S. Wests dive

The free kick was more for the shepherd then the actual push. West did the right thing by going to ground to make sure the umpire saw that he was impeded in his run. Very clever and experienced player.
That said, I did not like the decision as it what happened really had no impact on the game, and the infringement was definately not worth a goal. (ala Jeff white as someone else mentioned.)
The umpires nearly ruined a fantastic game, over umpiring. Fourth quarter was so much better to watch when they let the game go and you could actully see some contests.

catempire said:
.... If they paid a free kick every time a player was bumped off the ball the game would degenerate into a farce.
or bumping players off the ball would disappear from the game, just as running over the mark and holding players up after they mark has.

H Dolphin said:
or bumping players off the ball would disappear from the game, just as running over the mark and holding players up after they mark has.

Is that what we want though? I think not. I'm already fed up with the amount of physical contact they have forcibly removed from the game.

Meshugeh said:
It was an obvious free kick. Shepherding is illegal when the ball is more than 5 metres away.

oh mate, i think you are the translation of your name....

really weak by west, I know it probably happens every match, but i've lost respect for this guy. throw in the 'push in the back' one and the man's ability to get away with more throws than the amount of handballs he racks up per game.

tenace did not even move, just stood still. i guess it proves that the umpires do not take the situation into consideration when paying frees. a reversal of posession and a kick directly in front for.......hang on, for what exactly?

was at a pretty crucial period, i don't know how you can say it didn't effect the game.

and yes, the umpire signalled that tenace pushed west in the back......?

You shouldn't pay those free kicks.

But if you pay them once you have to pay them every time, and for **********weak crap like the West free you'd be paying them 50 times a game.

It annoys me that some players (eg. Scott West, Mark Ricciuto, Matty Lloyd) are protected species and will get a lot of free kicks for technicalities, while at the other end a guy like GAJ can be scragged and taken high at every contest and never get a free. Fair dinkum, I reckon some umps will only make a decision if it's controversial and draws everyone's attention to them.

The Lord Commander said:
You shouldn't pay those free kicks.

But if you pay them once you have to pay them every time, and for **********weak crap like the West free you'd be paying them 50 times a game.

It annoys me that some players (eg. Scott West, Mark Ricciuto, Matty Lloyd) are protected species and will get a lot of free kicks for technicalities, while at the other end a guy like GAJ can be scragged and taken high at every contest and never get a free. Fair dinkum, I reckon some umps will only make a decision if it's controversial and draws everyone's attention to them.

Junior might get more frees if he stopped crying to the umpires after every contest. Like Lloyd, players like that are too good to just constantly whinge to umpires.

Sporty Spice said:
Junior might get more frees if he stopped crying to the umpires after every contest. Like Lloyd, players like that are too good to just constantly whinge to umpires.

There was a Bulldog whinging to the umps all day.He certainly wasn't smiling when he whinged at them.

catempire said:
Agree that technically it was a free, but as always the point of contention comes in consitency. If they paid a free kick every time a player was bumped off the ball the game would degenerate into a farce.

YOU IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!
NO it would not degenerate into a farce because players WILL STOP DOING IT if umpires pay free kicks.....this is why we have rules you idiot

I ca't believe some of the cr@p peolple say about the rules and umpiring

You cannot block a player by bumping him (known a shepard) when the ball is more than 5 m away......SIMPLE

So your saying that when someone fell on wests back when he was on the groudn thats nto a push in the back....
To the geelong supporters complaining about Abletts treatment, watch yesterdays game and see what was happening to cooney at every single stoppage, getting held and shepperded away every time.

Spook said:
YOU IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!
NO it would not degenerate into a farce because players WILL STOP DOING IT if umpires pay free kicks.....this is why we have rules you idiot

I ca't believe some of the cr@p peolple say about the rules and umpiring

You cannot block a player by bumping him (known a shepard) when the ball is more than 5 m away......SIMPLE

Settle...

Of course it would be a farce because, as you say players would stop doing it and our game would lose all physical contact. That, IMO would be a farce.

The point is that if they pay that one they should pay it the other 150 times a game and then let's see what our game turns into. I don't think anyone will like it.

incubi said:
So your saying that when someone fell on wests back when he was on the groudn thats nto a push in the back....
To the geelong supporters complaining about Abletts treatment, watch yesterdays game and see what was happening to cooney at every single stoppage, getting held and shepperded away every time.

Agreed.

Although, I must admit that Rooke did a terrific job on him for the vast majority of the match. Not to sure if he was still on Cooney in the last quarter when he came into the game, but overall he beat Cooney.

People are kidding themselves if they think Wests was a freekick under any circumsatnce. He was just jogging through a clump of Geelong players, and basically jump bumped straght into the Geelong player. The Geelong guy didnt really even move.

Absolutly ridiculous.

Reminds me of that terrible decision in the Sydney Vs Eagles final last year in Perth.

Sporty Spice said:
No. Tennace bumped him, Wokcinski fell in his back when he was on the ground.

Having not watched the game or incident, did that happen in the same passaage of play? If it was then the free kick should have been for falling into his back on the ground rather than the bump.

From a player's persepective, I would have taken the dive myself if I were in that situation. If I got away with it then it's all good for me. If I didn't and it was play on then it would be my loss.

It was soft, there was contact and West exaggerated it. Umpiring was very poor across the board in the first half.
Most puzzling decision was when a Geelong player punched the ball into the crowd after it had gone out on the full. Always thought that was a 50.

Worst decision of the round so far, was the 50 against Rivers. That umpire needs a stint in the VFL.Thankfully the Dees won the game.

S. Wests dive