Discussion Saints drinks

I’m feeling aggrieved this is the first thanksgiving without a pumpkin pie, don’t knock it till you’ve had a good one. Busy with the baby due in the next few weeks but I better get one at Christmas or else, well or else I’ll be disapointed ☹️🤣🤣.

Hows this when my first was born I was lucky to be given a stool after about six hours by the midwife, all private all cost a fortune. Now my son inlaw is expected to stay the whole time with my daughter in the same bed 😳. When I suggested maybe he’d like to wet the babies head with family and friends my daughters ripped me a new one and said I was baiting them 😳. Seriously what the, is this normal? What happened to a a cigar and raise a glass ?

Boomer diary’s.

I’m feeling aggrieved this is the first thanksgiving without a pumpkin pie, don’t knock it till you’ve had a good one. Busy with the baby due in the next few weeks but I better get one at Christmas or else, well or else I’ll be disapointed ☹️🤣🤣.

Hows this when my first was born I was lucky to be given a stool after about six hours by the midwife, all private all cost a fortune. Now my son inlaw is expected to stay the whole time with my daughter in the same bed 😳. When I suggested maybe he’d like to wet the babies head with family and friends my daughters ripped me a new one and said I was baiting them 😳. Seriously what the, is this normal? What happened to a a cigar and raise a glass ?

Boomer diary’s.
Good news though is that once the little one turns a year or so old, you can just give the hand-me-downs to Dard - will fit him nice and snug!! xx

Boomer diary’s.
Not sure if you’ve noticed mate, but men don’t matter 😎

Non-birthing people, unite!
Haha yeah now we’re getting close and things are getting real my daughter is a savage and he’s cowering in a corner and ringing my other daughter for support. Good luck in that birthing suite pal 🤣🤣 I was stirring the pot with her asking if he was allowed to go a grab some decent food at least. Let’s just say it wasn’t well received but it was pretty funny.

Anybody had Johnny walker double black, what am I missing ? Not a fan at all.

Johnny Walker is all pretty meh. It’s the scotch equivalent of Crown lager. It’s alright in mixers where you don’t care what you’re drinking.

Well after visiting Sunshine and Suns distillery last week , and talking to one of the owners about the various drops, I don't think Gin Drinkers have much to get pompous about.

Basically said that the rules are very strict regarding the rum's they make, but its easy to make a lot of Gins.
They distil the rum on site.
The reason so many places are making Gin now is because.

You buy some industrial food grade alcohol in something like this ( I saw one in their warehouse ) .
p20170622223451-08.jpg

You put it in your shiny stainless steel vat, and throw in the kind of things that make it appeal to Gringo's.
I'm guessing lavender, essence of pinkness, pink rose petals , Johnny Ray, that sort of thing.
You leave it there for a while until all the pinkness is in the alcohol, then you strain it into bottles.

Makes JW positively sophisticated. ( But its not as good as Aldi's black label Scotch lol ).

Don't believe me?

At its most basic, gin is an un-aged spirit flavoured with juniper berries. Most gins are also infused with other plant materials such as flowers, fruits, herbs and spices collectively known as "botanicals".

Basically its like metho , without the impurities, which has had some plants in it.

You could buy this stuff and make your own.

Well after visiting Sunshine and Suns distillery last week , and talking to one of the owners about the various drops, I don't think Gin Drinkers have much to get pompous about.

Basically said that the rules are very strict regarding the rum's they make, but its easy to make a lot of Gins.
They distil the rum on site.
The reason so many places are making Gin now is because.

You buy some industrial food grade alcohol in something like this ( I saw one in their warehouse ) .
p20170622223451-08.jpg

You put it in your shiny stainless steel vat, and throw in the kind of things that make it appeal to Gringo's.
I'm guessing lavender, essence of pinkness, pink rose petals , Johnny Ray, that sort of thing.
You leave it there for a while until all the pinkness is in the alcohol, then you strain it into bottles.

Makes JW positively sophisticated. ( But its not as good as Aldi's black label Scotch lol ).

Don't believe me?

At its most basic, gin is an un-aged spirit flavoured with juniper berries. Most gins are also infused with other plant materials such as flowers, fruits, herbs and spices collectively known as "botanicals".

Basically its like metho , without the impurities, which has had some plants in it.

You could buy this stuff and make your own.

Gin is juniper which is a conifer. If you crush it you can smell the gin. Gin is so easy to distil that you'd be crazy to buy cheap crap unless you are a shonky joint. White spirit doesn't need 12 years in oak vats to get the flavour. It should be half the price of anything else.

It only needs to have a juniper flavor to be classed as Gin.
I'm suspecting that plenty of boutique Gin's are made from purchased alcohol, because its allowed.

To sell Whiskey or Rum, you need to distill it under the laws.

So looking into it a bit more, if it is a "compound gin" its probably been made by the purchased alcohol method.

This is the one i went to.
They are a distillery, but they make rum as well. Pretty sure from what the guy was saying that it was much easier to make a heap of different gins than it was to make different rums. Then there was the pallet of alcohol i saw on their warehouse floor.
Their website says its distilled so maybe they use the purchased stuff to adjust the alcohol content.

Sunshine & Sons

Just confused now really. :D

The barrel aged gin tasted pretty good anyway.

I'm suspecting that plenty of boutique Gin's are made from purchased alcohol, because its allowed.

So looking into it a bit more, if it is a "compound gin" its probably been made by the purchased alcohol method.

