Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Its a balancing act.
It was worth moving Ross on, because we had a raft of young midfielders, some able to match his output on the day, coming through. Keeping him would have inhibited his development.
It was worth moving Membrey on, he's still good, but we have, Sharman, Caminiti, Owens and Hall.

No point shoving players out the door if you don't have those ready made replacements though.

Norfs got Simpkin, It wasn't an early pick. We could have but we traded our pick to the Hawks for a dodgy future pick.
Norfs spudded it up and got Davies-Uniack pick 4.
Norfs picked after us. We got King, They traded out their first ( Polac and Pittard for the Butters pick) they got Tarryn Thomas academy selection. Fat lot of good any of that did.
Traded out their 2019 first for Melbourne's 2020 first and some later picks.
Tom Powell and Will Phillips after being spuds in 2019.
Massive spuds, Horne-Francis at one...... leaving poor StKilda , only Nasiah :D

Gained 2 first round picks from losing Horne-Francis. Not sure if it was a strategic thing but it worked out for them.
They got Sheezel and Wardlaw in 2022.

I'm going to say that in all their years of spudding it up, their early picks didn't help much, and all that shoving of senior players out did was ensure their spuddedness.
The best thing that ever happened to them was losing Horne-Francis.

Good reminder of how bottoming out alone isn't the be all and end all. They have still drafted well outside of those first rounders. Tom Powell is one of the most improved players in footy so far. Looks like it ended up a good move. Phillips still disappointing.

Its not the shoving out of the oldies that does it though.

Most of 2020 were disappointing.
For all their early picks , the wins have been far and few between.

I hate how teams can double dip when they have an academy pick, and i think its hilarious that North got the Trifecta , Pittard, Polec and Tarryn Thomas , when they could have had Zac Butters.

Yeah seems a lot of the impact he has isn't recorded by stats, need a new category...

Eg., Player X had 15 disposals, 4 tackles, 3 marks and 5 chitos.
🤣🤣🤣👌

He needs to stop pushing in the back, but gee he gets manhandled. Often by big guys because we don’t/didn’t have big strong KPFs. Lucky he’s a brute.

It’s pretty funny though - my two young boys aren’t exactly tough inside mids in junior footy. When I see that they need a bit of a reminder I scream out “CHITOOO”. They both love him and know exactly what it means.

He was tapping the ball on to Snags, blocking, crashing packs etc. If that's the best we get I'd take it. He's been cashing in on potential up until now. That was delivering on promise.
Actually reminds me of the rover and hands to Snags. I said last week that his marking didn’t ever look terrific - it waa the fact he was cat like, compete in the air with a sizeable opponent and then land on his feet and beat them to the ball for a snap goal. I loved that play.

He was tapping the ball on to Snags, blocking, crashing packs etc. If that's the best we get I'd take it. He's been cashing in on potential up until now. That was delivering on promise.
I think he’s definitely had better games (the Sydney and Dogs games in 2023 come to mind) but he’s never looked so important to the side as he did Saturday night.

His presence was immense and Geelong defence looked under pressure every time the ball came into his area.

I think his mad dog hunger looked to have dropped off a little bit last year so it was good to see it at its best again.

I think he’s definitely had better games (the Sydney and Dogs games in 2023 come to mind) but he’s never looked so important to the side as he did Saturday night.

His presence was immense and Geelong defence looked under pressure every time the ball came into his area.

I think his mad dog hunger looked to have dropped off a little bit last year so it was good to see it at its best again.

It's the first time I've seen him own a game. He had a presence like Curnow or one of the dominant forwards. 2 Geelong players minding him. If he keeps playing like that he'll start getting frees as teams try to restrict him. 2 free kicks that he was probably warranted by the way Geelong held him and he kicks 4.1 and you're getting pretty close to a star.

He just looked like it clicked for him, like he knew he was good enough to do damage.

Most of 2020 were disappointing.
For all their early picks , the wins have been far and few between.
I think this a clear talking point when it comes to the advantages of the NGA's and Father/Son picks.

Good junior development is required for AFL quality footballers. If you have a select group of talent you can build at this level, knowing you have first selection, you're always going to win. Bonus points if you can hide talent and sneak it in with low picks.

