• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFNL Div 3 2017

D

Do you have a good understanding of council policy? Why can't Doveton in the SFL charge at the gate when Doveton in the SEFL can? Doesn't make much sense
i just think people are abit sour because no one elses charges which is fair enough but like i have said previously theres ways around it to help clubs out

dont think its sour at all. funny never charged before but now your club signs 2 ex afl players and few others from other clubs on $$ the eagles wana charge everyone.
if ya cant afford them dont sign them up simple. might charge double when you blokes venture to the falcs

My understanding is that it is against council policy to charge an entry fee for community sport and also that clubs cannot charge a fully paid up member of an opposition club.

Neither is true. We made the league and council aware of our plans for this year.

We also got a list from Lyndhurst of players and officials for the day and none of them paid.

If we wanted to charge everyone $5 to enter we could. There is no rule saying you can't charge opposition members. Every other league does it every week. Supporters and players in those leagues have no problem with supporting local footy.

there's like 2 teams with fences around the ground ace. i think you boys realised how much ya actually spending on players and thought shit we need more cash

Our venue is not fully fenced. The fence is irrelevant. Any club can set up a "gate" and most people will come over to pay regardless of where they entered. We had plenty do that on Saturday. I'm sure plenty didn't pay also.

Our club is trying to do something different this year in bringing Robbo onboard. So far it's been a big plus for us off field and we hope it will be a big plus for other clubs as well. I'm sure Endeavour Hills won't be complaining if Robbo brings a few more people to their home game this week.

dont think its sour at all. funny never charged before but now your club signs 2 ex afl players and few others from other clubs on $$ the eagles wana charge everyone.
if ya cant afford them dont sign them up simple. might charge double when you blokes venture to the falcs
You don't think end hills will do better over the bar and canteen this week?

If I was you guys I'd be promoting to your supporters that you have Robbo coming to play this week.

still looking for players up in mackay magpies now have work for a sparky good wagers looking for key forward or back in north queensland

Neither is true. We made the league and council aware of our plans for this year.

We also got a list from Lyndhurst of players and officials for the day and none of them paid.

If we wanted to charge everyone $5 to enter we could. There is no rule saying you can't charge opposition members. Every other league does it every week. Supporters and players in those leagues have no problem with supporting local footy.

It's not supporting local footy in this case though... it's supporting doveton... if everyone charges $10 to get in that's the same as no one charging anything... all clubs are on a level playing field...
you should already be able to smash everyone with your cap as it is...

You don't think end hills will do better over the bar and canteen this week?

If I was you guys I'd be promoting to your supporters that you have Robbo coming to play this week.
Is it allowed to charge players and staff only?
Maybe everyone else should charge doveton players to come to their grounds to even it up a bit... would only be loose change for them anyways

It's not supporting local footy in this case though... it's supporting doveton... if everyone charges $10 to get in that's the same as no one charging anything... all clubs are on a level playing field...
you should already be able to smash everyone with your cap as it is...

We charged $5 but I see what your saying.

It's not the same as no one charging anything. It's $500-$1000 into a clubs takings at each home game that they wouldn't normally get. It also allows clubs to sell social memberships etc that have value due to free entry.

We charged $5 but I see what your saying.

It's not the same as no one charging anything. It's $500-$1000 into a clubs takings at each home game that they wouldn't normally get. It also allows clubs to sell social memberships etc that have value due to free entry.

Nah I get that... it can only be a positive thing for any club charging... and your reasons for charging aside (paying copious amounts for players)
There is no way that ashwood could possibly charge people... we would anyways unless everyone else was doing it... but there's 300 degrees of access from the streets around the ground... the road where people park is only 60m from the ground so a gate at the car park entrance wouldn't work...
lyndale is the same
South Yarra is the same... black rock is the same

Nah I get that... it can only be a positive thing for any club charging... and your reasons for charging aside (paying copious amounts for players)
There is no way that ashwood could possibly charge people... we would anyways unless everyone else was doing it... but there's 300 degrees of access from the streets around the ground... the road where people park is only 60m from the ground so a gate at the car park entrance wouldn't work...
lyndale is the same

Yeah your not going to get everyone, or even most of them. You will get some that are happy to support you though and if you make $200 only, it's $200 you didn't have.

lyndale is the same

Moorabbin is the same

Yeah your not going to get everyone, or even most of them. You will get some that are happy to support you though and if you make $200 only, it's $200 you didn't have.

