Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Hi all, have read most of this thread. My suspicion tells me the driver of the patrol is a plasterer. The shadow on the roof looks like a metal plank, used by painters plasterers and bricklayers. But mostly plasterers. I say this because as A small time subcontractor. I’ve known many plasterers who drive the exact same vehicle. And run a similar set up. The pvc pipe would be to hold cornice and Or battons. He may have another trailer. Or use this trailer to carry plaster sheets if need be. I’m assuming he’s An older man and doesn’t carry sheets or any heavy gear. He prob works part time. And does small stuff like cornice work and patching

That is some excellent insight

Haha, an FBI profiler using Bigfooty?! This is great

Damn, I didn't pick up on the PVC pipe because it appears to be painted a dark colour (or it's actually ABS and not PVC).

View attachment 1280658

A lot of the DIY PVC on rooftops are painted black as its a makeshift way of getting semi-hot water for showering. The black absorbs the heat.

It's interesting that the cops havent called it a camper trailer but have enough certainty to say it has "off-road wheels", I mean it would be a fair assumption but that doesn't make it fact.
Hard to tell from the police photos; but it actually looks more like a box trailer to me; rather than a camper trailer...

Generally CT have a lot more going with the vinyl tonneau covers,,, They will look fuller and more padded; and have tie down bungees or zig zag roping....

If the CT has a "hard top" - (as pictured behind the blue patrol); the CT may be a rear fold; or forward fold CT; and what you are looking at is the reverse side of the floor.... But in these cases; also seen will be some light gauge metal ribbing or trusses to support the floor when it gets flipped out...

None of this is evident in the police issued photos....

Also per my comment from a few days ago; (looking at the clearer photo of the rig); I can see what appears to be daylight inside the CT. ... eg shining through the loosely fitted covering boards on top of the trailer...

If it was a CT - then a 95%-99% chance you would not see this....

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Yeah, this was sort of the point I was trying to make with my earlier post yesterday. It might not be a full-blown CT, or possibly a modified or home-made CT (i.e. a box trailer body modified with some off-road capability) - so off-road tyres and (independent?) suspension, but not necessarily a standard/manufactured CT fold-out top. That could explain the 'sunlight' (if that's what it is) in the photo. Trailer could be used to transport camping gear, but rather than full-blown fold out accomm, merely store swag, stove, plastic boxes with food/essentials, etc - have done this myself with 6x4 and 'tradie'-type trailers as cheaper than commercial CT. Home-made top could provide some protection for contents beneath.

Anyway, sorry, lots of supposition on my part, and I'm guessing police probably have more definitive details on the actual trailer config, especially if they have other photos that may be clearer. And as others have pointed out, a lot easier to dispose of (or modify) a suspect trailer.

Like others, am hoping there is an imminent arrest, especially for the two families involved.

Whilst focusing on the CT ... something else...

Looking at the grainy monotone photo of the rig; but mostly at the better focused; colour photo (from the daily mail I think); that someone posted here a few days ago.... well

I keep seeing that it does not appear to have any side step on the RHS of the wheel.... eg (the paneling closest to the patrol)....

This contradicts the police sketch drawing release - that makes it look more like a conventional box trailer....

So if I'm not seeing things; the front end of that trailer reminds me more of it looking like a trailer that has been made out of an old ute tub - chop job off a ute; (for those who know what I am talking about)...

I'm probably wrong about this; but... ??

Wouldn't that then require a fixture at the top to put the water in?

Yep, but could be as simple as a standard plastic hose connection which could be hard to distinguish in that photo, or as large as a standard PVC t-piece with a cap, depending on whether you would be adding water from another source via a hose, or just pouring it in with a bucket/jerrycan, if that's what you mean.

Looking at the grainy monotone photo of the rig; but mostly at the better focused; colour photo (from the daily mail I think); that someone posted here a few days ago.... well

I keep seeing that it does not appear to have any side step on the RHS of the wheel.... eg (the paneling closest to the patrol)....

