Round 3 The Sydney Swans vs. The Richmond Tigers

Jeez you guys are respectful for opposition supporters :thumbsu: Really like this new attacking swans outfit. Good on ya.

Anyway with regards to the game, really not holding any hopes of a mircale win. Think last time we beat you was all those years ago (2005?), and that was on the back of a brilliant Richo performance.

Interestingly last week, despite being thumped on the scoreboard against the dogs we won the clearances. Again this will be important this week (if we want to be any chance) as we know the Swans play alot of stoppage grind down footy.

Just with a few matchups: Our tall backs did alright against the dogs - again we got smacked by smalls and medium forwards. Assuming King will be dropped for Polo, so hopefully he can do a job on McGlynn seeming though he tore it up last week.

Our problem with the Swans (and there are a few!) is obviously who will/can contain Goodes. Really dont have anyone who has the athletic capability and height to go with him around the ground. Maybe McGuane will be told to run with him all day swapping over with... ?

Realistically i think the Swans are about a 3 goal worse side than the dogs. The 12 goal win to the dogs i think is a pretty good indication of the gulf between us. Therefore i think you guys should do us pretty comfortably by 8 goals or so. Important thing for us to keep our structure right, pressure up, keep working on the basic skills and not be too worried about what the scoreboard says at the end of the day.

Anyway, we saw how close the Demons came against the Pies... so any team on its day can cause a boilover. I guess we will see on Saturday.

Oh and SOPHCROSS, this one is for you -
Trent-Cotchin-6324283.jpg

;)

I liked your post until the picture.

Goodes was unbelievable in this game last year so hopefully he does the same. Richmond need to stop ROK and McVeigh through the middle. McGlynn will be up and down throughout the season but we know his effort will always be 100%.

Lock in the win against richmond...

Deledio, Cotchin and Dustin are like there three best players... LOL

Deledio is a a fish in a VERY small pond haha
Cotchin will probably do a hammy or somthing (poor guy :( )
and Dustin is like 18 haha

LOCK IT IN EDDIE :D:D:D

The Tiges unlike other teams actually have 3 semi-genuine options to play on our 3 big forwards in Moore, Thursfield and McGuane. McGuane was quite good against the Dogs and Thursfield was servicable against Baz. Didn't notice much of Moore, though he seems to have gone backwards since a year or 2 ago when i thought he was really coming along.

I reckon we will see something like:

Thursfield - Bradshaw
Moore - Goodes
McGuane - White
King - McGlynn (cannot wait to see it if it comes about)

No Changes but Jesse White needs to kick 3-4 goals this week. Dropping simple marks and taking on 2-3 players and getting caught. Needs to step up. Tipping a 80+ win. Bradshaw to kick 6 and our defence keeping them to 5-6 goals

This is EFFING DAFT.

The lad dropped a chest mark FFS.
And we dooooo want him taking on 2 or 3 players so the rest of the BLOODS cannn run free !!!
I cannot recall him getting pinged for htb at all against the Crowbots, correct me if I am wrong - someone.
Look at his round 1 to round 2 games, he issss stepping up FFS.

His role at the moment is drawing a defender up the Bloods paddock to create space in the forward fifty so the likes of McGlynn can stroll around with Pimms in hand like the effing Poms did at Gallipoli and recieve all the plaudits.
The JESSEALENKO is doing just dandy.:diamond:

Yeh many of us thought the same, loved what he did with his move into the forward line. Which some of us were calling long and hard for!

He looked to be in direct competition with Moore for the last spot through HF and Moore won out and has been great so far this year. Bevo i think has kicked 3 in each 2's game so far so at least he is doing well in the reserves.

I liked your post until the picture.

Goodes was unbelievable in this game last year so hopefully he does the same. Richmond need to stop ROK and McVeigh through the middle. McGlynn will be up and down throughout the season but we know his effort will always be 100%.

Definately need to stop Goodes, McVeigh plus not allow the Swans to easily rebound of half back with users like Kenelly, Shaw and Malceski. That has been one of our major issues so far - opposition clearing the D50 far too easily.

The Tiges unlike other teams actually have 3 semi-genuine options to play on our 3 big forwards in Moore, Thursfield and McGuane. McGuane was quite good against the Dogs and Thursfield was servicable against Baz. Didn't notice much of Moore, though he seems to have gone backwards since a year or 2 ago when i thought he was really coming along.

I reckon we will see something like:

Thursfield - Bradshaw
Moore - Goodes
McGuane - White
King - McGlynn (cannot wait to see it if it comes about)

Look, against a team with no real monster forwards our talls are OK. Problem is, being in between defenders (i think Thursfield is our tallest at 191cm) when we do come up against forward lines with height (eg. round 1 where Waite, O'Halipan and Henderson were all 195cm +) we struggle big time as we just dont have the height. They are all third defender type height.

