Review Saints vs Cats review

I thought I was going to spew up after this game. No it wasn't because of our performance - which was bloody good for 3 quarters, and no it wasn't from too many cold ones...it was from all the ****wits at the game and all over social media bagging Geary. For **** sake, what does Geary have to do to earn some peoples respect? Is it because he doesn't dominate games like Riewoldt that people don't think he's a worthy replacement? Is it because he doesn't rack up 30 touches and kick goals every week? I seriously don't know, but it pisses me off.

Jarryn Geary for me epitomises what a St. Kilda footballer should be. He's hard at the ball, he never gives up and he would bleed for the club. He has more heart and soul than any muppet who sits behind their keyboard and says he's 'the worst captain in the history of the club' or 'isn't fit for the role' - I bet not one weasel who says any of that tripe would ever dare even think about saying it to his face, and frankly in my opinion it's an embarrassment when I hear and read this garbage week in, week out. People at the game today were bagging him and I just don't get it. He's clearly a scapegoat for some 'fans' if you want to call them that, as it seems every single time we lose a game if it isn't because of the umpires, it's because Geary was a rubbish choice for captain. Sometimes it's both.

To everyone who consistently talks shit about Jarryn, sit down and keep your opinion to yourself because it doesn't help you, it doesn't help the rest of the clubs fans and it sure as hell doesn't help him. He's doing the best job he can and it's a damn good one so far regardless of our win/loss ratio, looking forward to what rubbish people have to say about him after our next loss. God help us all if we lose to Hawthorn and get belted by GWS in the next fortnight, because the witch hunt will well and truly be on.

Sincerely,

Pissed off.
How about the Geelong muppets who were booing Riewoldt. Absolute flogs.
Geary has seriously stepped up his performances this year to elite level.

Interesting. We lost all 3 and Geelong won all 3 for the first time this year. My bad
Sorry I added hit outs as well

That's not the first time we've lost all 3 though is it? Ans last week we lost all 3 significantly worse than this week. What Geelong have or haven't done is irrelevant. And if you're trying to argue that one ruckman is better than another because he got spanked in a different game then that's just silly.

Did you watch the game?

Or are you just making up stats?

Lost the clearances by 5 and the contested possessions by 24.

We lost the clearances against Collingwood, but won the two weeks before that.

I'm sure Longer's 8 possessions at 37% efficiency made a huge difference.
You're right. Longer's possessions wwre practically ineffectual. But as I said to Kildonan he isn't in there to get possessions he's in to provide a contest at the ruck. Something Hickey seemed to be incapable of doing.

Hickey has averaged more hitouts this year than Longer got today with 3 of Hickey's 4 opponents being among the best ruckmen in the comp. Has also averaged more contested marks and contested possessions.

Hickey has copped a very raw deal on here IMO.

Yeah, I'm actually a big advocate for Gilbert, he's just a whipping boy.

He's a massive whipping boy, but it's just weird. I watch games and enjoy coming and reading opinions afterwards. Without fail after a loss Gilbert and his presence in the team will be brought up as one of the main reason for the loss by a good 30% of posters and I just don't see it. His good far outweighs his bad and he brings something different to our team with his size, ability to beat a tackler and his great tackling.

That's not the first time we've lost all 3 though is it? Ans last week we lost all 3 significantly worse than this week. What Geelong have or haven't done is irrelevant. And if you're trying to argue that one ruckman is better than another because he got spanked in a different game then that's just silly.

Nearly as silly brining up things we got beaten in to say the other is a better option. And we did happen to have our best player back in the side and still beaten in clearances. Let's face it longer provides no more than hickey and hickeys best is better than lingers best. Go back to tge guy who has a better upside would be my choice. You can stick to the guy who has less upside and try and find stats to prove that even if they dont

Bruce with the one hit out for about a qtr as a ruck. HopefulLy the club is working on a plan b. His forward output takes a hit as well so it's a double whammy
Its true you dont see hawkins in the ruck. Our answer to this is playing at sandy who prob is on the cusp but might not be ready just yet. Having said that its glaringly obvious we need a genuine ruck forward. Like ive said before hickey is no slouch forward. Need to to clean out pierce holmes and replace them with 2 new ruck forward types either through trade or draft. Just on the midfield would anyone of rice white or dmac be worthwhile giving a go in there just to freshen it up a bit. We need to start turning all these halfbacks into genuine mids.

We have a forward line with no obvious structure, and woeful midfield, a backline that is doing OK under a lot of pressure and a coach who has not really got this team up and going in what was to be our big improvement season- we have dropped back a couple of rungs on the ladder. Not great signs.

We played pretty good footy for 3 qtrs and fell away disappointingly in the last. No real biggie. Adjust and learn. Signs are fine. We aren't winning the flag this year.

So realistically we are a 3/4 team against the better opposition and that's where our improvement lies.

Yes, but what does that mean? Where do we need to improve?

1. To me it is outside run from the middle - this needs to be focus of recruiting / drafting etc and we all know that (combined with young players like Gresham and Acres developing foot skills and disposal), and
  2. Need to adjust game plan when things go wrong. It seems the game plan does not have a back up, Geelong spread very well and got the ball in to their forward line well, the way we play needs to adjust either take it on or do something different.

I have faith that improvement will occur, have always thought this year is about development but improvement comes from analysis and action it will not just occur. Would have loved a win against a team like Geelong.

