Seriously is it time to merge some of the Vic clubs?

The AFL have become a bunch of vic-centric doush bags. If they want it to be a truly national game they cant treat a heart land like Tasmania like they are nothing.

Tasmania's population is 500k? Very limited growth prospects, it's not smart to have an AFL club there from a business sense. The Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney on the other hand...

Either that or cut them out of the league altogether.

I'm talking the ones that are constantly struggling on and off the field. Melbourne, Roos, Bulldogs and to a lesser extent Saints. Richmond have a large following and seem to finally be getting their act together so they are ok. Would balance the league up a bit.
Seriously is it time to laugh out loud at yet another non-Victorian supporter Vic bashing?

This whingeing has been going on since the Eagles got their go ahead to join the league :rolleyes:

Let the smaller clubs play in the VFL

A number of suburban clubs all around australia have been relegated to 2nd tier competition - same should happen to ex-VFL clubs who aren't competitive in a national competition.

Victorians are right in that WC and Brisbane et al joined the competition. (Sydney aside) - however the league is now a national competition of elite talent and significant support. There has to be a point at which Victorians accept that the suburban VFL they once followed is no longer a suburban competition.

Either that or cut them out of the league altogether.

I'm talking the ones that are constantly struggling on and off the field. Melbourne, Roos, Bulldogs and to a lesser extent Saints. Richmond have a large following and seem to finally be getting their act together so they are ok. Would balance the league up a bit.

who would West Coast like to merge with?

Tasmania's population is 500k? Very limited growth prospects, it's not smart to have an AFL club there from a business sense. The Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney on the other hand...

I'd assume that being a football state, Tasmania would have a very high percentage of people supporting there team. You only need a consistent 35k crowd to out gun a North, Bulldogs etc.l

I actually agree.

What amazes me about this post is not the predictable kicking of the Demons while we're down. It's that Cudi continues to have my club down as the one he supposedly supports around this place.

We are not struggling off the field. That's so untrue it's absurd.

1. We are debt-free.

2. Six consecutive membership records - total membership up 50% over this period.

3. Two consecutive record profits in the last 2 years.

4. As of the last home match we played, our home attendance this year was 7th-highest in the league. And that after we've been at the bottom or fairly close to it since 2007.

Anyone who seriously continues to believe, in spite of these obvious realities, that we're somehow struggling off the field, is an idiot.

Ok we'll go back to the vfl you guys can go back to the wafl and the sanfl and we'll see who has the better league.

:thumbsu:

Also, I like people nomination North Melbourne for the on/off field troubles.

On field, we sorta had 10 straight good years in the 90s, along with a fairly acceptable 2000s with Laidley and two 9th finishes with Scott isn't horrendous.

Off field, we've just raised $1 mil in 5 months, upgraded Arden Street Oval to an outstanding degree and our membership is far better than previous years.

We're far from struggling.

If you were building a league from scratch there is no way you would have this many Melbourne sides. The thing is we are not building a league from scratch. No Victorian side wants to get relegated to a backwater league. Even though it was fine for them to do it to many great clubs in the WAFL and SANFL. It really is a pity that some Melbourne clubs are in the AFL while some clubs 100 times more worthy were basically killed off in WA and SA. But thats the way it is and it isn't going to change.

It would be nice for some Melbourne sides to relocate or go back to the VFL and I would be more than happy to see that happen. But as it stands I am also very happy that there are a handful of pathetic Victorian clubs that will never compete against my club for a premiership. They dont have the money and resources to compete against the big boys. Take a look at which clubs have made the Grand Final in the last decade and you will see this to be true.

Merge eagles and freo

Yep. We don't need two teams in that area. I'm sure WC fans such as the OP, due to their large concern with the amount of teams in the AFL, will happily oblige.

P.S. Melbourne is in no way struggling off the field. Facts or GTFO. :eek:

But as it stands I am also very happy that there are a handful of pathetic Victorian clubs that will never compete against my club for a premiership. They dont have the money and resources to compete against the big boys. Take a look at which clubs have made the Grand Final in the last decade and you will see this to be true.

Arrogance much?

10 years?

So you got two big clubs, pies and eagles.

Geelong, consistent, wouldn't call them big yet, they are building from good to great.
Hawks, well they think they are huge club. :D
Port Adelaide, big?
St Kilda, big?
Brisbane Lions, big?
Sydney Swans, big?

