Preview Round 9, 2023: Brisbane Lions vs. Essendon Bombers, Saturday 13th May, 7:25. Gabba

Matho was sub. And just sat there. For the entire match. Adams was on one leg. Lyons was doing nothing. We were losing to a bottom four side and desperately needed a change. AND THE SUB JUST SAT THERE IN HIS TRACKSUIT.

If there is a single person on this forum who thought was a good call from the coaching group i'll throw up.
We were getting smashed on the spread in that game.
Matho was unlikely to help that situation.

Was the game vs Carlton a 'team breakout game' where it clicked how good they can be and how much better things are for everyone if everyone pressures and thinks etc or was it a game where the stars just happened to align and we go back to individuals playing well to get us over the line?

Very much hoping for Option 1 and a demolition at the Gabbatoir.

:musicalscore: See the Bombers crash down down in the Gabbatoir turf :musicnotes:

Was the game vs Carlton a 'team breakout game' where it clicked how good they can be and how much better things are for everyone if everyone pressures and thinks etc or was it a game where the stars just happened to align and we go back to individuals playing well to get us over the line?

Very much hoping for Option 1 and a demolition at the Gabbatoir.

:musicalscore: See the Bombers crash down down in the Gabbatoir turf :musicnotes:
Need a 4 quarter effort for a breakout IMO. it's what's holding us back from being a good team to a great team. The way we (and they) have been playing we should be another 3 or 4 goals on top of what we won by. Last quarter fade outs costing us % and is starting to give opposition belief that we could be run down.

Does anyone remember maybe a decade ago we played Essendon at the Gabba and I reckon it was one of the coldest nights to be outside and at the footy. It was freezing!
Yeah, I remember Elixuh. It was so bloody cold, just to keep warm we decided to beat up on some Essendon supporter's uncles.

We were getting smashed on the spread in that game.
Matho was unlikely to help that situation.

You had to be ruled out of the game from injury to activate a sub last year. Also we already didn’t have Andrews and Fullerton was getting destroyed as a key back against Phillips and Langford.

Subbing out Adams for Matho would have capitulated the defence.

You had to be ruled out of the game from injury to activate a sub last year. Also we already didn’t have Andrews and Fullerton was getting destroyed as a key back against Phillips and Langford.

We were mostly being beaten for run and experience. But we were playing extra tall backs. We had Fullerton, Adams, Payne and Lester all playing back. It was crazy not to take off the clearly hampered Adams for extra midfield support. Adams couldnt keep up with his man and was causing overlaps every where. It was bad game day coaching

So i can't have an opinion without the LOL tag.
Yet you have gone with a 20-40 point win.

I tell you one thing if we lose most on here will actually say we are not a top 4 team.

However, you are correct we can lose and still be a flag chance.
Same as anyone from 1st to 15th is a flag chance at this stage of the season.

Sorry mate, I laughed as it is frankly laughable to suggest our result this season hinges on winning by more than two goals.

We absolutely should win by a lot more, but even if we don't my toys won't be flying out of the cot.

They are calling our game last year one of the greatest upsets of the year on their board - including in their preview post.

Surely they were favourites for that game??
Yes IIRC we had around 8 best 22 players out who were feeling fine but tested positive to Covid.

Need a 4 quarter effort for a breakout IMO. it's what's holding us back from being a good team to a great team. The way we (and they) have been playing we should be another 3 or 4 goals on top of what we won by. Last quarter fade outs costing us % and is starting to give opposition belief that we could be run down.
Interesting that we've only had one game where we 'won' every quarter and that was against Freo. We've won 3 and drawn a quarter against North and then won 3 and lost 1 to Pies and Blues.

I think we are getting closer to that breakout game but still, its great that we are winning and so shouldnt be to disappoiinted but im with you, the last quarter fades outs and taking the foot off, really annoy me and somehwat sour the wins - I guess thats expectations for you b/c years ago, you were just happy winning even if you lost 3 quarters and won 1 yet won.

Danger game if it were down in Melbourne. Dons are a stronger pressuring team than the pathetic blues who mostly play bruise free. But at the Gabba I expect a 6 goal win against the undermanned Essendon.

Been a ****ing hectic past few weeks at work finalising an important item of work that’s being released tonight. Sit back with a beer in hand and relax watching the lads destroy this much improved Essendon team.

Not concerned at all. Expect to lead every break.

Interesting that we've only had one game where we 'won' every quarter and that was against Freo. We've won 3 and drawn a quarter against North and then won 3 and lost 1 to Pies and Blues.

I think we are getting closer to that breakout game but still, its great that we are winning and so shouldnt be to disappoiinted but im with you, the last quarter fades outs and taking the foot off, really annoy me and somehwat sour the wins - I guess thats expectations for you b/c years ago, you were just happy winning even if you lost 3 quarters and won 1 yet won.
Premiership winning teams don’t have a habit of entering cruise control for a quarter a game. I agree I want a bit more urgency it’s hard to suddenly change the momentum of a game… it’s giving opposition coaches ammo to use against us in close games. Not good even if we are certain for a win.

It's been good to hear from both Zorko and Fages that the last quarter was disappointing for the group. They'll be working on making sure that doesn't happen this weekend, and I reckon the bombers will be a good team to test that against.

It’s weird because we lost the first quarter to the Pies and won every other one even though Collingwood are notorious for turning it on late. I know we have up a lot of scoring shots late but the expected score didn’t have Collingwood scoring any better. We forced bad shots on goal while Charlie had an open fifty.

It’s not like the Dees or Blues game where they got late goals after a 40 point lead. Was a genuine four quarter effort in the end. I think some are misconstruing a four quarter effort to winning comfortably every quarter which just won’t happen against quality outfits like Collingwood.

The only full four quarter domination against two top sides has probably been Geelong vs Sydney but even Sydney have question marks on them.

It's been good to hear from both Zorko and Fages that the last quarter was disappointing for the group. They'll be working on making sure that doesn't happen this weekend, and I reckon the bombers will be a good team to test that against.

Why is zorko still our spokesperson?

Would rather hear from the captains.

Adams had a massive corky and could barely move. Wright was already taking marks for fun.

Why is zorko still our spokesperson?

Would rather hear from the captains.
It was in his regular spot on SEN with Pat and Heals.
So not necessarily as a spokesperson for the club.

Can someone get our percentage quarter by quarter and what's the news on Gardner?

Froggy is doing well but a fit Dizzy gives us enormous depth as I think Joyce has plenty of up side.
It'll be interesting to see if Gardiner is named in the reserves this weekend, a bit worrying if not, it has been touted he is on the cusp of returning for a few weeks now.

Can someone get our percentage quarter by quarter and what's the news on Gardner?

Froggy is doing well but a fit Dizzy gives us enormous depth as I think Joyce has plenty of up side.
Updated to the end of Round 8:

Q1 123.5
Q2 177.1
Q3 129.0
Q4 81.2

It'll be interesting to see if Gardiner is named in the reserves this weekend, a bit worrying if not, it has been touted he is on the cusp of returning for a few weeks now.
yes I agree.

I think a fit Gardiner has a role to play (only if 100%) but in hindsight offering a min 3 year contract is a worry with his recent injuries.

yes I agree.

I think a fit Gardiner has a role to play (only if 100%) but in hindsight offering a min 3 year contract is a worry with his recent injuries.

Depends on the $. I don't think it would have been close to top of the market.