This contradicts the police sketch drawing release - that makes it look more like a conventional box trailer....

So if I'm not seeing things; the front end of that trailer reminds me more of it looking like a trailer that has been made out of an old ute tub - chop job off a ute; (for those who know what I am talking about)...

Yep, that's certainly another option, and if it's a chopped tub it could be from an old 4WD which would explain off-road tyres on it.

Edit: on second thoughts, does seem a bit low to be an old tub off a 4WD, unless it's off an older vehicle. I thought the squarish shape might rule that out too, but then again, if it's the tub of an older ute would likely be more square than newer models anyway.

Sales-Trailers-Sydney-Box-Trailers-1.png

View attachment 1280593

More details on the car. I hadn't seen this before today, apologies if posted earlier

The one big problem with this is people's memory of around that time may not be very clear and now influenced by the fact that a Patrol driver driving a blue patrol is wanted for questioning.

I wonder just how long the coppers have been sitting on this. If this was known shortly afterwards it would have been much easier to gather reliable witness statements / evidence.

The one big problem with this is people's memory of around that time may not be very clear and now influenced by the fact that a Patrol driver driving a blue patrol is wanted for questioning.

I wonder just how long the coppers have been sitting on this. If this was known shortly afterwards it would have been much easier to gather reliable witness statements / evidence.

Bit of this, bit of that I reckon. They would have had this photo from rather early on, while ruling out others in the area as time went by. By releasing it early to the public without investigating early on, the chances they ever see the car again are slim, while also potentially having a witch hunt on the wrong person. However by releasing it late, they'd have checked anyone and everyone that owns that model.. They might even have the number plate. They now only have one suspect. I think it's more to spook the perp, who I think they know, into doing something that strengthens their case. Or having someone close to them adding valuable info to say "actually that's perp x's car.. Perp x was in that area on that night, here's a text I got off them with a photo shooting the biggest deer in that campground!".

Theres one for sale in VIC, or was, last week iirc. Had a trailer next to the sale pic too though different. Wonder if pieces of vehicle were found as it was rough enough to lose a fender etc and narrowed it down from there.

Old news no doubt.

I would imagine the Blue Patrol information release is for the coppers to test if a suspect comes forward or not. Give them maybe a month to come forward which you expect them to if they are not involved/ innocent.

If they still refuse to come forward after a month go in for the arrest.

Here is a scenario; they had a confrontation about the camping spot, word were said, either it came to blows (so to speak) then or the perp stewed on it and waited until they had retired to the tent to sleep and then they struck.
I am quite sure that something happened in the tent and the fact that the sleeping bags were gone along with them, makes me think that the attack was when they were in bed. It would be extremely difficult to put a dead body into a sleeping bag.
Is it difficult? Don’t most sleeping bags have a zip that runs fully down lengthwise and then across the bottom? If so, it could be spread out like a blanket and a body placed on top and then zipped up.

But it’s possible too that they were killed whilst in their sleep.

I would imagine the Blue Patrol information release is for the coppers to test if a suspect comes forward or not. Give them maybe a month to come forward which you expect them to if they are not involved/ innocent.

If they still refuse to come forward after a month go in for the arrest.

Way back when Jill Meagher was murdered, this was pretty much the police MO. We all saw that video, and when some coppers saw that video they very quickly let the powers that be know it was Adrian Bayley who was talking with Jill and that he was a total shitbag. The police let it go for about 24hrs, which gave him a chance to come forward if he was innocent (his parole officer also gave him that oppprtunity; an opportunity he wasn't able to avail himself of obviously). They were tracking him the whole time, hoping against all hope that she was still alive, but when the phone data showed a drive up the Calder in the early hours a couple of days prior they knew they definitely had their man.

That approach generally sums up how the coppers go about it I reckon. Work out their targets, follow them closely, and if they can't get evidence straight up then begin releasing identifying CCTV/photos that will either make them come forward with their alibi, or make people close to them come forward to drop them in it.