AFL Autopsy Round 7: 37 Point loss to Fremantle

Thought Daniher, Hurley and Hooker were really good. Heppell and Merrett were pretty good too. We shouldn't be going into games expecting Dea to play tall. Francis had some scoring shots which was a positive, but he needs to stop going for the ball one handed; looks a bit too cute for someone who has done nothing.

We're a pretty easy side to play against at present. That's the hardest thing about watching our losses. Just don't have enough players who can work hard enough for long enough. Plus, to be honest, we're simply not good enough.

Given it looks like we're not good enough for finals I'm hoping Worsfold can still find a way to get more games into the likes of Langford, Stewart and Laverde (when fit), respectfully phase out some of the older blokes who are just not up to it anymore, and set us up for a better 2018.

People wont agree but it's time we move Hooker back and bring in Stewart poor Hurls is all by himself holding the back line.
This guy is on fire!!!!! We need to stop pretending and start playing our good players in their best position. If that means Harts and Rambrose don't get a game then so be it

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

This guy is on fire!!!!! We need to stop pretending and start playing our good players in their best position. If that means Harts and Rambrose don't get a game then so be it

Actually Ambrose has turned into a really good defender we are missing him and cant wait till he's back in the side.

Hooker is on track to kick 45-50 goals and is freeing Daniher up considerably....would be crazy to move him back. The forward line is the one part of our team that is working well this year.

Stewart is competing with Francis, not Hooker - if Hooker goes back, say hello to TBC as a key forward.
This doesn't make any sense. We haven't played 2 rucks all year. We have played Hooker, Joey and Franganator. Hooker goes home to the back line and let's give Stewart a go. He can't suck worse than Green

I love Cale Hooker.
He's doing a great job trying to play as a forward but he isn't one.
He has no forward instinct or reactions and his running formation is one of a backman.
This is something you can't "coach" - it's how he processes his thoughts and instincts.
Too often he's out of position or not running where he needs to be.
Play him in defence. Joe plays CHF and you give Stewart a game and just say "mate fly for everything and crash the packs and make a contest".
(1) The mind boggles at how many Hooker would kick if he was a "real" forward and (2) that's not Stewart's game.

Hooker is the only player on our list with the contested marking ability to draw a defender away from JD and his ability to create soft crum every time he flys is part of why our small forwards are doing as well as they are.

Remember the pre-Hooker forward line? JD triple teamed and abused, a glacial TBC unable to impact a contest unless it was kicked on his head and contests constantly killed by third up defenders.

Yeah there is.

We have this great core of young players and yet players like Stanton,Gleeson etc keep getting games we won't moved forward as a club until we replace those players.
Spot on again!!!!

Question: Are ****ING Carlton ahead of us? Serious question. The hockey they gave for a coach is playing all the young kids, and they are gonna have a core a kids cone through together. We suck and we keep playing slower old fringe players. When do we go for youth.

We are already losing FFS, may as well lose and get games in to Kobe "White Mamba" Mutch, the Fridge and Dylan Clarke.

This doesn't make any sense. We haven't played 2 rucks all year. We have played Hooker, Joey and Franganator. Hooker goes home to the back line and let's give Stewart a go. He can't suck worse than Green

Hooker plays primarily as a deep, contested marking forward (yes he does come up the field at times) and that's where his real value is - he takes marks one-on-one close to goal. That ability gives structure to our forward line.

Stewarts game isn't bashing and crashing, he's an athletic, mobile tall. Structurally, TBC is closer to providing what Hooker does as a forward than Stewart.

It's interesting. If he's patiently waiting for the players to jell, and keeps chopping and changing the line-up each week, he'll paint himself into a corner if there is no improvement by Round 12. I do agree re: the mid-game changes, if that's the long term view.
He hasn't been chopping and changing every week... There's been rests this week and last week out of necessity, and other than that it's only been injury cover and some slight tinkering around the edges. The core of the team have played at least 6 games each this year (taking rests into account).

Remember the pre-Hooker forward line? JD triple teamed and abused, a glacial TBC unable to impact a contest unless it was kicked on his head and contests constantly killed by third up defenders.

black-preacher-meme-preach-it-brother.jpg

Whats up Zaka....still waiting for the new contract...or sooking it up because it may not come....you may wanna get some kicks as it may not happen at this rate...

He hasn't been chopping and changing every week... There's been rests this week and last week out of necessity, and other than that it's only been injury cover and some slight tinkering around the edges. The core of the team have played at least 6 games each this year (taking rests into account).
Yeah I didn't say he had been. I said if he keeps chopping and changing. Resting Watson or Kelly I get. McNiece? McGrath? I don't mind it, I'm just not convinced that 'rested' is always fair dinkum.

Yeah I didn't say he had been. I said if he keeps chopping and changing.
Your phrasing implied the possibility of continuing to chop and change, and in order to continue it he must have been doing it previously. My apologies if I've misunderstood you.

Resting Watson or Kelly I get. McNiece? McGrath? I don't mind it, I'm just not convinced that 'rested' is always fair dinkum.
Yeah I wouldn't say it's always a much needed/well deserved rest, but it does mean that they don't play at any level for that week, and that they're back in the senior side the week after. I think if they're due one in the next three weeks and it's convenient to give them this game off so that someone else can take the next one for some other arbitrary reason, then they'll take their rest week earlier. McNiece I'm pretty skeptical about myself. McGrath I'd say it's probably pre-emptive so they don't wear him out completely before the bye. Parish and Langford were rested a couple of times last year, so it's not unprecedented with young, fit players. Training most days of the week and playing AFL level footy would take it out of you, even if you did VCE and TAC cup all in one year.

Whats up Zaka....still waiting for the new contract...or sooking it up because it may not come....you may wanna get some kicks as it may not happen at this rate...

Harsh words from the footy club.

Speaking of cute... Was it Hooker (?) who did at least two Hollywood way too cute attempted handballs into space in front of the player running forwards?

I remember one of these, to Green I think it was. I was a bit frustrated at the time because it's the lazy "I'll just get it in his general direction" sort thing our team is too often guilty of doing.

Hey so, just quietly, whose idea was it (anyway) to put Hartley on Kersten and Dea on Taberner? Because uh, that's one of those ideas that even in brainstorming should be referred to as stupid.

Myers in defence without a midfield rotation, while putting Zaharakis at centre bounces?

I'm not saying this stuff cost us the game, we ran out of legs and/or stopped working, but it's not much of a position to start from.

It's really sad to say that we really missed a first year player, but my god we needed McGrath today. I'd like McNeice back in too.

AFL Autopsy Round 7: 37 Point loss to Fremantle