Autopsy Round 3, 2021: Essendon v St.Kilda *STEELE 100TH* *CLARK 50TH* *CROUCH DEBUT*

yes - watched the game with my parents tonight and said f#ck ive supported this crap for more than 50 years - how can I stop supporting this team ? They luckily were around in 66
( unfortunately I’ve also cursed my kids)
Mate, I have cursed mine too, Dad was around then and was passionate about this club until his passed, but he instilled the loyalty no matter the result.

Optimist coming out in me now. We started the season 4-1 in 2019 to only win another 3 games for the rest of the year.
Brisbane that year finished 2nd but lost to Essendon by 47 points and Collingwood 62 points in consecutive rounds (4 & 5).

Sydney have started a season 0-6 only to make finals that same year. Let’s hope it’s just a due to having too many new players in the team and they’re getting used to playing with each other.

that’s the only positive I can think of.

Ok, we have a fair bit of reflecting to do. We know our players have some class, if they didn't we wouldn't have won a final last year.
We know our coaches are good, otherwise we wouldn't have won a final last year. Yes last year was different, but so is every year. I'm backing the boys ang girls of the club to turn it around. We have the cattle, we have the musterers. We can get to the destination. We just need a small reset. We can salvage this. It's a small river crossing on a long journey, but we will get there.

Have faith my friends, ive often wondered why I have donated alot of time and money to this club, even though I may have needed it for something else, but its because I'm a saint at heart. I believe we can do this.

We're an unsettled line up, last year we had a settled line up and we working like a well oiled machine.

Paton out and now we're chopping and changing in the backline with Highmore, Long and McKenzie.

Our ruck set up is a shambles with Hunter, McKernan and Carlisle, then we bring in Crouch and Jones into the midfield.

Our forward line with Higgins thrown in there and now Wood.

Is it any wonder we aren't connecting as a team, you can't just throw different players in and expect them to connect as a team.

Our team looks good on paper but if that team hasn't played together for enough games it looks like a rabble and that's what we were today.

Some of these posts should be read out in a team meeting. Not because we necessarily know what we're talking about in terms of game plan, or selection, or coaching but just so they can see how much this effort hurts. How ashamed it makes you feel to be a Saints supporter sometimes.
I think we have forgotten some of the worst losses over the years but this one almost feels like the worst I can remember in recent history.

Play Dunstan. I don’t even care if he’s shit because at least he puts in the ****ing effort, can’t be said about the 21 other ****ing pea hearts.

Coffield looked great at times last year, this year he looks shot. Dumb shit over and over.

Don’t let Dougal take kick ins for f*** sake, unless he’s going to run 15m and roost it 60m. None of this chip ****ing 15m and turn it over.

There was 1 play Essendon had the ball streaming forward on a wing, at the bottom of the screen I could see Jones almost at a walk, f****** disgusting.

Max king, ****ing lead champ. This is the AFL not ****ing under 18’s where you at too big and strong. Play in front not ****ing behind every time.

Don’t reckon I’ve seen a player lay a sheppard for there team mate all ****ing year.

Play Battle as a key back or get him the f*** out of the team.

Hill. If he’s not dropped next week I’m out. Putrid and ****ing soft.

1 player above 18 touches today, beyond ****ing embarrassing.

Shit stain of a club

Some of these posts should be read out in a team meeting. Not because we necessarily know what we're talking about in terms of game plan, or selection, or coaching but just so they can see how much this effort hurts. How ashamed it makes you feel to be a Saints supporter sometimes.
I think we have forgotten some of the worst losses over the years but this one almost feels like the worst I can remember in recent history.

If anything, grab everyone who attended or watched it, all week at Moorabbin just have them air grievances during training sessions.

Over the fence, in the weights room, around the joint.

Work the body, work the mind and if you can't stand the heat, you know where the doors are to piss off and cry like the bitches you'd be.

Do you really think the players care

Bombers had 443 disposals and we laid 32 tackles. That’s a tackle every 13.85 disposals.

Saints had 326 disposals and Bombers laid 54 tackles. That’s a tackle every 6 disposals.

That is one of the worst discrepancies for a losing side you’ll ever see. Even North went at a tackle every 8 disposals against the dogs. The dogs went at 7.

Sums up the effort perfectly. One team wanted it while the other watched on.

Don’t let Dougal take kick ins for f*** sake, unless he’s going to run 15m and roost it 60m. None of this chip ******* 15m and turn it over.
Every other team seems to have adjusted to the kick ins but us.

Why do we still go short or sideways when at worst we could kick to a 50/50 in the middle of the ground?

WTF has happened to Coffield? The guy has fallen off a cliff this season. I know he's not the only one, but the others are all mainly ring-is, and contract stuffers...and therefore you expect their ceiling is near reached, but Coff had serious scope to be near elite...it's disappointing.
Playing him as a key defender for some reason

We recruited a back-pocket in the first round, hence the ridiculous expectation.

Have been expecting him to become a Sean Dempster when it took Sean Dempster 5 seasons+ to become the Sean Dempster we think of when we hear the name 'Sean Dempster'.

Gresh out for the year is the worst outcome from tonight. That hurts, poor bloke.

Dunstan in? Bytel in?

Bytel they'll go with, Dunny hasn't had a look in for a couple years and no reason they'll tap that well when they have Dmac in.

I'm also not expecting wholesale changes, they're not that sort of team.

You cant tackle the opposition when theyre doing a traing drill. They exposed how slow we are on the spread. This thing is deeper than that we just dont have the cattle. Last year was an anomoly. Due to teams not dealing with the hub. We embraced it and the results showed. Now its back too an even playing field you can see how poor our list is. Coffield is a horrible footballer craps his pants under pressure. Which is a symptom of the last 9 years these players cant handle pressure or respond to it. Anyway bomb it long

Coffield has serious talent as does Clark.

I want you to look at this if you will,

How many clubs can develop youth properly? Fremantle found FOUR good players or should i say developed them properly. West Coast have done well in this area. Richmond nailed it. The majority of clubs are a fail with Carlton leading the way. It's really disappointing how our three are going. Ones out for the year breaking his leg and the other two have gone backwards in form. St Kilda as a club has to take responsibility.

Why is Coffield and Clark underperforming? I don't know the answer. Club needs to sort this out.

Autopsy Round 3, 2021: Essendon v St.Kilda *STEELE 100TH* *CLARK 50TH* *CROUCH DEBUT*