed to get more clearances when he was moved in the ruck mainly due to his 2nd efforts rather than actual hit-outs.

Ty Vickery
- Ty was pretty good, kicked 2 in the first quarter from set shots and then another in the 3rd. Probably could have kicked another 1 or 2 if players had of hit him. I remember a couple of times in the 3rd quarter when he was in space, but players either didn't see him or couldn't execute the pass. Played mainly at full forward and only a couple of times in the ruck which I was a bit surprised about.

Marc Pittonet -
Was beaten early in the ruck and was pretty quiet, didn't come back on after half time, but not sure what the injury was.

Jonathan O'Rourke -
Seemed to have a lot of attention and played mainly inside mid. Got his hands on it a fair bit, mainly in tight. His disposal wasn't the best, but seemed to play a full four quarters, so I would say he is back to full fitness.

James Cousins -
I really didn't notice him to much, didn't have a lot of influence from what I saw.

Mitchell Lewis -
He is a big kid, very raw. Took a nice mark or two and kicked a lovely goal in the 4th. Seems to have good strong hands, and is a promising type.

For me the couple of players I feel are most deserving of a promotion were probably Schoey, Henderson, O'Rourke and Stewart. Vickery was good also, but with McEvoy and O'Brien doing pretty well the last few weeks, I would think Schoey would be next in line and he is more versatile and Melbourne don't really have genuine ruckman at the moment.

Looking forward to the other reports also, as I said earlier, never been to a box hill game before, so aren't to familiar with many of the players that haven't played for Hawthorn.

One more thing Dave FFin Mirra you are a marvel at this level. Three certainties in life Death Taxes and Dave Mirra playing well for Box Hill. What a wonderful player what a wonderful leader and captain. Cheers mate you made me smile watching you play today and we gave you the loudest chear near the boundary when you made that now trademark hard body spoil.

What an unlikely momentum change that was, from midway through the third. We actually started dominating stoppages, very un-Hawthornlike. They couldn't penetrate our half back line. Newman's brought a new resilience to the group and the spirit is evident.

I'd reiterate Morrison's game, the standout for me. So assured coming off the half back line for a youngster. Hits targets. I guess we need to see if his pace is an issue stepping up a level.

Kind of a frustrating game for Vickery. Grabbed three but he'll kick a bag if the delivery's good. He does step up and take on some leadership out there. Schoey really fired in the last half, more please. Between Vickery, Fitzy, Schoey and even Lewis, there's a lot of tall timber to man up when we're winning the clearances.

Thanks for the report 4P. Really glad Morrison backed up his game from last week which I liked. However like you I had my reservations about his size and speed. He seems to be able to find the footy and use it well. I hope he makes it.
Can you nominate a few who may be considered for promotion based on recent games?

Thanks for the reports all.

Whatever concerns about Morrison's size/speed he has been bloody impressive for a late pick in his first season.

Was cousins playing a different role today? Or has he dropped off a bit from his start?

Can't imagine JOR would be tagged at afl level so may be freed up a lot more if he goes up. How was his defensive work today?

Seems strange to hear Hawks have a lot of talls given our issues last year. Would think shoey and fitzy are a chance for next week given we struggled to make a aerial contest vs the saints.

Some interesting selection decisions for the dees game as appears a few are in form at BH.

Best thing to hear is the spirit/competiveness - makes me think some changes will be made to bring some f this energy to the afl side.

Thanks for the report 4P. Really glad Morrison backed up his game from last week which I liked. However like you I had my reservations about his size and speed. He seems to be able to find the footy and use it well. I hope he makes it.
Can you nominate a few who may be considered for promotion based on recent games?
Hard to say no one really rushing to the front of the queue here mate. Fitzy would be one based on form. O'Rourke well this is his first full game for box hill. I think we need to see him play one more before we consider him. Stewart just doesn't get enough of the ball. Willsmore goes missing when we are struggling to get it. Whitey is the one who is probably the most ready to come in but he also suffers from the gone fishing syndrome in games.

Box Hill are doing well as a team and i thought they were up against it today. Something i did remark at the time its hard to win down at will (i know we did it last year but we aren't the same team). Good on them. Got some spirit and willingness to work hard

Oh Yes i forgot about schoey he was good today i must admit his hands were great and was involved in quite a few of our forward line plays

[B said:
Ryan Schoenmakers [/B]- Schoey was good today, very clean. Had more space to work with after half time when Pittonet went off and Fitz went in the ruck. Kicked a nice goal in the 3rd quarter and was inches from a 2nd in the last quarter. He had good hands and was used more of a centre half forward leading up to the wings and did pretty well.

What's that, he was played in a manner that some believe best suits his style and ability.
And then lo and behold, he plays the role well?
If only AFL football was structured to tailor his abilities, unfortunately the modern game is not that simple anymore.

Three certainties in life Death Taxes and Dave Mirra playing well for Box Hill. What a wonderful player what a wonderful leader and captain. .
David Mirra is the Jamie Siddons of the VFL...

When singing the song had his arm pinned to his chest. Couldn't get it up around his teammate
ahh right ok well he got up and kicked the goal must have done it late in the game then. BY that time i was singing "Daryl Braithwaite"

Review Round 3, 2017: Williamstown v Box Hill Hawks, 30 April 2017, 2.00pm @ Burbank Oval