Review Round 9, 2022 - Adelaide vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Adelaide?

Gosh that post was hungry tonight. Gobbled up a few kicks

Hippy looked absolutely knackered after that, well done to him for getting through, Shame a lot of our entries to him were pretty bad or when he was outnumbered..

I had the game on mute while I watched Eurovision as well, and I have to say it was certainly enjoyable!

Good to get the points
Ahh Eurovision. I just saw a guy in fishnet bodysuit, wearing a Stetson riding a bucking bull. Great television. :D

If you had have offered me a six goal win with no injuries at the start of the week I'd have taken it & run.

Rayner building nicely, Neale exquisite, Rich, Lyons & McCarthy don't seem to be humming right now, but that's ok I guess, it's a long season.

Another professional performance tonight really, glad to see. Hope we can deliver the same next week in Tassie.

Wins like tonight & against the suns can be taken for granted a little bit. The Crows & Suns form away from home can be average at times, but they both are dangerous opposition when playing at home. I've been impressed with both those games.

Would also like to see Dev in next week, or maybe even Robbo. He'd be fresh as a daisy after the VFL bye this week. We'd certainly want to be sharp from the get go next week. I'm sure the players will be reminded of the Clarko farewell game down in Tassie last year.

Did what we had to do. Didn't pay a lot of respect to our opponents at stoppages, and it showed on occassions.

I'll back him in, but that was the first time in a while I felt like Richy was off the pace. Mark it down as just having a bit of a mare, and hope it's not a sign of the inevitable hill.

We struggle when the game gets really open and the ball is pinging from one end to another. That's what it felt like for large periods of the first half. Much better playing tempo footy, with sparks of speed from the usual suspects, and deeper F50 entries.

Good to bank an away win, and know that we have more levels we can go to. But, despite our start to the year, I'd like to see that high level a bit more consistently. I have a nagging feeling that we are one good mid short.

Solid without being spectacular.

My first time in Adelaide and at the oval. Great stadium. Nice city. Really well developed around the stadium.

Win went about as I expected. Thought we would lapse in the second and come out firing in the third. Never felt too concerned, which says alot about this team.

Charlie, zorks, Adams, Lachie and Bails were my top 5. Harris was great too, and Rayner did a lot of nice things.

I thought Prior was our weakest by some margin and would be bringing Dev in to replace him. Payne is worth persisting with at this stage I reckon.

we got some iffy frees so did crows.
Not sure the commentators saw those I thought we must of had like 50 more frees. nope Crows had 6 more 28-22.

Great to see Hippy back.. Charlie be happy for the assists.
Answerth had a solid game wish he take a second before he kicks to look.
Adams solid as a rock down back. Good to see Harris accountable for someone and stick to it all game.

Honestly Crows put in and we came away with a win.
We still have a problem with teams that run and overlap with speed.
Payne gets a little lost although makes a contest so he can stay
Prior like Answerth got the pill just needs to think before disposing of it.
Clugga still so slick. Zorko popped up and a nice goal from the pocket.
Neale again put in a 3 vote game.. back to form

Must say though, watching us play footy now compared to 5 or so years ago is a dream.

I remember the bad old days.

Only too well

We got dealt a totally crap hand what with being dudded draft picks when GC and GWS came into the Comp.

I don't begrudge those expansion teams getting a leg up.

What really irks me is the way the AFL totally hung us out to dry during that period.

We have had to overcome that and other difficulties like the GH5 AND the disappointment of players like Shache promising much but delivering bugger all!!

Yet here we are, a side to be reckoned with and perhaps on the cusp of a GF or even a Premiership.

I'm really proud of the way our club risen from almost total irrelevancy to one of the powerhouses of the comp.

Don't know why we had some melts in the match thread. Mother Fagan said she liked the way we played tonight ;)

Also, sad to hear the choice of long sleeves for Charles was for keeping warm due to earlier back spasms... not for the fashion?

Those SA reporters sure like open ended questions...........

Really average disappointing win for mine. We're so lazy. We get 4 goals up and there's no desperation, there's a someone else will do it effort that creeps in. They were way better than their position suggests but still.....we should murder them.
As for the individuals. Thank god for Darcy Fort, turned the tide for us out of the center. He's our number 1 ruck by a long way, Big O seems very ineffective. Great to see Hippy out there, he'll be ok. The back line kept us in it yet again. Adams, Starce, Noah, Darcy all good.

Really average disappointing win for mine. We're so lazy. We get 4 goals up and there's no desperation, there's a someone else will do it effort that creeps in.

Are you serious? I'm nearly lost for words after reading this........nearly.

We are winning games, in fact on a long winning streak and you complain that we're lazy etc! My god!

They can WIN lazy every week for all I care, I love it and the boys are giving us so much joy again....but you can't find that same joy..

.. I guess you must prefer we lose like we did pre Fagan, lose week after week. Yeah those were the days uh, so exciting, better than a win any old day.

Fancy you having to follow a team that wins. Oh the disappointment!

Cheer up and smell the roses, they're in full bloom right now.

Are you serious? I'm nearly lost for words after reading this........nearly.

We are winning games, in fact on a long winning streak and you complain that we're lazy etc! My god!

They can WIN lazy every week for all I care, I love it and the boys are giving us so much joy again....but you can't find that same joy..

.. I guess you must prefer we lose like we did pre Fagan, lose week after week. Yeah those were the days uh, so exciting, better than a win any old day.

Fancy you having to follow a team that wins. Oh the disappointment!

Cheer up and smell the roses, they're in full bloom right now.
happy for the win, but im thinking about later in the year. If that laziness surfaces against a decent team in an important game we're ****ed. Look at our mediocre run, Behind at half time against the Crows, Very average against Collingwood, We should have destroyed the Eagles.....and didn't.

More importantly is how we're playing. We're winning and we're not playing great footy apart from a patch here and there. How are we going to go against Geelong, Melbourne, Freo and even Richmond and the Saints look like they would probably win against us at the moment.......especially if we slack off like we do when we think we've done enough to win. We've got some big problems to face in our team and getting wins against struggling teams while playing pretty average footy is not telling the whole story.

Good to see Hippy back, was a shame he couldn't slot the set shot. He was knackered by the end but he had some very handy touches. Payne was hardly sighted.

A few more big moments from Rayner, he is building each week. Hopefully primed to explode for the finals.
If you can lip read, Hippy after he fell over chasing in our forward pocket appeared to say “I’m f…..!

8-1, good win away against an okay opposition.

Couldn't ask for more, we're building nicely as the season progresses and still feel we have one more gear to reach. Good signs.

At this stage of our development, every time we play a team outside the 8, it's the expectation game that gets us.

We can be "below expectation" and "at expectation". It's impossible to be "above expectation.

Satisfied with how the season is going. Most teams win one or two unexpected ones, and lose one or two unexpected ones. We're managing that. We've probably taken some teams lightly at times giving them a leg up, but this isn't surprising. Gotta work at playing our game, not the opponent's game style, but otherwise we're cruising along. You can only beat the team in front of you.

Review Round 9, 2022 - Adelaide vs. Brisbane Lions