Conversely when these guys go against the smaller type forwards again, we dont have the agility to go with them. And with our small defender options: King (Tryer, who is not AFL grade), Polo (actually ok), Edwards (too light) and Farmer (still too early to judge) at the minute are just severly outclassed by the opposition they go against.

To start, Id have the back half matchups like this:
- Thursfield on Bradshaw
- McGuane on Goodes (and to follow him)
- Moore on White
- Farmer/McGlynn and Polo/ROK (or vice versa)

Definately need to stop Goodes, McVeigh plus not allow the Swans to easily rebound of half back with users like Kenelly, Shaw and Malceski. That has been one of our major issues so far - opposition clearing the D50 far too easily.

Look, against a team with no real monster forwards our talls are OK. Problem is, being in between defenders (i think Thursfield is our tallest at 191cm) when we do come up against forward lines with height (eg. round 1 where Waite, O'Halipan and Henderson were all 195cm +) we struggle big time as we just dont have the height. They are all third defender type height.

Conversely when these guys go against the smaller type forwards again, we dont have the agility to go with them. And with our small defender options: King (Tryer, who is not AFL grade), Polo (actually ok), Edwards (too light) and Farmer (still too early to judge) at the minute are just severly outclassed by the opposition they go against.

To start, Id have the back half matchups like this:
- Thursfield on Bradshaw
- McGuane on Goodes (and to follow him)
- Moore on White
- Farmer/McGlynn and Polo/ROK (or vice versa)

great input..:thumbsu:
I would have thought you would bring in a bigger body like Tuck, or a tough player like Rance whats goin on with those guys? Should be walk up starts for your mob. Hows Cuz's knee is he gonna get up for this game? Tambling looked very good and as you say you guys won the clearances which surprised me, also did well to hold Hall.

great input..:thumbsu:
I would have thought you would bring in a bigger body like Tuck, or a tough player like Rance whats goin on with those guys? Should be walk up starts for your mob. Hows Cuz's knee is he gonna get up for this game? Tambling looked very good and as you say you guys won the clearances which surprised me, also did well to hold Hall.

Cuz was on Melbourne radio this morning and said he SHOULD be fine to take on the Swans as it was only a slight medial ligament strain. I think he will miss to be honest (however there are rumors going around that it has nothing to do with his knee..).

Your'e right about Rance. At 193 or so cms he is our tallest and has a massive body (there's another one for you to gawk at SOPH_CROSS ;)). At the minute, he doesn't have the skills to be in the team... and thats saying something due to the skills we have been currently displaying! Needs to build up a little bit more confidence at Coburg, no reason to rush him in.

Re Tuck: Agree 100%. Not sure why he isn't being played at the moment. Only thing i can think of is Hardwick wants to see how the youngsters go because Tuck probably won't be part of our extended future.

Personally in the midfield i think we are doing okay. I would like to see Tuck playing as a hit up forward - being 190 or so cms, big body and can actually kick at goal accurately. Another forward option and of course then he could get his hands dirty in the midfield when required.

My thoughts, but then again i ain't Mr. Hardwick, and im sure has more of an idea of whats going on than i do :)

Cuz was on Melbourne radio this morning and said he SHOULD be fine to take on the Swans as it was only a slight medial ligament strain. I think he will miss to be honest (however there are rumors going around that it has nothing to do with his knee..).

Always rumors, hope he sorts whatever the problem is and gets back to doing what he loves, even half fit he is good to watch...:thumbsu:

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

And now that we are best freinds, please go tell the swans to go easy on the Tiger cubs this weekend :cool:

This is why I like Richmond and their supporters, their supporters crack me up.

I hope we belt you this Saturday night, but I hope you improve by seasons mate. The Tigers do deserve a change of luck, but like I said, not on Saturday night though. :p

This is why I like Richmond and their supporters, their supporters crack me up.

I hope we belt you this Saturday night, but I hope you improve by seasons mate. The Tigers do deserve a change of luck, but like I said, not on Saturday night though. :p

Alright now im doing a complete backflip on my original post. I think we will belt you, and belt you comprehensively... as a matter of fact, i think you will struggle to score......

As the game is being played during the day... so yes i hope the Swans rock up at night, by that time we should already be on the plane home :p

Alright now im doing a complete backflip on my original post. I think we will belt you, and belt you comprehensively... as a matter of fact, i think you will struggle to score......

As the game is being played during the day... so yes i hope the Swans rock up at night, by that time we should already be on the plane home :p

It got moved to a night game.

Need to re-check the fixture XYZ123. :D :p

Sorry mate bad news. Your running off an old fixture this game got moved and is at night.

Clashed with a big race day at Randwick...... Seriously lame 40000 at Randwick and they asked the AFL to move it.

Oh serious... My bad!

Got the old RFC membership fixture infront of me, says Saturday 2:10PM so obviously not updated.

Cheers for that.

Original post re-instated :(

Round 3 The Sydney Swans vs. The Richmond Tigers