Review Round 3 = Collingwood 72-73 Brisbane

People are praising the Lions because they had to stay in Victoria for an extra week.Try playing the whole season interstate like the Victorian clubs did last year,and come back to me then.

How he coughed up that sitter 25 out is beyond words would have iced the game

He’s had a season to forget. I think there is a place in the team for a few faces. Cal is certainly going to frustrate if he gets a gig next week too.

People are praising the Lions because they had to stay in Victoria for an extra week.Try playing the whole season interstate like the Victorian clubs did last year,and come back to me then.

What the f? Who is?? That’s laughable.

And Elliott is better when marking the ball.

We don’t have any pressure crumbing quick smalls for when it hits the deck. Most decent sides have a couple.

Hine really needs to be moved on.

Bring in McCreery, pressure small forward who kicks goals, bring in McCrae ,gonna be a gem OUt that little kid who wears 17 , think he was selected for the little league at half time, Hoskin Elliott out, Do you have the grandi palle Bucks!

What the f? Who is?? That’s laughable.
I’ve heard a few people say it,and there was even a 7 A.F.L tweet about them being away from their families for a week,as if that was a terrible obstacle for them to overcome.

A couple of areas we could improve

With the margin less than 1 goal don’t run the click down with 2 minutes remaining. Even more so when you haven’t been able to maintain possession of the footy or lock it in leading up to those two minutes. Also if you do look to run it down take the short option; thought Moore should home quickly to the other pocket when we went back to their goal square.

Cox and DeGoey need to lead to different areas, so their opponent isn’t drawn to the aerial contest. Marvel with it’s shallower pockets isn’t ideal, but it’s something we could still have done better.

Seriously watch the First Crack talk about hit outs and ruckman.

At the moment hitouts, even hitouts to advantage, is a useless stat and has absolutely no bearing on the result of the game.

Unfortunately for us our highest paid player happens to be a ruckman.

Seriously you and the small amount of posters who keep rinse and repeating the same rubbish sound worse than bucks in being a broken record. It’s old, nobody gives a flying shit you think he’s a waste of money because as he showed tonight and for years he’s not and he’s arguably our best player. You even have the perseverance to call him out when he was colossus for us and nobody was close to being Bog compared to him. Jog on

I think JDG was crook. Watching him at the ground, he had no zip, no energy, seemed flat. The 'sniffles' of earlier in the week maybe. He just didnt look right.

Well he did have Sniffles on Monday

I think JDG was crook. Watching him at the ground, he had no zip, no energy, seemed flat. The 'sniffles' of earlier in the week maybe. He just didnt look right.

Yes he another player were reported to have the sniffles during the week.

Seriously you and the small amount of posters who keep rinse and repeating the same rubbish sound worse than bucks in being a broken record. It’s old, nobody gives a flying sh*t you think he’s a waste of money because as he showed tonight and for years he’s not and he’s arguably our best player. You even have the perseverance to call him out when he was colossus for us and nobody was close to being Bog compared to him. Jog on

If you bothered to listen to Bucks press conference you’d actually realise he said his hit out domination counted for bugger all too.

I love Mihochek, he has pleasantly exceeded all my expectations but how many times did he slip tonight while streaming into the forward fifty and kick it straight to the opposition.....3 or 4 times, costly!
Same. I love Checkers but it happened on 4 occasions tonight.

Had a shocker.

Wow so the press conference Bucks has said Grundys hitouts are a furphy(irrelevant). Yet West Coast thrive of Nic Nats hit outs. I would tend to think our coaches can't coach to maximise a dominant ruck, what a major cop out i am shocked
You misinterpreted.

WC aren't anything special in terms of clearances, either are Melbourne (Gawn) but they have big HO numbers.

As what happens in coaches spend all week analysing the preferred HO zones of Gawn and they set up to shark taps instead of win their own.

What made Grundy so good back in 18-19, was that he was our best clearance player...and top 15 in the league in 2019. Grundy himself avg more clearances that guys like the Bont, Sloane, Damgerfield etc.

He was an extra midfielder for us, he looked much better covering the ground tonight...a big positive.

Buckley's point was that HOs themselves are a pretty irrelevant stat, they are simply easy to record, but no link to actually winning games of footy.

What makes Grundy such a good player is what he actually gives us at the stoppage in totality, not just HOs.

You misinterpreted.

WC aren't anything special in terms of clearances, either are Melbourne (Gawn) but they have big HO numbers.

As what happens in coaches spend all week analysing the preferred HO zones of Gawn and they set up to shark taps instead of win their own.

What made Grundy so good back in 18-19, was that he was our best clearance player...and top 15 in the league in 2019. Grundy himself avg more clearances that guys like the Bont, Sloane, Damgerfield etc.

He was an extra midfielder for us, he looked much better covering the ground tonight...a big positive.

Buckley's point was that HOs themselves are a pretty irrelevant stat, they are simply easy to record, but no link to actually winning games of footy.

What makes Grundy such a good player is what he actually gives us at the stoppage in totality, not just HOs.

Yep.

Sandilands used to flog other ruckman in hitouts and hitouts to advantage, but it never eventuated into improved clearance numbers for his midfielders.

Being crook doesn’t mean you play for frees all night and struggle to put your head over the footy. He just skirts packs like a seagull waiting for a chip. Pathetic

I think Grundy needs to grab the ball out of the ruck more often when he is that physically dominant. Even our clearances were rushed and on the backfoot from midway through the second.

Need to just get more forward momentum at times and not try to execute the perfect play all the time.

Our Achilles heel is our forward 50 entry.
Has been for a few years now.

Mayne played well but definitely should have stayed off and given McCreery a run.

How long can we persist with WHE, he did a lovely lace out in the first to set up a goal. But struggle to see what else tonight.

Had a few down on their usual output tonight as well.

Best for mine Grundy, Pendles, Daicos, Noble, Howe, also thought Roughead was solid too.

Need to try new things and give some opportunities to some newbies.

Elliot out is a major hole and can’t see who brings what he does. JDG needs to put together some better more consistent performances together too.

it's pretty normal for him, he'll have 1 great game then spend the next 2 flopping all over the place and trying to bust through every tackle to be the hero and he does nothing.

Been that way for 3 years now