Unofficial Preview Round 4 Early Thoughts: Western Bulldogs v Sydney Swans @ Etihad

Very impressive as a young, promising ruckman. He's not Stef Martin, Cameron can compete with him if called upon imo.

I'm not so sure. English dead set belted Bellchambers last week. Bellchambers is a fairly decent ruck.

As I said if the game was at home I'd be more inclined to take a risk

I'm not so sure. English dead set belted Bellchambers last week. Bellchambers is a fairly decent ruck.

As I said if the game was at home I'd be more inclined to take a risk

That's a pretty big overstatement imo. Bellchambers won HO's pretty easily and the Bombers only lost clearances by 3. English is gonna be good I have no doubt, I'm just saying I wouldn't fear what would happen in the ruck if Cameron was to come up against him relative to if we were playing Brisbane with Stef Martin or Melbourne with Max Gawn. English isn't one of them yet.

Depending on what is being measured, yes. If Mitchell happens to win it this year, Im thinking you'd argue against his quality somehow, for reasons known only to you. Would you also criticise the quality of recent brownlow winners as to their measurement of quality, dusty, dangerfield, fyfe and ablett, are they also so so in your eyes?

1. There is a hint of circularity in your logic.
2. You have moved the goal posts from Brownlow favouritism to Brownlow winners...there is a big difference between the 2.
3. When Mitchell wins a Brownlow you might have a point, until then you are being ridiculously presumptuous putting him in the same class as Dusty, Dangerfield, Fyfe & Ablett.

That's a pretty big overstatement imo. Bellchambers won HO's pretty easily and the Bombers only lost clearances by 3. English is gonna be good I have no doubt, I'm just saying I wouldn't fear what would happen in the ruck if Cameron was to come up against him relative to if we were playing Brisbane with Stef Martin or Melbourne with Max Gawn. English isn't one of them yet.

Just don't see how smart it would be to play a ruck who isn't nearly ready. Cameron wasn't even the best ruck in the NEAFL game last week.

I don't really look at stats- stats for me tell 10% of anything (this isn't aimed at you, just in general). I prefer to watch the game and then if I am unsure, I watch the game again.

I'd rather play AA...and personally I wouldn't play either.

I don’t really keep up with the reserves, is there anyone who can come in for Reid as a like for like? Our structure was good last week, we need to emulate it, not play around it.

Short answer is no. The like-for-like replacements are very young/raw. And it's worth noting that the ressies have only played one NEAFL game so far, so we don't have a strong form indication.

Longer answer is that we could potentially do some shuffling of players - e.g. Sinclair to take Reid's role and Cameron to come in and ruck. As a few others have mentioned though, Cameron isn't exactly a top line ruck at this stage of his career.

I'm one of the people who had a whinge about the crowd for the Port game, but being at the ground for both games I can confirm that the crowd for the Giants game was great and pretty loud. No idea how it showed up on TV, maybe they're taking the sound from the SCG members area (who are notorious for being a bit precious and not getting involved in the mexican wave at the cricket etc)?

I dont want to be seen to whinge about the crowd so apologise if it seems that way, fantastic to see a lot of fans.

Perhaps its better to describe our fans as too polite, which is maybe just a great thing, but sometimes i think we lack that ability to put home ground pressure on the ump

I dont want to be seen to whinge about the crowd so apologise if it seems that way, fantastic to see a lot of fans.

Perhaps its better to describe our fans as too polite, which is maybe just a great thing, but sometimes i think we lack that ability to put home ground pressure on the ump
That's probably correct. I think we tend to make noise after the call is missed, not create pressure for it to be called in the first place. Part of the problem is that a lot of us/them (the Sydney crowd) have never been to a game outside Sydney. We/they have no idea what the crowd can achieve.

1. There is a hint of circularity in your logic.
2. You have moved the goal posts from Brownlow favouritism to Brownlow winners...there is a big difference between the 2.
3. When Mitchell wins a Brownlow you might have a point, until then you are being ridiculously presumptuous putting him in the same class as Dusty, Dangerfield, Fyfe & Ablett.
Disagree, most of that list were favourites, or close to, in the year they won. Whatever your chip on your shoulder is I hope you find it and deal with it soon.

EDIT: I couldn't figure out where your random animosity towards me was coming from at first, then wondered if you were one of the yes voters that constantly criticised others with different views rather viciously concerning the SSM vote. And bingo, old habits die hard for you mate, let it go.

Depending on what is being measured, yes. If Mitchell happens to win it this year, Im thinking you'd argue against his quality somehow, for reasons known only to you. Would you also criticise the quality of recent brownlow winners as to their measurement of quality, dusty, dangerfield, fyfe and ablett, are they also so so in your eyes?
I'd question the quality of Priddis and Cooney, also recent winners - good players but not great.
It is my opinion that too often Brownlow votes are given because that player catches the umpires eye, which would definitely be exactly what's happening with Mitchell, but not all Brownlow winners are great players and not all great players win Brownlows.

Aliir was groomed for the swing man role last year but only played a half of footy. That's the like for like. Cameron brings ruck coverage to free Sinclair to play some of the fwd Reid role, he's no good in defence. Mcartin would bring the mobile fwd presence part of Reid's role. Mcartin would be the more enjoyable to watch I reckon, but most likely to fail.

I'd question the quality of Priddis and Cooney, also recent winners - good players but not great.
It is my opinion that too often Brownlow votes are given because that player catches the umpires eye, which would definitely be exactly what's happening with Mitchell, but not all Brownlow winners are great players and not all great players win Brownlows.
Yet to see a poor player win a Brownlow. It is a midfield award more often than not. Would be good to see a half back or fwd win one. Occasional ruck win rarely from time to time.

Disagree, most of that list were favourites, or close to, in the year they won. Whatever your chip on your shoulder is I hope you find it and deal with it soon.

EDIT: I couldn't figure out where your random animosity towards me was coming from at first, then wondered if you were one of the yes voters that constantly criticised others with different views rather viciously concerning the SSM vote. And bingo, old habits die hard for you mate, let it go.

Strawmen and circular logic seems to be the way you discuss things. Pass.

Out- Reid, Rohan, Melican

in - Cameron, Marsh, Jones.

I really don't think Rohan will travel . His twins were due 11th May. Usually they are induced early, so that could be happening very shortly.

Cameron will be a target deep fwd. Hopefully provide a contest.

The doubly irritating thing this year is that we actually have a pretty handy second forward by the name if Sinclair, who is more than capable of kicking a few goals a game if he is played in the forward line. The problem is with Naismith and Tippett gone we need to play Sinclair as a ruckman, a position he is not ideally suited.

So we have a choice. Either bring in another forward and leave Sinclair in the ruck, or bring in another ruckman, and move Sinclair forward.
Bring in Cameron and move Sinclair forward.
It's the only move that makes sense to me.

Might end up seeing Cameron for Reid and Marsh for Melican. It would be tempting to see Mcartin get a gig though, was talked up by the players and coaches preseason as having the capacity to play some games this year, hard to see a better set of circumstances eventuate than the one we're in for that to happen. Aliir had only a half a game I heard in reserves, so doesnt sound match fit.
Cameron for Reid.
Marsh for Melican.
Jones for Cunningham/Rohan.

IF Rohan travels.

Rohan to FF. Play very deep - take the role Reid would have likely been playing. He only needs his 5 touches to kick a few goals and his job is done

Jones in for Reid.
Marsh in for Melican