Season 2013 Division 2

Mernda 3 goals over Epping 2day @ Epping.
Epping 3-4 out , mernda 6-7 out (bux day)
Mernda - Harder , faster , more desperate.
GOOD SIGNS. New recruit from NT looked really good , tough match-up for opposition sides.
So Mernda had more players out and still won, says Epping are in big trouble in D1, won't win a game, Mernda will finish top three

2013 Div. 2 Season Preview
Ladder:
1. 1. Whittlesea
2. 2/ Hurstbridge
3. 3. North Heidelberg
4. 4. South Morang
5. 5. Lalor
6. 6. Diamond Creek
7. 7. Fitzroy Stars
8. 50 metres of shit
9. Another 50 metres of shit
10. 8, Mernda
Whittlesea – Team first approach will lead the Eagles up the ladder to premiership glory. New recruit Frazer Desk aka D-money will own the forward 50 until the cows come home.
Hurstbridge – Their tactics of switching the ball into the guts in the second quarter will win them games in the middle of the year. Team motto is build a bridge and beat Diamond Creek.
North Heidelberg aka Shane Harvey aka God.
South Morang – New train station will land them some handy recruits, and will keep them on track this year.
Lalor – New recruit Tim Lamp will kick 150 goals while 7 foot ruckman Michael Table is the fastest player in the comp.
Diamond Creek – Rumours of Dustin Martin coming to the club have died off lately. Look for them to sell cans of corn in round 17 (NFL corn round).
Fitzroy Stars – The new coach Roy Clock wanted a new polo shirt, but the president said “you’re old one still fits Roy.”
Mernda – Crawling through 100m of shit could a shit fight. 0 and 18.
B&F
1st – Shane Harvey
2nd – Dustin Martin
3rd – Tim Lamp
LADDER
North
Mernda
Fitzroy Stars
Diamond Creek
Whittlesea
Hurstbridge
Lalor
South Morang 0-18

LADDER
North-If it wasn't for Harves, give it to Mernda
Mernda- Quick, young, hungry, they remind me of a D2 version of Northcote Park
Fitzroy Stars- Back to their home ground, play a good brand of footy
Diamond Creek- Will like normal fall away 2nd half of the season
Whittlesea- Recruits will not help them
Hurstbridge- Just no good enough but will be a little competitive
Lalor- Lucky Morang are in D2
South Morang 0-18
-Sorry Lions back to D3

whittlesea v south morang - whittlesea by 10 goals, gonna be a long year for the lions
hurstbridge v fitzroy - despite the upset end of last year stars too good 28 points
diamond creek v north heidlberg - game of the round, despite north being favorites, creek on home ground 6 points
lalor v mernda - mernda to have a flying start to beat lalor, missing sheppard will drop off the pace mernda 24 points :thumbsu:

Whittlesea Vs South Morang - still think Whittlesea are the ones to beat. Will get off to a flyer.
Hurstbridge Vs Fitzroy Stars - Fitzroy were very good last year and should get off to another good start.
Diamond Creek Vs North Heidelberg - should be a cracker. Think North will sneak home.
Lalor Vs Mernda - biased or not, should be a good game. We might have beaten Epping but feet firmly planted on the ground, we were outplayed in our two other practice matches but it seems we finally got it together. A win would be an excellent start.

Whittlesea Vs South Morang - still think Whittlesea are the ones to beat. Will get off to a flyer.
Hurstbridge Vs Fitzroy Stars - Fitzroy were very good last year and should get off to another good start.
Diamond Creek Vs North Heidelberg - should be a cracker. Think North will sneak home.
Lalor Vs Mernda - biased or not, should be a good game. We might have beaten Epping but feet firmly planted on the ground, we were outplayed in our two other practice matches but it seems we finally got it together. A win would be an excellent start.

Whittlesea v South Mornag- The Eagles by a long way
Fitzroy Stars v Hurstbridge- Stars far too talented and quick for Bridge
North Heidelberg too string in a tight one over Creek.
Even with Mernda missing quite a few players due to a wedding, will easily account for Lalor, lucky they aren't playing a better side as Mernda's twos are woeful, so the depth not there to play in 2nd Div

I think all you blokes are writing hurstbridge off nice and early ... Yes they might struggle to make finals but they have picked up some quality div 1 players .. I think finals or just outside will be a great season for them !! Whittlesea will be the team to beat !!

Premiers Whittlesea
Runners up diamond creek
Ladder - Whittlesea
Diamo
North Heidelberg
Fitzroy/ hurstbridge
Mernda
South morang
Lalor

Goal kicker - Fairchild

Hurstbridge v fitzroy a potential spiteful game Hurstie by 11 points
Norf v creek , norf by 4 points
Mernda v Lalor , Mernda by 10 goals
Whittlesea v south morang , Whittlesea by 90

I think all you blokes are writing hurstbridge off nice and early ... Yes they might struggle to make finals but they have picked up some quality div 1 players .. I think finals or just outside will be a great season for them !! Whittlesea will be the team to beat !!

Not writing off Hurstbridge, should be a lot more competitive. Just think Fitzroy will get up to start their season.