Now go to the prelims,

Dogs
North

Demons in 2000 grand final.

What's your point?

in the end of the day, i think 18 clubs isn't really sustainable. i'm of the opinion that teams 17 and 18 should never have really been introduced, and 10 teams for vic is probably a bit too much. very hard to kill off clubs though.

i do think however that the diluting of the talent pool is a problem that will solve itself. more players in the system means more players are going to be exposed to an environment where they can develop. might be a bit thin now but i reckon it can only get better..

in the end of the day, i think 18 clubs isn't really sustainable. i'm of the opinion that teams 17 and 18 should never have really been introduced, and 10 teams for vic is probably a bit too much. very hard to kill off clubs though.

Melb needs a third stadium, 9 clubs sharing 3 stadiums.

Target the sub 20 crowds at G and etihad, profit like the cats do at the smaller ground.

It is not really an issue at the moment as TV which bankrolls the AFL is happy to broadcast 9 games at the moment.

If this changes though or the amount paid for the TV rights is less the landscape could change so that the AFL is forced to merge teams.

Arrogance much?

10 years?

So you got two big clubs, pies and eagles.

Geelong, consistent, wouldn't call them big yet, they are building from good to great.
Hawks, well they think they are huge club. :D
Port Adelaide, big?
St Kilda, big?
Brisbane Lions, big?
Sydney Swans, big?

Now go to the prelims,

Dogs
North

Demons in 2000 grand final.

What's your point?

Blind much?

How much more professional has the game become in the last 10 years? And I am not talking about being big as in the stupid Victorian Big4. I am talking big in off field resources, money spent on football departments, facilities and player welfare. Most of those teams you listed to knock back my arguement fit that bill.

Sure you will get a few clubs that get up the top on other factors. Many high draft picks, lucky with injuries, salary cap / draft concessions. That will get them so far. Unfortunately for them it just wont get them far enough.

Bringing up prelims just proves the point. Close but just not close enough.

Why would we need too?

why wouldn't you?

If the idea is to create bigger crowds and therefore revenue, giving the likes of the Eagles a strong Melbourne supporter base makes as much if not more sense than merging Merging the likes of Melbourne and North who only struggle with crowds when playing the likes of the Eagles.

and you've then got 1 less Melbourne team.

Everyone is happy.

Its always merge someone else's team

How about we merge West Coast, Freo, GWS, Gold Coast, Hawks, Bulldogs, Geelong, Brisbane, Adelaide, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Melbourne, Essendon, Collingwood, Sydney, Richmond and Carlton.

Leave North Melbourne by itself because it won a premiership, a couple of times.

2 team comp :thumbsu:

Blind much?

How much more professional has the game become in the last 10 years? And I am not talking about being big as in the stupid Victorian Big4. I am talking big in off field resources, money spent on football departments, facilities and player welfare. Most of those teams you listed to knock back my arguement fit that bill.

Sure you will get a few clubs that get up the top on other factors. Many high draft picks, lucky with injuries, salary cap / draft concessions. That will get them so far. Unfortunately for them it just wont get them far enough.

Bringing up prelims just proves the point. Close but just not close enough.

I think you'll find that most clubs are getting facility upgrades. The comp is progressing and changes are happening at clubs.

You will find clubs like demons focused on debts and with the correct management can move forward pumping money into footy department. Some clubs need a bottom out off field or the "feel" that they have no tomorrow to rebuild their clubs and culture.....Pies, Cats, some would say Hawks with the whole merger thing. Look at those three now, pies are massive, hawks have built a strong second home and cats have rebuilt into a good club.

You guys were lucky you had Cook to build you into a powerhouse and Geelong is just as lucky to have him rebuild our club into what it is today with the right people around him.

Also, wasn't that long ago you mob had a spoon.

A few clubs are down, but not out. Not everybody can be up at the sametime!

I'd assume that being a football state, Tasmania would have a very high percentage of people supporting there team. You only need a consistent 35k crowd to out gun a North, Bulldogs etc.l
Agreed. Its not like 50% of NSW is going to support an AFL team (more like 5%). I reckon 50% of Tassie would support a Tassie team.

2 problems: - We were one of the 1st states to adopt Australian Football.
- We're a footy mad state.

That means we've already adopted a team into our lives. In my case, North Melbourne is a 4th generation team in my family. Just because you plot a team here, I'm not going to drop NM and I know for a fact that my mates won't drop their respective teams either.