Discussion Saints drinks

Bar is open

i see makes sense GIF

Ladies who shoot their lunch

I haven't had a drink since last weeks game. I have three good bottles of scotch but I'm remembering the hang over. Perhaps some red with dinner, have to dig in the cupboard and see what's left.

I shared a bottle of winton road eden valley Riesling and an innocent bystander Pinot noir from the yarra valley both were very good although not expensive $40 and $20 odd I think from memory. Now I’m on the beer ready to watch tonight’s game. I’ve been pretty much off the drink for the last two months just lost the taste. I think I’m going to stick with the occasional whiskey and bottle of wine from now on. I’m obsessed with finding a good example of an antique whiskey noggin so I can have the occasional night cap in style.

I've had some innocent bystander Tempranillo and Pinots and they're always solid wines. I'm not a big white fan so can't do riesling. I found a bottle of Beresford shiraz in the cupboard which is very average.

My grandfather used to have the decanters with silver labels and I've got my great grandfathers crystal one taking up room in a cupboard. I never use them they are a shit to keep clean. I went to David Jones a bit tipsy with my wife ad bought a pair of cut crystal whisky glasses and the whisky tastes better some how. They were insane expensive but worth it. Although you can't dishwasher them which is a pain.

Aldi have a special on their Black Label Scotch. $34 Just $2 more than their regular scotch.

I rate their regular scotch as equivalent to standard Johnny Walker or Black Douglas.
Their black is.....better.

I still haven't remembered to try it. I'll try to get some and do a review.

Is it too early to start

I spent yesterday doing a whisky tour of southern Tas (xmas present finally redeemed), started the day with a long black and Lark whisky at 9.00 am so reckon you are right to go George.

Great day yesterday, went to tastings at Sullivans Cove Distillery ( bottles $450), Spring Bay Distillery, Tasting House out at Richmond with tastings by an open fire and Hobart Whisky that I never new existed but is 200m from my work hub and run by a couple of nutters who were very entertaining and finishing up at 5 at Lark on the docks.

If anyone comes down to Hobart and you like your whisky I highly recommend the tour:

Mate and i (he lives in Melbourne) both received it as a gift from our better halves and has taken us a while to do it. Well worth the dollars, knowledgable people explaining the tastings, great lunch and lots of tastings.

I didn't buy one of the Sullivans Cove (someone else did) but picked up a Spring Bay and Hobart Whisky bottle.

Little bit of everything today.

6 Peroni's @ 5.1%
6 Budvar's @ 5%
4 Metamorphosis IPA @ 6.7% (Never had it, will report back)
4 Voodoo Ranger IPA @ 6.8%

And I'll still talk more sense than you lot. Hyper-intelligent, gorgeous, charismatic sigma male that also moderates a football forum? Please. Life's too easy.

6 Peroni's @ 5.1%
6 Budvar's @ 5%

And I'll still talk more sense than you lot. Hyper-intelligent, gorgeous, charismatic sigma male that also moderates a football forum? Please. Life's too easy.
It’s vb or nothing. None of those drinks can be drunk by a human. Peroni’s if the world was ending. Look forward to the chat.

6 Peroni's @ 5.1%
6 Budvar's @ 5%

So the Metamorphosis is alright but the Voodoo goes way better. Haven't touched the lager yet, that's after we win.

I spent yesterday doing a whisky tour of southern Tas (xmas present finally redeemed), started the day with a long black and Lark whisky at 9.00 am so reckon you are right to go George.

Great day yesterday, went to tastings at Sullivans Cove Distillery ( bottles $450), Spring Bay Distillery, Tasting House out at Richmond with tastings by an open fire and Hobart Whisky that I never new existed but is 200m from my work hub and run by a couple of nutters who were very entertaining and finishing up at 5 at Lark on the docks.

If anyone comes down to Hobart and you like your whisky I highly recommend the tour:

Mate and i (he lives in Melbourne) both received it as a gift from our better halves and has taken us a while to do it. Well worth the dollars, knowledgable people explaining the tastings, great lunch and lots of tastings.

I didn't buy one of the Sullivans Cove (someone else did) but picked up a Spring Bay and Hobart Whisky bottle.

I went to a night called Whiskey and Fire or something at Caulfield racecourse a few years back. There is something about cold, fire and whiskey that just adds something. I'd love to get down to Hobart again, I should have gone to Dark Mofo and added that on. That would be a good trip away.

Yeah come on down gringo, Dark Mofo goes really well. Previously winter in Hobart was very quiet, not now. Dark Mofo celebrates winter and does it very well, great food and drinks by the fire.

My wife and sons were down in Hobart in late June and absolutely loved it, I had other commitments and held the fort here. I love Tassie and hobart in particular and will make sure I’m free for the next visit. The boys went into lark and had a few quite ones just to make me even more jealous.

Discussion Saints drinks