Autopsy Round 7, 2023: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide *WOOD 100TH*

We didn't win a final for five years, 2015 to 2019, with a list that had prime Gray, Boak, Ryder, Westhoff, Ebert, Wingard, and Schulz. Some argue Hinkley isn't even a good coach with the list he's had. His best years came when covid hit and we were one of the better clubs to handle it. Now it's back even. So far so good but remember we've missed finals from 11-4 before. We've missed top 4 from 10-1 before. He owes his job to people like Wingard, Schulz, and Robbie Gray working miracles in individual efforts.

You guys didn't keep Grant Thomas for 11 seasons and right now it looks like 12, 13, and 14 are on the cards. None of us believe he can win a flag. The only thing he's going to win is longest serving coach without a grand final (he already owns longest serving coach at a single club without one). Many of the things he's said in public are in direct contradiction to the ethos the club was built on and he's been accused of eroding our culture and setting a standard of mediocrity.

None of us can understand the media love in he receives. Warren Tredrea and Grant Thomas are literally the only people to question his record. When they did the rest of the industry reacted like he was Damian Hardwick in 2016 with the sharks circling and 'under pressure'. Likewise our turnaround this year only came AFTER Tredrea's comments and anyone who doesn't think it's a coincidence would be very naive. He upset the apple cart and now people are actually trying to win. He's put pressure on them. Pressure makes diamonds. Most recent premiership coaches found themselves under pressure at turning points in their career. It's not a bad thing. It's taking ten seasons and he was finally under it for a brief moment in time.

Tl;dr, we've seen it all before. We don't believe this season will be different. We want him gone ASAP. Sack Hinkley.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
Really enjoyed reading that..you obviously have a great understanding of your club.
We had a not dissimilar scenario with Brett Ratten, great guy & very popular with the media but was taking us nowhere!

Reputations and history as far as individual players go won't get it done.

We need fit, firing, exciting.

Our midfield are getting somewhat pantsed. Imagine Sinclair and Owens in there full time. "But who goes out?" I hear you cry. I don't give a damn. Steele if need be.

I think we have the pieces of the puzzle.

We need to rock'n'roll.

Membery has been a lot of good things for us. Not saying he can't still be, but the thought of King and Caminiti in the same forward line has me absolutely drooling.

That forward 50 set up cost Ratts his job IMO. The midfield has to take some responsibility though, last night we were back to bombing Ratts style. I'm actually worried that we'll go back to bad habits when we have King as an option.
Lack of a decent game plan cost Ratten his job..plus an inability to get the best out of his players!

Don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater. Sure a fair few had bad games but back them to learn from their mistakes. I’ll be disappointed to see any unforced changes next week. It’s round seven. We don’t need to rest or manage anyone.

Now the elephant in the room. I don’t give a **** what you call me - a fairy, marshmallow, soft as butter or whatever that other word someone was spruiking in the preview thread - booing a player like JHF is disgusting lowly behaviour and anyone who did it should be ashamed of yourself.

I don’t ****ing care that it’s modern footy - it’s what people do etc. he’s got nothing to do with us and the kid is nineteen. It’s pathetic, shallow, immature and completely unwarranted.

Go on and reply to me - tell me you’re a big man and you feel good about booing a Nineteen year old.

Get over yourself. The game has ****ing changed. The world has ****ing changed.

It made the game that much harder to enjoy hearing them booing him and made me sick. We’re ****ing better than that. We’re not Carlton or Collingwood.

They played us at our game and beat us. We were looser, messier and less efficient. It's only a few percent off our usual effort level but it's enough.
That few percent could be put down to the 5 day turn around, even in the first quarter I thought a few boys looked tired, they just didn’t appear to have their usual spark.

Why did wood get moved off the wing to deep forward?

Wood has been the best link off half back presenting at the defenders. So many times the defenders got caught or had to double back because wood was not there as the outlet.

Wood also has an elite kick.

Also cost me $65 because he only needed four touches in the last lol

Reputations and history as far as individual players go won't get it done.

We need fit, firing, exciting.

Our midfield are getting somewhat pantsed. Imagine Sinclair and Owens in there full time. But who goes out? I hear you cry. I don't give a damn. Steele if need be.

I think we have the pieces of the puzzle.

We need to rock'n'roll.

Membery has been a lot of good things for us. Not saying he can't still be, but the thought of King and Caminiti in the same forward line has me absolutely drooling.
Agreed…we’ve been crying out for a second tall to partner Max..Caminiti crashes packs, is good at ground level and his enthusiasm is infectious!

