Ryan O'Keefe asks for trade

I'd be very surprised if ROK went down the PSD route, the Bloods culture does mean something.

If he did nominate for the PSD either Essendon with pick 5 or then Carlton would snap him up, Melbourne wouldn't be interested in a 28 yr old and the Eagles, Freo and Port are not Melbourne clubs.

Lovett + a 2nd round pick would be there abouts.

Fisher + a 2nd rounder the same.

Collingwood - a straight swap for Leon Davis perhaps.

Geelong - Wodjinski, Tennace or Kelly + a 2nd rounder.

Saints - Kosi as a straight swap

There is a few who will make a play.

:rolleyes:

I'd be very surprised if ROK went down the PSD route, the Bloods culture does mean something.

If he did nominate for the PSD either Essendon with pick 5 or then Carlton would snap him up, Melbourne wouldn't be interested in a 28 yr old and the Eagles, Freo and Port are not Melbourne clubs.

Unless the Dees have Warnock lined up in the PSD they would have rocks in their head to pass on O'Keefe, 28 next year but still has a good 4-5 seasons left in him.

As for the interstate clubs, why wouldn't they draft him?? If he makes himself available in the PSD then they'd be stupid not to take him. The only option he would have is to stand out of football for 12 months and i can't see that happening

Re: O'Keefe wants OUT

Isn't that just a case of the kettle and the pot - Carlton buying a flag :eek: Swannies were the gold medalists at attempting to buy a flag - the only problem is they FAILED ;).

Obviously Carlton are now not allowed to recruit players to be competetive. The only way we can be respected is if we have 22 rookie listed players taking the field :rolleyes:.

We realise that we stuffed up and didn't change with the times, now we have and we've embraced the cap and the draft we're getting accused of cheating again....Haaaaaaaaa!!!!!

Let's go back to the old system - no draft, no cap - I'm all for it.

Hawks can have Hodge/Franklin/Roughy/Mitchell/Lewis etc etc
Cats can have Ablett/Bartel/Ling/Mooney/Selwood/Scarlett etc etc
Brisbane can have Brown/Black/Power/Bradshaw

But if we have Judd/Stevens/Fev and look to get another top player, we must be cheating:rolleyes:.

You people are a bunch of battlers.

hahahhaah did anyone else read this
its nearlly all wrong
hahahahahahha thats gold

I stand by what I said. The fact that he rejected their last contract offer (I wouldn't say final) means he is negotiating a better deal. Good luck to him. If he wanted to come back home, he wouldn't even negotiate an offer.

We'll see
Agreed.That's what has always puzzled me in the reports that have filtered through via the media(obviously manager speak).If he's rejecting a 3year deal in favour of a 4year,wouldn't he be saying a straight out "no,I want to go home please trade me!

not worth pick 6 he is 28 next year..
wouldnt suprise me if paul roos and ross lyon worked something out with him and kosi..

youve got to be an idiot - kosi?
no way!
if the swans did that i would stop barricking for them immediately
kosi is overrated,plus has a massive injury history. NO WAY

i reckon get ROK + swans third rounder for pick 6 at carlton

by the way WIGGO

no salary cap and no draft?
thats just ridiculous

then the afl will end up like english premier lejague - richest club wins
and we all know we dont want collingwood to dominate

Lovett + a 2nd round pick would be there abouts.

Fisher + a 2nd rounder the same.

Collingwood - a straight swap for Leon Davis perhaps.

Geelong - Wodjinski, Tennace or Kelly + a 2nd rounder.

Saints - Kosi as a straight swap

There is a few who will make a play.

Collingwood will get rid of Allan Didak B4 Leon Davis.

with the Geelong pick Maybe Gamble,Kelly,Tenace

I didn't think it was so silly... I reckon after Saturday's debacle in the forward line that the Cats would certainly be open to improving this weakness.

OK so you think Geelong should trade for a gun HFF - who primarily gets a heap of the ball in the midfield and does not kick many goals - to solve the weakness of not being able to kick goals?
So he gets a heap of the ball in the midfield for Geelong and does not kick many goals - what solution is that? Unless you think at 28 years of age he will all of a sudden become a consistent multiple goal kicker?
Add to that Geelong have not much to offer Sydney unless it is the first round pick and a player. And other clubs will have better offers.
And add to that that Geelong in no way shape or form could afford to pay him anywhere near his worth.

So that is why IMO it is a silly suggestion and the comment about Essendon fans is because I keep seeing posts on here from Essendon fans which suggest that they either a) never watch the game and just post instead or b) only watch their own team play

:thumbsu:

Ryan O'Keefe will be at St Kilda next year!

I'm hearing these shit rumours that Collingwood and Carlton are after him... what a joke.

Ryan will be at St Kilda.

Sydney wants to trade R O’Keefe. They know their club is in deep shit, and they need new blood. And Ryan is all for leaving a sinking ship.