I think this a clear talking point when it comes to the advantages of the NGA's and Father/Son picks.

Good junior development is required for AFL quality footballers. If you have a select group of talent you can build at this level, knowing you have first selection, you're always going to win. Bonus points if you can hide talent and sneak it in with low picks.

One thing that academies seem to have achieved is that players are hitting the AFL a lot more ready to go.

Just finished watching the game. Was at a country wedding on Saturday night. Most things have been said, but just a few comments -

• Good to see Keeler kick a goal and get a bit of it, but he was absolutely monstered so I think he needs to take his experience back to Sandy. Yes, the Tiges might be easy beats, but their defence is incredibly experienced - Broad, Short, Vlaustin, Macintosh plus Miller is fairly experienced now. If Cooper doesn't get up, yes - I'd bring Boyd back in, but this time to just give Ro a chop out.
  • I'd be happy to see Collard keep his place. Looked like he thought he belonged out there this week, and I'd like to see him build on that.
  • I thought Steele was a good second banana to Macrae. Hopefully he can build into his season.
  • Byrnes is a liability against a taller winger.
  • Sinclair got forward more than I've ever seen him when seemingly just playing off half back? Didn't see him at a single centre bounce, but he was often perched on our F50 when it was in attack.

You are blinded by Norths weekend win as to where they really are. It was only a week early they got comfortably beaten by a half strength Footscray.

Adelaide different kettle of fish. Why? Simply because they went hard in the offseason adding Cumming Peatling and ANB to what they have.

The previous few years they landed big fish. Rankine and Dawson.

They still managed to draft:
Thilthorpe pick 2 2020
Rachele pick 6 2021
Soligo pick 36 2021
Curtain pick 8 2023
Draper pick 4 2024

And blew a pick 11 on Pedlar in 2020.
Just solid recruiting over 5 years and has led to this season.

For comparison:

NWM p11
Owens p33
Windhager p47

Pou p10
Caminiti rookie

Wilson p18

Travaglia p8
Tauru p10

Big signings:
Henry ?

So, in comparison. We have ALOT OF young talent that is still finding its way. Might be another year off.

Haven’t had the success the crows have had via trade or free agency.

Haven’t had the absolute pinnacle picks they have in that time.

BUT.

Add TDK in. Another aswell?

Find a good one or two from:

Keeler Collard Hastie Ari Garcia O’Connell Hall Barrat Boxshall Said Dodson

And our own narrative changes big time too.

Post round 2.

- we have used the equal most players thus far. We need another 2 changes this week aswell. So likely a Travaglia debut. Carrol Henry?

- we are below the league average for average selected side age. We still haven’t played.

Travaglia Tauru Henry Carrol King Pou Barrat said Dodson McLennan Sharman. Maybe have missed a couple aswell who we would hope become part of the future.

It’s likely we need another year getting a good pick. Cutting the list and recruiting.

But… you could also see a word where we finish 7-8 just off the sheer talent that hasn’t yet played and I haven’t included Howard as he is important for our structure.
Just have to hope that re-sign NAS and a few other young players. NAS is the important signature that we will have had in a long time.

One thing that academies seem to have achieved is that players are hitting the AFL a lot more ready to go.

Then again you can get some country kid who hasn't been training at an elite level, and find that when he does he improves immensely , while the academy kid might be close to his ceiling. Can be tricky IMO.

Just finished watching the game. Was at a country wedding on Saturday night. Most things have been said, but just a few comments -

• Good to see Keeler kick a goal and get a bit of it, but he was absolutely monstered so I think he needs to take his experience back to Sandy. Yes, the Tiges might be easy beats, but their defence is incredibly experienced - Broad, Short, Vlaustin, Macintosh plus Miller is fairly experienced now. If Cooper doesn't get up, yes - I'd bring Boyd back in, but this time to just give Ro a chop out.
  • I'd be happy to see Collard keep his place. Looked like he thought he belonged out there this week, and I'd like to see him build on that.
  • I thought Steele was a good second banana to Macrae. Hopefully he can build into his season.
  • Byrnes is a liability against a taller winger.
  • Sinclair got forward more than I've ever seen him when seemingly just playing off half back? Didn't see him at a single centre bounce, but he was often perched on our F50 when it was in attack.
Keeler stays for mine. He offers speed and athleticism at his size, which Boyd doesn’t.