King for cordy
Caminiti for Pou
Billings for Byrnes
We really lacked a big presence last night and our inside 50 efficiency is terrible all year

I was at the ground and our team defence was gone. No grid this time. Late in the last quarter we tried but it was too late. They won too much out of the middle too. Probably should’ve bought Bytel in as a sun. Or played Windhager as a hard tag on Boak or JHF. Marshall is a star but his tap work without a midfield star makes us vulnerable.
100% agree with this. Our defence got spread out tonight. Thought Hinkley coached well. We also looked flat which others also commented on.

I was at the ground and our team defence was gone. No grid this time. Late in the last quarter we tried but it was too late. They won too much out of the middle too. Probably should’ve bought Bytel in as a sun. Or played Windhager as a hard tag on Boak or JHF. Marshall is a star but his tap work without a midfield star makes us vulnerable.
Yes absolutely this. I lost track of how many teams I commented about them setting up well and being first to the ball.

Our midfield deficiencies were on show in the big Friday night lights but our defence had a collective shocker last night. Just zero system.

Lessons will be learnt. I have faith we will bounce back from this.

Honestly mate.. Who give a ****. We don't need to take every opportunity to be virtuous.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk
Might need to take your issue up with Ross the Boss too then mate. Bloody virtue signalling bastard!! 😡

Lyon referred to American comedian Dave Chappelle in defending Horne-Francis, saying "let's not punch down on a 19-year-old".

"People were doing as a mob what they wouldn't do as individuals. Maybe just check yourself ... there's a lot of mental stress of players," Lyon said.

"If you're doing it to put him off his game ... well, clearly it doesn't work, which is good for the kid, so maybe don't boo him."

Needed to calm down before posting. Still annoyed.

1. We lost because no one wanted to be accountable in our midfield + the power wanted it more and just one too many of the key individual moments (broken tackles)

2. We had too many stupid moments. Battle/.Wilkie cost us goals, Steele taking advantage and getting done HTB/Pous shot for goal. Seriously kid kicks them 55 off a drop punt and needs to banana from 35?

3. Credit to port. They backed their ability to kick and kicked through our zone all night. For our boys, you need to learn when to step up or drown down.

Let’s hope they learn.

We dropped one. Really ****ing annoying

Don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater. Sure a fair few had bad games but back them to learn from their mistakes. I’ll be disappointed to see any unforced changes next week. It’s round seven. We don’t need to rest or manage anyone.

Now the elephant in the room. I don’t give a * what you call me - a fairy, marshmallow, soft as butter or whatever that other word someone was spruiking in the preview thread - booing a player like JHF is disgusting lowly behaviour and anyone who did it should be ashamed of yourself.

I don’t ******* care that it’s modern footy - it’s what people do etc. he’s got nothing to do with us and the kid is nineteen. It’s pathetic, shallow, immature and completely unwarranted.

Go on and reply to me - tell me you’re a big man and you feel good about booing a Nineteen year old.

Get over yourself. The game has ******* changed. The world has ******* changed.

It made the game that much harder to enjoy hearing them booing him and made me sick. We’re ******* better than that. We’re not Carlton or Collingwood.
The funny thing is there’s players who’ve done drugs, gotten in punch ups, been suspended for dirty hits off the ball who I’ve seen booed LESS than Horne-Francis. The vitriol I heard from people was as if he’d personally run over their dog. I don’t even get why they’re angry.

It’s such a boring reason. They’re outraged over this and yet other things get a more who cares get over it response.

The funny thing is there’s players who’ve done drugs, gotten in punch ups, been suspended for dirty hits off the ball who I’ve seen booed LESS than Horne-Francis. The vitriol I heard from people was as if he’d personally run over their dog. I don’t even get why they’re angry.

It’s such a boring reason. They’re outraged over this and yet other things get a more who cares get over it response.
It made me ashamed. I’ve been ashamed before of the team but NEVER of our own supporters.

Tbf if Collingwood didn’t do it round two nobody else would have.

If you really want to be like filth supporters then **** off and support them

😡

Membrey needs to be the 3rd forward in my opinion..prefer 2 talls in King and Caminiti.
Membrey the third, then a couple of smalls.
Our forward 50 efficiency has huge scope for improvement!
I'm not sure Caminiti comes straight back or is a mainstay in the forward line this year.

With Owens playing so well, I can see some reluctance to change his role. Otherwise, we'd be playing with 4 key forward types and with how vital the run and pressure has been to our set up, I'm not sure Caminiti provides enough to take out of those half forwards.

Call me a crazy Pom (it wouldn't be the first time) but I'm calling it now: this team will make finals. The ability and mentality is there. Not good enough to go all the way, but definitely a finals team. Just my humble opinion.
I agree. We’ll definitely play finals. Might even give top four a shake.

This is just a blip on the radar. Doesn’t make me any less happy though.

Autopsy Round 7, 2023: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide *WOOD 100TH*