Gotta have faith I spose these will eventually occur

We are only 10% off being a top side we were level with 10 minutes left in the game level, so our last quarter wasn't bad, 2 goals with 9 minutes to go hurt us,Greshes dropped mark hurt us around that time. Geelongs midfield tasted blood & stepped it up for the remainder of the game always hard to hold a run on once it starts we held our own for 90% of the game.

Stuv first game back in 3 weeks was bound to run out of legs Longer hasn't got a tank & Long comes in on the back of 1 JLT game should never of come in with out playing some VFL game time.

Dunstan is needed for team struture and balance stats are irrelevant if he is doing what is asked,Bruce & Membry need McCartin to play he takes away another key defender which will leave Bruce & Membry with number 2 & 3 defender this also allows Roo to go back to the wing.

Our main issue is the 2nd ruck unless Hickey runs out a whole game, what does Jacobs do at Adelaide???

Don't need to many wholesale changes when your that close to getting there.

Also we need to stop talking about our war chest at the club we are at the cross roads with this group it's time to add 1 or 2 match winners into the side as Geelong have with Danger,Tohue, they have complemented their side.

We played pretty good footy for 3 qtrs and fell away disappointingly in the last. No real biggie. Adjust and learn. Signs are fine. We aren't winning the flag this year.
We were failing in one quarter last season and dropped games as a result- no lessons have been learnt obviously. To win a flag, each season needs to be a step up, but we have stepped back two seasons I believe.

We need to find an alternitive to bruce in the ruck

I love Bruce but it is killing him overall when he rucks

Agree with this. When Bruce goes into the ruck and with Roo up the field we are left with no forward structure, pretty much just Membrey. Paddy or possibly Marshal need to come in to straighten us up a bit.

-24 in contested ball.

-5 in clearance. God forbid we could at least match a team let alone with that area for once.

Steven and Ross the only players who can rack up touches.

But yes the major problem with the team is the 5 mins a quarter that Bruce goes into the ruck.

Staggering.

Could have done with this type of bloke on Selwood yesterday

Former St Kilda Player Goes Berserk In The WAFL

Jones, who captains the Perth Demons, has long been a strong ball winner at WAFL level, averaging 33.5 disposals a match from the start of last year.But, on Saturday, he smashed that out of the park.

The 33-year-old recorded a whopping 53 disposals in Perth's match against East Perth, made up of 24 kicks and 29 handballs. He also had five marks, four tackles and hit the scoreboard, kicking 1.2.

It was a monstrous effort from the former Saint, coming off the back of a 42-disposal match in round four.

We were failing in one quarter last season and dropped games as a result- no lessons have been learnt obviously. To win a flag, each season needs to be a step up, but we have stepped back two seasons I believe.
I don't believe we have, we played a very good brand of footy last night i would say better then the last 1/2 of last season so the progress is there just not enough of it.

Yes, but what does that mean? Where do we need to improve?

1. To me it is outside run from the middle - this needs to be focus of recruiting / drafting etc and we all know that (combined with young players like Gresham and Acres developing foot skills and disposal), and
  2. Need to adjust game plan when things go wrong. It seems the game plan does not have a back up, Geelong spread very well and got the ball in to their forward line well, the way we play needs to adjust either take it on or do something different.

I have faith that improvement will occur, have always thought this year is about development but improvement comes from analysis and action it will not just occur. Would have loved a win against a team like Geelong.

Gotta have faith I spose these will eventually occur

We were smashed in the fourth by the Dees, the Eagles and Cats blew us away in the fourth, we fell away in the fourth against the Pies and Lions so there's definitely a problem there.
And as someone pointed out that was the theme for a large part of last year as well.

I'm hoping the coach is devising a plan.

I've slept on in and I'm still fuming (good to see richo was also ropeable in his members message)

But ill start with the positives because I'm stupidly optimistic.

Ross- Star, he was huge yesterday

Longers first half, died in the ass after half time.. hope he gets a few weeks

Steven- good return, little fumbly but will be better for the run

Newnes/Weller/Geary- getting a little flack on here but these fellas are heart and soul for us, weller and gearys efforts on the wing were massive and had the crowd roaring

Billings/Acres/Steele- the sooner these three get 10% better we'll win games like yesterday.. we are crying out for a clearance machine and steele and acres look the most likely on our list. Billings was good yesterday i dont get his knockers at all, couple of turnovers but one was steele lack of talk and the other bruce gave a half assed lead. His body language is significantly better after the brisbane game and he racks it up across half forward which can be tough to do.

Brown/Carlisle- brown was fantastic, carlisle a little quieter but still not beaten.. breath of fresh air knowing we can compete in the air in our back 50 again

And onto the negatives...

Gresh/Long- first bad game he's played, he'll learn.. to suggest vfl is absurd, we're a team of soldiers and he offers a point of difference. Long is a kid he'll have his speedbumps, looked reactionary yesterday but i reckon they may give him a month

Our F50 entries- FFS if we sit it on poor membrey or Bruce's head next week we will be slaughtered.. lower the eyes

Bruce in the ruck- billy did get a couple of big knocks which impacted his TOG so will be interested to see how it all works out this week

Clearances- selwood bullied us inside, crying out for another animal in there

Dunstan- a ross like apprenticeship in the magoos wouldn't go astray, got to be better.. ball in hand he's good, neat sidestep and uses it well but 12 is horrid... needs a few weeks in the vfl, i still believe he could be great for us (5kgs lighter)

Dissapointing but looking forward to seeing how we respond, yesterday was a perfect example of a game I'd be hoping that from rounds 15-23 one of our young kids grabs and goes bang with clearances and snags (acres, billings, gresh, steele etc.)

Go saints

Review Saints vs Cats review