The only reason you’d bring Boyd in this week is to take on Nank body to body, and that would indicate we don’t think Marshall can.

Otherwise Byrnes stays IMO because he’s a “Ross type”; he’s the 2025 version of Eddy/McQualter insofar as he’ll give everything he’s got every single contest, and Ross loves those guys.

I reckon Coops and Carroll come in for Stickers and Clark.

Last year v Richmond for Rowan Marshall

Round 4: 23 disposals, 24 hitouts, 7 tackles, 5 clearances, 5 inside 50s, 1 goal.
Round 22: 23 disposals, 25 hitouts, 3 clearances, 4 inside 50s, 3 goals.

I think he'll be fine.
The other thing to consider is I have no doubt that Keeler, if he plays and rucks at all, will have been told to avoid body contact as much as possible with Nank and use his superior athleticism to counter his physicality deficit.

Don’t wrestle him, out-manoeuvre him.

Keeler stays for mine. He offers speed and athleticism at his size, which Boyd doesn’t.

The only reason you’d bring Boyd in this week is to take on Nank body to body, and that would indicate we don’t think Marshall can.

Otherwise Byrnes stays IMO because he’s a “Ross type”; he’s the 2025 version of Eddy/McQualter insofar as he’ll give everything he’s got every single contest, and Ross loves those guys.

I reckon Coops and Carroll come in for Stickers and Clark.

Interesting that Bucks singled out Byrnes and Wood as particularly important in stopping Geelong's very good attacking wingmen. Gave a lot of credit to them. It would suggest that Lyon gave them a very specific task and it looks like they handled it well. Reminds us that sometimes what the fans see isn't the full picture.

I'm pretty sure he actually suggested Byrnes and Jones as the defensive wingmen and said Wood was one of the more attacking ones thus being moved forward as it apparently wasn't a suitable matchup

Didn't make any sense in my head

Byrnes defensive work around the ground might have been good, but there was two or three times he was the winger getting back and his spoil attempts had no impact. Positive for him is he was in the right spots, but doesn't look like he can spoil, which is a huge issue playing that role.

I'm pretty sure he actually suggested Byrnes and Jones as the defensive wingmen and said Wood was one of the more attacking ones thus being moved forward as it apparently wasn't a suitable matchup

Didn't make any sense in my head

Yes, sorry you were right. Not sure where the idea of Wood came from.

Byrnes defensive work around the ground might have been good, but there was two or three times he was the winger getting back and his spoil attempts had no impact. Positive for him is he was in the right spots, but doesn't look like he can spoil, which is a huge issue playing that role.

I thought his poor patches were late where he had to defend inside the goal square. One he was unlucky not to get a free because Stengle held him and turned him around and Byrnes was trying not to grab back to avoid giving away a free. He also did one absolutely munted kick that ended up going to a team mate and probably saved the match. He looked like he was struggling most in a one on one defending to me. Hard the you've ever done it under extreme pressure.

His goal square effort (caused by the shamozzle that is the rushed behind rule) almost put me over the edge 😂

I know Mavefromdelburn is a huge fan though

I remember when I was watching the replay, the commentator (can’t remember who) asked whether he actually meant to do that 🤣🤣

I’m no physics expert but if Byrne’s was between Dempsey and the ball in the goal square, the only way Dempsey could get infront to access the ball was to hold/pull Byrnes. I was filthy with that. That umpire showed a clear lack of common sense

His goal square effort (caused by the shamozzle that is the rushed behind rule) almost put me over the edge 😂

I know Mavefromdelburn is a huge fan though
It’s a totally shit rule - beaten only by the ****ing stand rule - and it leaves the defender with **** all options to… y’know… defend.

Similar to the “you dragged it in” ****ery… what are you supposed to do, just bloody cough the pill up to the opposition?!

Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Write your reply...