Round 3 Trades

I used my first to trades to patch up a bit of a hole in my backline. For some reason (watching the NAB cup) i picked up LRT and Leigh Fisher. When you stop laughing, read on... I just traded those two for Hudgton and Osborne, saved myself about 80k and picked up about 100 points between them the way they have been going.

I didn't want to use any trades. I am riding Dew out because when he eventually plays his third game, he will go up in value.. and i have cyril rioli to come off the bench and play for him. My bench is full of rookies, all bar two have played. They werent the best choices, but they are getting game time so its alright!

Scoring about 2k a week at the moment with midfielders really letting me down

why osbourne is better value? isnt it better to get some1 who is going to go up in value?

Osbourne is not guaranteed to keep his spot in the side, whereas Nathan Jones is. Despite the excess cash you might get through the trade, I personally think Jones has more of an upside and can outscore Osbourne over the course of the season.

If you are intent on trading him, i'd look elsewhere.

Osbourne is not guaranteed to keep his spot in the side, whereas Nathan Jones is. Despite the excess cash you might get through the trade, I personally think Jones has more of an upside and can outscore Osbourne over the course of the season.

If you are intent on trading him, i'd look elsewhere.

who would you get in my situation, i only have 2,100 k and have jones who is doing average, he is going to get smashed this week aswell.

Looking at your options, it looks as though you are quite limited in your choices. I suppose you could take the punt on Osbourne, and if there does come a point where he looks like being dropped and you are unable to cover him or stoops in form you can always trade him because he is going to make you money due to his rise in price.

Only other option would be perhaps to consider Gibbsy or just stick with Jones. But as you said, Jones will struggle to produce big scores in a team that is constantly getting smashed by opponents.

What do you guys reckon

Option 1:
* N Brown - Hill (Hill would be starting)
* Wood to Cox (other rucks are Simmonds,Hampson,Kruezer)
* and then next week with cash Symes - Gilbee/Milburn

Option 2:
*Symes - S Fisher
* N Brown - R O'Keefe
* No cash left to get Gilbee/Milburn but save trade

how big of risk is it, he is going to go up heaps isnt he? he is curently 301,800 how much will he go up. im worried jones will lose heaps of money

I’d like to get people’s thoughts on trading McPhee now (i.e. before Round 3) rather than hold on to what will be a lame duck after the inevitable price depreciation. I’m a Supercoach noob so I’m not familiar with the trading aspect of the game.

McPhee’s starting price was $504,600, reflecting a nominal value of 94 points per game. In the first two rounds he has scored 74 and 59, so he is only scoring at 71 per cent of his nominal value.

I had hoped that McPhee’s move forward and the injury to Lucas would boost his points tally, but he has not been able to put points on the board.

Even if he pulls a 100 this week, his trade value would still only be about $419,300 (a loss of $85,300 on his starting price).

The four players I am considering replacing McPhee with are:

Luke McPharlin ($447,100): 2008 avg 102; 2007 avg 83.4
Bret Thornton ($405,700): 2008 avg 126.5; 2007 avg 76
Jarryd Roughead ($332,600): 2008 avg 112; 2007 avg 62
Michael Osborne ($301,800): 2008 avg 117; 2007 avg 56.3

Both McPharlin and Roughead can move forward and kick goals (as foils for their respective star forwards Pavlich and Franklin) as they have done so far in 2008. Thornton is playing out of his skin as an attacking defender, while Osborne has been playing on the ball.

I am aware of the dangers of trading highly priced underperforming players for cheaper players who have had good starts to the season. However, McPhee’s performances in two games suggest to me that despite finding enough of the footy, he is prone to skill errors and that this will hurt his scores over the course of the season. I have not used any trades at all so far, and this is my only proposed change for this week.

The players I am considering for his spot are all established players (McPharlin and Thornton have each played more than 100 games) who are enjoying rich veins of form. Roughead and Obsorne play in a team which is likely to finish top 4 in 2008, while McPharlin and Thornton play in teams that look set to finish outside the 8 (yet again).

I realise that playing in a team containing Hodge, Crawford and Lewis might hurt Osborne’s scores long term, but his performances so far suggest he has turned the corner and is more confident and settled about his role in the Hawthorn team.

Roughead kicked 40 goals in 2007 and looks set to build upon that in 2008. Top 10 draft pick, only 21, great foil for Buddy.

Thornton is Carlton’s number one defender and has good skills. He was in career-best form against Richmond and followed up against the Saints in Round 2. Having a purple patch.

McPharlin is currently the most expensive of the four but is most likely to pull good scores over the rest of the season. Can take a contested mark, is a good kick and is being played forward by Harvey.

Even if McPhee gels in his new role and starts to put some good scores together, I would not feel overly concerned about using a trade to pick up one of the four players mentioned, pocketing the cash difference and upgrading elsewhere (probably midfield) after a few rounds.

All thoughts/comments/advice appreciated.
Bumping this post because I can't split the four.

McPhee's gotta go but I'm not really interested in N Brown and would rather pick up a season-long defender.

The choices are:

Bret Thornton
Michael Osborne
Jarryd Roughead
Luke McPharlin

In terms of outlook v cost, it's gotta be Roughead, doesn't it? Playing at full forward with Hodge, Lewis, Crawford delivering it to him lace out?

isnt he a backman, i dont no about osbourne i am thinking of trading him for N.Jones

Need help with this trade..

gotta pic one of S Mitchell, L Power or S Goodwin, or someone else of this price range, im looking for a long term option here,a week-in week-out performer and i couldn't give two s**ts about their price fluctuating during the season lol

Help would be appreciated

I had H Taylor as a lock in my side well before r1, thinking the standard Geelong rookie rule would not be applied (as he is mature age), and the fact that he beat some of the leagues best forwards in pre-season (J Brown and Richo to name two).

I was speechless when he wasn't selected for r1, but just as much by Prismall not being selected. I dropped Pris sadly (future champion) but kept Taylor in the hope that when given a chance he would cement his spot.

Last week was a fantastic debut, I just hope the cats don't give him the normal first year treatment (obviously Selwood avoided it in 07). Obviously there is a little more risk in trading him in right now, but he could be one of the gun rookies (from a playing and scoring perspective) of 08 if given a fair chance by the Geelong selectors.

I'm still worried by Masten though. He is an in and under player and just looks way too small to me. That role doesn't seem possible with his current body, and on that alone I'm concerned he might not see many games this season.

I might have to let him be and wait for a real standout midfield rookie to emerge (maybe Cotchin or Grimes perhaps?) or to be proven wrong (hopefully).

Anyone got any more thoughts on Masten at all?

SNE

by the sounds of things your gona struggle to win your league (thats unless your league is as you said full of hacks) let alone get in the top 1000...

hehehehe

but with $1.8M in reserves still scoring $1,850s I think by the time I use my reserves to upgrade to guns, i should be scoring 2200s-2400s..which hopefully makes me top 1,000.

but yes I admit it's a risky strategy.

hehehehe

but with $1.8M in reserves still scoring $1,850s I think by the time I use my reserves to upgrade to guns, i should be scoring 2200s-2400s..which hopefully makes me top 1,000.

but yes I admit it's a risky strategy.

nah mate if your scoring 1,850's there is no way you will push your way up to the top 1000... it wont matter how much money you have because your so far behind champ.... there is no guraentee the people you choose will dominate as much as you think they will... keep dreaming champ...:thumbsdown: