Injury SACK DOCTORS 1 - CTE

How can you have a migraine post incident and pass the concussion test? Surely a migraine is a symptom of concussion and at that point it is settled and the player needs to be removed from the game

He passed the concussion test. He had a migraine which is a clear symptom of a head injury. He was removed from the game at that point.

The management of Jones was fine.

He passed the concussion test. He had a migraine which is a clear symptom of a head injury. He was removed from the game at that point.

The management of Jones was fine.
But he wasn't removed from the game due to concussion. He was removed due to 'migraine'.

I would think given the circumstances, a migraine indicates concussion.

But he wasn't removed from the game due to concussion. He was removed due to 'migraine'.

I would think given the circumstances, a migraine indicates concussion.

This is wandering into medical territory that the doctor actually is better qualified on. As far as I can tell the protocols were followed and the player's welfare was taken care of. I'm very comfortable with the Jones situation.

Don’t pretend you give a * about our players you s**t stirring campaigner.

I can't speak for everyone but for me personally i despise seeing players get injured and yes that includes Port... If we had played any other team and the same incident happened I would also be writing on their board coming from a place of care. Not every footy fan is an arseh*le who wants to see their opponents reamed into the ground.

i asked WebMD and he said the doctor is an idiot
And it also said to sack Hinkley, which was a bit weird but still welcome I guess

Typical arrogant Bigfooty flogs in this thread thinking they know better than club doctors! I bet you all think you're smarter than the doctor who sent Dylan Roberton back on the field too!

This opens the door for onfield incidents to be solely up to the discretion of the club doctor, but it seems the AFL have to step in here if they're serious about head knocks.

I can believe that one doctor could assess the contact as fit to resume play and another to decide to sub the player out.

If this happens in a final then the player in question is not being subbed off if they're crucial to win.

This is wandering into medical territory that the doctor actually is better qualified on. As far as I can tell the protocols were followed and the player's welfare was taken care of. I'm very comfortable with the Jones situation.

I guess there would be no reason to be a bit dishonest with the diagnosis and say migraine instead of concussion. I mean it's not like he automatically misses next week if they say concussion....

He passed the concussion test. He had a headache and was subbed off. NOTE - A HEADACHE FROM A HEAD CLASH DOES NOT EQUAL CONCUSSION. He will be assessed during the week and if there are any lingering symptoms that indicate concussion then he will be ruled out next week.

Each to their own. Seems a pretty sweet way to get around the mandatory 12 day off period from a concussion to me and will be a loophole the AFL will want closed.

We’ve got Collingwood blow yards in here now shouldn’t you be flogging yourself over the Daicos boys, their jizz cures cancer don’t ya know just listen to the VFL media

I have no issue people with people questioning the situation it deserves it I can’t stand people who don’t actually give a shit about it beyond a chance to come in here and shit on Port

We’ve got Collingwood blow yards in here now shouldn’t you be flogging yourself over the Daicos boys, their jizz cures cancer don’t ya know just listen to the VFL media

I have no issue people with people questioning the situation it deserves it I can’t stand people who don’t actually give a s**t about it beyond a chance to come in here and s**t on Port

Fair enough. I do care though, the head trauma stuff is the biggest threat to the game we love, imo.

Was in a group chat during the game, after the head knock where it appeared that both Jones and Aliir would be gone for the rest of the game I made a quick flick over to the cricket (equally dismal to watch). Clarifying in the chat “is it 12 or 14 days protocol for concussion” a mate replied “looks like it’s about 6 minutes, Aliirs back out there”.

I love our club but everything about the head clash stinks. This will be the talking point all week and its effect will be both short and long term. In the short term players will discuss player welfare and if they’re being looked after. In the long term the club have left themselves open to future litigation.

Would not be surprised if the AFL decide to run with an independent medico at each game as we’ve shown clubs can’t be trusted.

Is a club doctor with 25 years at one club not in a conflict of interest if he has to decide if a player goes back on?

He'll exercise medical knowledge to the best of his ability, but subbing out 2 defenders at the same time kills the backline harmony.

As well as the outcome of it determining whether Aliir misses next week against Geelong in Geelong.

Now, for all we know, Aliir passes the HIA and is fine. A head knock does not necessarily equal concussion. But it's a little too convenient that the player waved through here is also one of our most irreplaceable players. And that's not lost on anyone.
So every time Aliir bumps his head, we need to take him off, but if another player suffered a similar bump, we can keep him because he's replaceable?

I'm being facetious

I think the obvious solution is to sack the doctor and by association the head coach…..

In all seriousness in the current environment I would have expected them to both complete the 20 minutes at the very least.
As much as we all want to win everything now is (and should be) focussed on players wellbeing.

The clubs can’t be trusted with unilateral control over this, there’s just too much conflict of interest. The AFL needs a medical officer at all games to initiate the protocol and ensure it’s carried out to standard.

Because an AFL appointed doctor is far more trustworthy?

****ing Nick Daicos will never had a concussion in his career

We’ve got Collingwood blow yards in here now

A more salient criticism of Collingwood fans might be that the ongoing public commentary around Rioli's vicious/brutal/Barry Hall 2.0 hit on Nathan Murphy does not at all match up with the lack of interest the Collingwood medical staff showed following the incident.

Being discussed on 9 footy show, but basically glossed over by Barrett. Leave it to AFL, questions will be asked yada yada..

Injury SACK DOCTORS 1 - CTE