Preview Round 5, 2021: St.Kilda v Richmond - Marvel Stadium, Thursday 15th April, 7:20PM AEST *MADDIE'S MATCH* *CARLISLE 150TH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 39 59.1%
  • Tigers

Votes: 27 40.9%

As exciting as the win was last weekend, it’s not enough to satiate me.

I want to play like that and win like that every weekend. We outscored west coast by 53 points in less than a half of footy. If we could bottle that and reproduce it every week but at the start of the game we’d go a long way to winning a lot of games.

momentum is huge in games and when you get to big leads it’s hard for teams to get back into it unless you let them in. So don’t let them in.

I think the first quarter is absolutely crucial.We’ve conceded the first two goals in every game this year so far. We need to get off to a fast start and put the pressure on them and say to them “right, what are you going to do?”

the last thing I want is for this to be a one game wonder.

for instance after the Richmond game in 2017 we lost the next three matches. From 9-6 we went to 9-9 and then eventually 11-11 only eking out a narrow win over west coast and a thumping win over north in Roo’s last game at Docklands.

I was worried about this at half time. Leading by 82 points against a very good top four hopeful in Richmond I was concerned about being able to keep it up... already thinking about Essendon in a week and dreading playing them because of the hype. Who else would think like that when you are 82 points up at half time?

So is it the same old story? Are we the same old saints? We’ll know by the end of Thursday that’s for sure. That type of pressure is going to be difficult to replicate but if we can.....the Sky is the limit.

Very true. Weirdly, I think it's a bit of a blessing that we have to face up to Richmond this week rather than a lower ranked team like Essendon in 2017, where we would suddenly become favourites again and have to fight the urge to go back into cruise control. At least this time, everyone knows right from the get go that we simply cannot take our foot off the pedal, because we're facing the best team in the comp.

Exactly - we always seem to get screwed by the fixture inadvertently when it come to playing Essendon - always playing them at a time convenient for them. The exception is this year - we played them when they were at their lowest and capitulated. If we had've faced them after the West Coast game, we were every chance to lose it.

I bloody hope not, hes in the bailey fritch mould of "inept players stkilda make to look like stars"

To be fair both look like stars some days and turkeys the next.

Well no one has figured out what the appendix is for. ;)

Maybe it was more required when we were swinging in trees, or did not wear footy boots.

After much research it was discovered that having an appendix makes you an absolute stallion in the bedroom. Without it... well ... not much point even trying really.

Ive still got mine.

How 'bout you guys?

Agree. The next 2 games in particular it is "mental" foot flat to floor required.

Yeah I don't mean just Marshall. I mean everyone's plantar fascia, what's the point of having one if we don't need it attached?
Human evolution?

I don't care what others say, atleast one of Paddy and Ro has to play this week. We don't need both, that would be a risk. But if Ro isn't ready, Ryder has to play.

Not sure about the risk.

I would be quite ok playing Roma and Ryder with them both having say a lowish TOG of 55%. So easier game for them both. Both makes us so much better when they are on the ground.

Ryder to start each quarter on the ground at the centre square bounce.

Downside is that the other 20 players have to average a slightly higher TOG, but to me it would be worth it.

Asked if he was keen to stay at Moorabbin, Billings said: “Hopefully, see how we go.”​

I will go more with the and if we’re winning I’m just happy, it’s all good.

So if the Saints have a good year, I doubt he would go anywhere. Good players tend to not leave teams that are playing well. Play more games like we did against the Dons then yes he could well go.

From the bits and pieces that have come from the club, I reckon Marshall will get up. Jones I'm less confident on. Probably smart management to rest him given his soft tissue issues, but he is an important player so it's not ideal. Hopefully the club uses Clark in the middle if Jones is out. I suspect they'll go back to Ross though.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...ursday-night-blockbuster-20210413-p57inl.html

Not much positive from this article.

Jones now in doubt as well as Marshall. Ryder unlikely. And then this...

Asked if he was keen to stay at Moorabbin, Billings said: “Hopefully, see how we go.”​
Doesn’t sound like he knows much. Similar to his footy, his communication lacks assertiveness. I’m not concerned in the slightest. He will sign. Jones on light duties is simply management due to his history. He will play. Marshall? I think he will get jabbed up & play as well. Club knows how important this match is.

Yeah I don't mean just Marshall. I mean everyone's plantar fascia, what's the point of having one if we don't need it attached?

i probably shouldn't be telling you this and will probably get in trouble for it...

but if you have a working non ruptured plantar fascia you can actually get 20% off all gardenings goods at bunnings. its one of those company policies no one talks about. make sure to ask your nearest store! their employees are always helpful!

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...ursday-night-blockbuster-20210413-p57inl.html

Not much positive from this article.

Jones now in doubt as well as Marshall. Ryder unlikely. And then this...

It really isn’t overly negative.

“He seems like he’s recovering pretty well. He’s getting better each day. Fingers crossed that he gets up,” Billings said of Marshall after training.

Of Jones, Billings said: “Hopefully [he plays], he’s another one, see how he pulls up. He was pretty light today just with his history. Fingers crossed he’s right to go, so we’ll see what happens.”

So two of our boys are sore after a 5 day break. Jones got crunched late aswell (last 3 minutes).

Marshall we know it’s about recovery and appears to be improving.

I wouldn’t be playing Jones simply because of his history. Didn’t he do a hammy after a 5 day break last year? It’s a long year and we can’t afford to not have him for another 6 weeks.

Don't follow at all. He is/will be either fit to play or he isn't.

I don't think that there is anything in being more likely to do a hammy after a 5 day break.

Sounds like Ryder is a no go for this week but hopefully Marshall gets up, providing he's pain free I see no reason why he shouldn't play.

Wouldn't be surprised if Jones gets rested given his history of breaking down with soft tissue injuries, not sure who would replace him if he's out, Dunstan perhaps or maybe Long with Clark playing more midfield.

As for Billings, I'm not surprised he's sounding like he's not fully committed to re-signing, his manager is probably trying to drive up his contract offers.

As exciting as the win was last weekend, it’s not enough to satiate me.

I want to play like that and win like that every weekend. We outscored west coast by 53 points in less than a half of footy. If we could bottle that and reproduce it every week but at the start of the game we’d go a long way to winning a lot of games.

momentum is huge in games and when you get to big leads it’s hard for teams to get back into it unless you let them in. So don’t let them in.

I think the first quarter is absolutely crucial.We’ve conceded the first two goals in every game this year so far. We need to get off to a fast start and put the pressure on them and say to them “right, what are you going to do?”

the last thing I want is for this to be a one game wonder.

for instance after the Richmond game in 2017 we lost the next three matches. From 9-6 we went to 9-9 and then eventually 11-11 only eking out a narrow win over west coast and a thumping win over north in Roo’s last game at Docklands.

I was worried about this at half time. Leading by 82 points against a very good top four hopeful in Richmond I was concerned about being able to keep it up... already thinking about Essendon in a week and dreading playing them because of the hype. Who else would think like that when you are 82 points up at half time?

So is it the same old story? Are we the same old saints? We’ll know by the end of Thursday that’s for sure. That type of pressure is going to be difficult to replicate but if we can.....the Sky is the limit.

After we had that bad loss to Freo last year we went on to beat Adelaide, Port, Sydney and Gold Coast so hopefully we can go on a similar run now.