Toast Round 3 = Collingwood 81-37 St Kilda

Rate this, especially Grundy’s ability to make smart changes. I’ve thought for a long time that Ryder was his kryptonite. Ryder’s leap has troubled Grundy in the past, especially at centre bounces. Grundy adapted really well and worked hard at most centre bounces to get himself around the circle to meet Ryder before he had a chance to jump.

Really well recognised and amended by the big man, took Ryder’s weapon away.

EDIT- sorry, didn’t really read your whole comment lol. I pretty much re-capped what you already said haha.
I was surprised the fox commentators didn't mention it as it had a pretty big impact on the outcome. Good to know I wasn't the only one to notice.

I thought he was solid the whole game. His pace and repeat efforts were really significant in forcing the Saints to chip the footy around in our F50 which in turn led to a few scoring opportunities.
Agreed. I just didn't take so much note of his second half performance not helped by the stream dropping out for 10 minutes. But I thought he was really important in attack in the first half. He is a tenacious little player and elusively quick.

We have actually done well out of the 2 father son deals after initially questioning if we had made a mistake. For those of us who witnessed their fathers in action, they give us a connection with history, an important link with the past, having the sons of three champions playing in the one team.

I know we have just gotten used to it, but Grundy was amazing.

He went up against 2 decent ruckmen and beat them easily.

Saints : 22 disposals, 28 HO, 4M, 6 Tackles, 2 CL.

Grundy : 20 disposals, 31 HO, 5M, 4 Tackles, 3 CL. 78% TOG.

He’s a God.

Pretty important player eh?
He's the most imposing ruckman I've seen in my time following the Pies. Keep it up big Brodes!

Whether we like it or not, the premiership will have an asterix on it.

I'd like to see us go for it, but I think everyone deep down knows this season has been compromised and winning the premiership this year won't feel the same compared to previous years.
I wouldn't give a fat rat's clacker about an asterix!

How many flags have we been dudded on? Bloody Wayne Harmes, John Greening getting felled, having to sticky tape defenders together in 2018 only to have the runner get in the way, Phil Carman going for a punch on... I'd rather win one we perhaps oughtn't than to patiently wait our turn. At least if it had an asterix next to it it wouldn't be for outright cheating like the tankers in 1995... it would be circumstances outside the control of everyone on the planet!

Really solid performance by the group this afternoon. The defense feels like a proper wall at the moment, the anvil on which we hammer the opposition into submission. We made the Saints look toothless going forward and full credit goes to our defensive accountability, pressure and the ability of that back 6 to nullify the opposition. Pendles continues to amaze, Adams has grown from clearance beast to all round strong contributor and Sidebum looks like he's flying at the moment. Of the young brigade, the Browns, Daicos and Wills played their part really well and I really like what they offer.

Whilst if would have been nice to press on with the beat down, we did what we needed to get the points and give the guys a bit of a rest as the game wound down.

I thought he was solid the whole game. His pace and repeat efforts were really significant in forcing the Saints to chip the footy around in our F50 which in turn led to a few scoring opportunities.
I reckon he's becoming very good. Just so balanced and agile. They can't pin him in a tackle. Needs to get front and centre more though. I find his positioning odd But maybe he's positioning for defensive reasons.

Great win by the boys. The win was put to bed un a 10 minute period of the 3rd quarter, we then just went through the motions for the remainder of the 2nd half.
Pendles gets better with age, unbelievable he still looks a class above others on the ground after 15 years!!
Sidey brilliant, and the same as Pendles, keeps getting better with age...
Adams is having a blinder of a season so far, probably leading the Copeland easily at the moment...
Great to have Stephenson back, just makes the forward line so much better.
Would like to see more from DeGoey, just a bit off it at the moment, hopefully it all comes together for him against GWS.

I keep suggesting a bloke called Mason Cox and many on this board find that unfathomable.
You do realise the poster said dominant key forward. Someone of the ilk of a Lynch or Cameron.

Not a tall guy with hands of brick and gets pushed off the ball too easy.

Anyhow good win today. Blitzing first half, second was so so, overall happy with it.

It would be a shame if this group don't win a flag . Best list of players since 2018,
I think if we can keep refining this team, we could end up talking about them in the same conversation as our 2011 side! Shame that we haven't much in the way of key forwards because I love this list and think it has so much potential. I think we will look back on the pain and frustration of 2013 - 2017 as a stepping stone to us creating a sustainably good football department like Hawthorn, Sydney and Geelong.

I think you underrate our kicking side at times mate. We have improved dramatically the last couple of years imo.

Yeah why aren't we talking more about that ? I was not too long ago resigned to the fact that we would always be a mongrel grunt side, but we have somehow transformed into a team that is very capable of playing a very slick possession style: almost hawthorn-esque. When we get that going to full effect it almost looks like we can do no wrong, credit to the club for turning that around.

Tyler’s step and goal was Pendlebury like
The club has on multiple occasion talked Tyler up (far more then his brother Cal) even when he was stuck in the reserves. I am very very excited to see what we might have if he realises his potential, the Nat Fyfe comparisons the club like to make.. that's a bold statement for us to make and it would be unusual for our somewhat secretive football department to make if we didn't truly believe it.

Very impressed with the pressure we imposed on the ball carrier. It was very reminiscent of the way we played in 2018. I hope this is the norm going forward. Last year, I felt like we regressed in this area as we opted to play more like the Eagles with their chip kicking game style which won them the flag in 2018.

The inclusion of Stephenson benefited the team greatly. He looked great in the first quarters and questions will manifest in why he didn't play against the Tigers last week. He could have been the difference in the result.

Grundy was excellent after some doubts over his fitness during the week. We won the clearances (32-21) and he nullified the influence both Marshall and Ryder had on the game.

Looking forward to when Cox and Treloar return to the team. I think Cameron and Wills are the weak links in the team.
Good call. I'm not sure if you or others noticed, but today we seemed to use handball a lot more then we have in the last 12 months? That for me, is the 2018 brand: lots of running, lots of handball. Forward momentum and pressure, much like Richmond. The much improved foot skills a cheeky bonus.

A lot of criticism of Cameron. I agree he didn't have a great game, and it wont surprise me to see Cox replace him next week if fit.

But im not writing Cameron off that quick. He's shown he can take a good contested mark (against Richmond). Its only his third (or fourth?) senior game of AFL, he can get better. I want to see more of him yet.

Sidebottom & Pendlebury were again magnificent. Simply superb.

Adams, Crisp, Maynard, Grundy & Howe were also all excellent. Thought Tyler Brown contributed nicely, too.

Phillips/Mayne/C.Brown all relatively poor. But we carried them well enough.

Great win overall,

Toast Round 3 = Collingwood 81-37 St Kilda