Whittlesea v South Mornag- The Eagles by a long way
Fitzroy Stars v Hurstbridge- Stars far too talented and quick for Bridge
North Heidelberg too string in a tight one over Creek.
Even with Mernda missing quite a few players due to a wedding, will easily account for Lalor, lucky they aren't playing a better side as Mernda's twos are woeful, so the depth not there to play in 2nd Div
I think you will find that once Merndas side is finalised the 2's will be alright

Yeah the 2's will be a difficult side to play this year IMO. Have about 40 blokes competing for 22 spots - new blokes, last year's 19s and the 19s who were meant to play 19s this year all making efforts to win a spot.

Creek by 5 goals - been very quite on here , but heard they picked up some quality recruits
Stars by 8 goals - expecting them to push for a shot at div1
Mernda by 10 goals - lalor to push for div3 IMO
Whittlesea by 25 goals - morang TERRIBLE.

Unfortunately I don't think the 2s will 'be finalised' for the whole season. Not really a concern , think the 2s have had a great past few seasons , BUT time to put the clubs future first & to me this means cementing the young blokes position in the club.
May upset the performance this year , but will strengthen the FUTURE of the club.
A bit of pain , for a lot of gain IMO.

Premiership: North Heidelberg
Runners-Up: Whittlesea

1 - North Heidelberg
2 - Whittlesea
3 - Diamond Creek
4 - Mernda
5 - Fitzroy Stars
6 - South Morang
7 - Hurstbridge
8 - Lalor

Whittlesea vs South Morang. JC's Eagles are prohibitive pre-season premiership favourites.
Hurstbridge vs Fitzroy Stars. Not confident but gotta select one ......
Diamond Creek vs North Heidelberg. Not much news from both teams in the off-season.
Lalor vs Mernda. A big test for the returnees, but should be able to get off to a flyer.

gday all im new here and enjoying the banter tips for round 1 eagles, bridges,my old mate blythey and his boys at creek and to round it out bloods at home. bring on the footy

Pre- seasons all done and dusted now for the real stuff.
Whittlesea v South Morang. Flag favorites will be far to strong for the struggling Lions 124pts
Hurstbridge v Fitzroy stars. Looking forward to seeing how the Bridges compete in 2013. Had some very handy youngsters running around in 2012 who should only improve with the quality and experience they have recruited in the off season. Think the Stars will still be there pushing finals, just fancy the Bridges on there home turf. 11pts
Diamond Creek v North Heidelberg. The top 2 challenges to the eagles in 2013. Both sides will be disapointed with how 2012 finished and will be looking to make amends.If Creek can restrict the delivery to Harvey and hold him to a handfull they should come out on top. Should be a cracker of a game. Creek by 5pts
Lalor v Mernda. Not much love for the bloods on this board at the moment, lost some quality from last year which will be difficult to replace. Still have some quality in Hughes, Morrison, Ventura etc running around. The Demons will be up and about full of confidence after there Div 3 flag. Some great young talent who move the ball well. Another close encounter here. Think the experience and home ground advantage will get the Bloods over the line. 22pts.

creek vs north, great game of footy to watch, creek looked done at the 3rd quater with 5 injuries, not being able to field the full 18, but put in gut running and showed heart to knock off a good looking north squad

Well how come you are playing a guy well into his 40s, while many youngsters watched on and all he did was turn the ball over, saw a 2s side that showed no mateship, disinterested and lost

Are Lalor that bad or Mernda that good? It is the latter, watch out all you other sides, chalk and cheese with their attitude etc from their twos.Lalor will also win their fair share of games as well (yes I was wrong)especially as they get their fitness levels up

Unfortunately I don't think the 2s will 'be finalised' for the whole season. Not really a concern , think the 2s have had a great past few seasons , BUT time to put the clubs future first & to me this means cementing the young blokes position in the club.
May upset the performance this year , but will strengthen the FUTURE of the club.
A bit of pain , for a lot of gain IMO.
Then why are you playing a guy in his 40s w
while youngsters looked on, your twos were disinterested, no mateship, no go, was a very interested eaves dropper after this game with three players having a "why play here " conversation, apparently two played in the D3 ones GF

Then why are you playing a guy in his 40s w
while youngsters looked on, your twos were disinterested, no mateship, no go, was a very interested eaves dropper after this game with three players having a "why play here " conversation, apparently two played in the D3 ones GF
No players in their 40's at Mernda. With the ability in the senior side it is always going to be a struggle to please all players. It is now a fight to get onto the 1's, not walk up start as has been in the past. The two players dropped, would by their own admission, not have been playing or training at their peak in the pre season. Mernda will have another ace up their sleeve next week. Bring on Whittlesea.

Roaring Two said last year (just wondering did anyone else hear the rumour that hurstbridge paid fitzroy stars a substantial amount of money to loose?) I surpose you think this happened again. What happen to your mob, Didn't you paid enough.

No players in their 40's at Mernda. With the ability in the senior side it is always going to be a struggle to please all players. It is now a fight to get onto the 1's, not walk up start as has been in the past. The two players dropped, would by their own admission, not have been playing or training at their peak in the pre season. Mernda will have another ace up their sleeve next week. Bring on Whittlesea.
No. 5 is not 40?, anyway I think you will beat Whittlesea by 4 - 5 goals, you are a very good side, but don't get injuries, only about 4 players in twos who looked any good

Ripping game of footy up at Hurstbridge yesterday very quick and tough game. Both sides will be in the mix come finals time I have no doubt.. Ben Fennell for HB is an absolute jet and the young bloke Francis from Macleod can play a bit too. Keep an eye on number 22 for the stars, name escapes me, he did some special things yesterday as well.

Season 2013 Division 2