They are a distillery, but they make rum as well. Pretty sure from what the guy was saying that it was much easier to make a heap of different gins than it was to make different rums. Then there was the pallet of alcohol i saw on their warehouse floor.
Their website says its distilled so maybe they use the purchased stuff to adjust the alcohol content.

Sunshine & Sons

I guy I know has a still and started making his own spirits. He makes gin, vodka and has made whiskey. The gin and vodka is drinkable from the moment it comes of the still. The Whiskey tastes nasty. Without the ageing process it's undrinkable.

The old Croats all made grappa and other horrific spirits without watering down at home and that's the same, it's not particularly nice but you can drink it immediately.

It's super easy to make and if they are buying in IBCs perhaps it's made at one big factory and flavoured on site just to save space and costs. The Scottish distilleries have huge warehouses full of barrels that sit for decades. That should be expensive.

A $100 bottle of gin doesn't taste $50 better than a $50 bottle generally. When I was up in the bush we went without a bottle of gin so I drove to the general store and bought some shit brand and it was fine. Stuck some mint and rosemary in the glass to make it drinkable and it was actually pretty good with tonic.

I guy I know has a still and started making his own spirits. He makes gin, vodka and has made whiskey. The gin and vodka is drinkable from the moment it comes of the still. The Whiskey tastes nasty. Without the ageing process it's undrinkable.

The old Croats all made grappa and other horrific spirits without watering down at home and that's the same, it's not particularly nice but you can drink it immediately.

It's super easy to make and if they are buying in IBCs perhaps it's made at one big factory and flavoured on site just to save space and costs. The Scottish distilleries have huge warehouses full of barrels that sit for decades. That should be expensive.

A $100 bottle of gin doesn't taste $50 better than a $50 bottle generally. When I was up in the bush we went without a bottle of gin so I drove to the general store and bought some s**t brand and it was fine. Stuck some mint and rosemary in the glass to make it drinkable and it was actually pretty good with tonic.

I have noticed its easier to get into now days.

You need to be bloody careful though.

Someone told me how to make Fruit Juice wine. You buy a two litre bottle from the supermarket, you add sugar and yeast, then you wet the cap and put it on just tight enough that it will act as an airlock, letting gas out but not letting air in.

Leave and strain.

Not going to try it.

Someone told me how to make Fruit Juice wine. You buy a two litre bottle from the supermarket, you add sugar and yeast, then you wet the cap and put it on just tight enough that it will act as an airlock, letting gas out but not letting air in.

Leave and strain.

Not going to try it.

Isn't that what they make in toilet cisterns in jail?

Sunshine & Sons

Leave and strain.

Not going to try it.
Hey all,
I can tidy up a bunch of this discussion on making booze as I’m the head distiller for a pretty well known brand and have been doing it for 15+ years.

Firstly, DON’T DISTIL FERMENTED FRUIT JUICE!!!!! Anything with pectin in it produces lots of methanol and it’s how people die or go blind. Best case you end up with an awful hangover. They often also have sulphur to preserve them that can make some people pretty sick when you do your first cut as well.

Buying 3rd party alcohol to make gin is standard practice throughout the industry both domesticity and internationally. Basically it costs lots of money to ferment and distill the spirit until it’s pretty much neutral in flavour so almost everyone buys it in. You can then put the neutral spirit into your still and add botanicals into either the pot or basket to get the flavour to form the gin.

There are definitely people out there adding essences to neutral spirit without them doing a distillation but their product generally sucks. They tend to taste alcoholy if that makes sense.

Generally the regulation in Australia are pretty good without being overly tight in my opinion for gin, rum and whisky. Whisky is the tightest, rum a little looser and gin probably need to be tightened.
I think they all become tighter over the next decade or so, but personally I don’t think that’s a good thing (devils in the detail and won’t lead to better outcomes for consumers. Don’t ask, it’s complex).

Anyway, good booze is the stuff that makes you happy!

Hey all,
I can tidy up a bunch of this discussion on making booze as I’m the head distiller for a pretty well known brand and have been doing it for 15+ years.

Firstly, DON’T DISTIL FERMENTED FRUIT JUICE!!!!! Anything with pectin in it produces lots of methanol and it’s how people die or go blind. Best case you end up with an awful hangover. They often also have sulphur to preserve them that can make some people pretty sick when you do your first cut as well.

Buying 3rd party alcohol to make gin is standard practice throughout the industry both domesticity and internationally. Basically it costs lots of money to ferment and distill the spirit until it’s pretty much neutral in flavour so almost everyone buys it in. You can then put the neutral spirit into your still and add botanicals into either the pot or basket to get the flavour to form the gin.

There are definitely people out there adding essences to neutral spirit without them doing a distillation but their product generally sucks. They tend to taste alcoholy if that makes sense.

Generally the regulation in Australia are pretty good without being overly tight in my opinion for gin, rum and whisky. Whisky is the tightest, rum a little looser and gin probably need to be tightened.
I think they all become tighter over the next decade or so, but personally I don’t think that’s a good thing (devils in the detail and won’t lead to better outcomes for consumers. Don’t ask, it’s complex).

Anyway, good booze is the stuff that makes you happy!
where do u work?
Pm if u don't want to make public

A pretty well known brand obviously, eyes painted on or?

There are a few these days. Starward are probably the big one here but Tassie has a few.

Discussion Saints drinks