I suggest Sydney will be on the bottom for a long, long time.

I suspect Sydney will add a first round draft pick and R. O’Keefe to get Nick Dal Santo.

News to me and everyone else?

Why would Sydney want another old player, that can only offer them a few more years. They only reason why St Kilda would want him is if they think they are a serious chance on winning a Premiership within 3 years.

A first round pick and O'Keefe for Dal Santo?

1. O'keefe isnt going to cost his team a first round pick, if anything, it should be the other way around.

I think it just proves that interstate players really do fall under the radar of Victorian supporters.

O'keefe is a quality player. He doesn't get all the accolades because he is not a goal scoring forward.

How ever his work rate around the field, his general play disposals (not shooting for goal) and the inside fifties he produces he is one of the quality players in the AFL.

I think in alot of the boards clubs are trying to compare him to players other forwards and i honestly cant think of another forward like O'keefe. Possibly the closest i can think of is Robert Murphy however Murphy is still more of a traditional forward compared to O'keefe.

I am not going to put up a trade value while comparing him to dal santo because i think there is no way sydney would make a play for him, so it is just pointless arguing about it.

News to me and everyone else?

Why would Sydney want another old player, that can only offer them a few more years. They only reason why St Kilda would want him is if they think they are a serious chance on winning a Premiership within 3 years.

1. O'keefe isnt going to cost his team a first round pick, if anything, it should be the other way around.

Nick Dal Santo is old?? Isn't the guy 24 or 25?

Clubs should just get rid of all players as soon as they turn 23. That's the way to go. Nothing like a draft pick.

O'keefe+30 to carlton for pick 6. Pick 6+12 to west coast for Kerr+36+52.
O'keefe would be very useful for carlton as he solves their Half Forward problem, helping fev, and they should be stocking up on ready made, proven, finals experienced players, as they have heaps of kids and they are only really a major threat whilst fev is still playing IMO. Sydney get a star mid to complement kirk, bolton, goodes and young guns like vespremi. Eagles get 2 good picks, and give away 36 and 52 because they would not be used and it helps balance it out.
Sydney could (and apparently have) offer kerr a 5 year deal, and he doesn't have any major reason to play in melbourne anyway.
Everyone wins

NO, I don't like the fact that you guys already have a good list, you've bottomed out this year and you'll be taking 2 more first round picks in what is supposed to be a superdraft.

O'keefe+30 to carlton for pick 6. Pick 6+12 to west coast for Kerr+36+52.

At last a sensible proposition.

Given that we have said we are interested in Kerr and WCE have made it clear that they want 2 1st rounders, we presumably are prepared to give up O'Keefe. (Only Goodes of our established players is also worth a 1st rounder).

Similarly a topline lead up forward would surely assist Carlton and given their current stock of young early draft picks (Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer) may be more likely to trade whilst Stevens,Fevola et al are still around.

Mind you I would keep O'Keefe (on a 4 year contract) & our current 1st rounder in preference to Kerr, but I fear Roos may not.

At last a sensible proposition.

Given that we have said we are interested in Kerr and WCE have made it clear that they want 2 1st rounders, we presumably are prepared to give up O'Keefe. (Only Goodes of our established players is also worth a 1st rounder).

Similarly a topline lead up forward would surely assist Carlton and given their current stock of young early draft picks (Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer) may be more likely to trade whilst Stevens,Fevola et al are still around.

Mind you I would keep O'Keefe (on a 4 year contract) & our current 1st rounder in preference to Kerr, but I fear Roos may not.

Unfortunately it falls over when Carlton doesn't trade pick 6. It's far too valuable in this draft for us to trade it for a 21 year old 20 game potential ruckman who played 6 games this year, or for a 28 year old who's only got three or four years of good footy left in him.

The team meeting with Ryan O Keefe is...

Hawthorn. To put it quite simply there are two scenarios here

1) He joins Hawthorn
2) He stays with the Swans

From what I gather Clarkson will meet with O Keefe on Friday to talk about joining. Hawthorn likely to throw Tim Boyle around as the bait however I believe Sydney also want a sweetner added on to the deal. You heard it here first people

Re: The team meeting with Ryan O Keefe is...

Interesting move by the Hawks - he doesn't exactly fill a need for them; but then again, if you can strengthen what is already a strength, you'd be silly not too.

From what I gather they want a lead up forward so Buddy and Williams can spend more time in the forward 50. 3 year deal it seems.

Williams isn't on the outer with Clarkson as rumoured?

I would've thought O'Keefe would slot in beautiful for Williams.

Out of curiousity, how does your source explaining ROK knocking back a three-year deal in Sydn ey for a three-year deal elsewhere?
I ask only because from what is understood at the Swans, the major sticking point in negotiations is that ROK wants a four-year deal.

Boyle and a sweetener?

Surely Boyle would be the sweetener on pick 16 at a minimum.

Ryan O'Keefe asks for trade