No one seems to be stressing out about this 200-500-1k or what ever it is but when one side is getting an extra 5k to 8k a year from charging supporters to come watch their friends.. that's what's frustrating
If Dandenong and sandown started charging ya might understand they need the money etc... not the club that has/spends the most money and has just picked up two ex afl players... next you'll be applying for a pokies license

No one seems to be stressing out about this 200-500-1k or what ever it is but when one side is getting an extra 5k to 8k a year from charging supporters to come watch their friends.. that's what's frustrating
If Dandenong and sandown started charging ya might understand they need the money etc... not the club that has/spends the most money and has just picked up two ex afl players... next you'll be applying for a pokies license

Well I no one thing it's a huge gamble they are taking with these guys as if it works and pays its way for them by getting extra people coming to watch these guys good on them but if not and it backfires it will be the end of Doveton eagles as if there is no $ next year half these blokes will be gone and a lot of there recruits this year came with the coach so they all live a fair drive from Doveton so I doubt they will be the types that hang around to long and I no a few x players that went to watch Hallam and said they will now more often as they won't pay to go watch a club they played at for nothing for years and now they have to pay to go watch them after years of service and spending all this $ on others that will take the $ and be gone in a year or two and probably never be seen around the club again

Someone said a while ago it was premiership or bust for ashwood this year... which was a rediculous call and maybe it should be more directed at doveton
I'm sure they won't be folding any time soon but they'll look like idiots recruiting ex afl players and being the only club to charge at the gate then not winning the granny

Doveton can charge a gate fee to pay an ex AFL hack but they will judged every time by opposition clubs and their supporters everytime they deny access to their Div 3 ground until the person pays them to watch. They are Disrespectful and 'full-of-themselves".

All clubs without fences MUST charge Doveton a fee when they play at your ground. In other leagues they would charge Doveton Football Club a $500 changeroom hire and cleaning charge.

If Doveton can impose fees on the opposition then all clubs feel free to charge them for use of the room

Surely the SFNL head honchos can see this is a disgrace and makes the competition elite from clubs with and without fences. Maybe set up different leagues called fence and Un fences.

All Div 3 clubs playing Doveton just walk through the gate in protest, tell the volunteers at the gate you are not paying, what are they going to do, Call the police??? Please. What charge, attending a public place owned by the COUNCIL not the club. Does the COUNCIL know Doveton are charging the community a fee to use their facilities, bet they don't

Nah, do what we do, walk through the gate and tell them to stick their charge up Robbi's big butt. Or even better just boycott playing them

Very dangerous Precident Doveton of are heading down and the poor volunteers at the gate will feel the angst.

Get off you fat butts Doveton committee and get an additional sponsor or 2 on board so you can get rid of this disrespectful charge. Don't care if $5 $10 whatever, you are a disgrace just charging it

Doveton can charge a gate fee to pay an ex AFL hack but they will judged every time by opposition clubs and their supporters everytime they deny access to their Div 3 ground until the person pays them to watch. They are Disrespectful and 'full-of-themselves".

All clubs without fences MUST charge Doveton a fee when they play at your ground. In other leagues they would charge Doveton Football Club a $500 changeroom hire and cleaning charge.

If Doveton can impose fees on the opposition then all clubs feel free to charge them for use of the room

Surely the SFNL head honchos can see this is a disgrace and makes the competition elite from clubs with and without fences. Maybe set up different leagues called fence and Un fences.

All Div 3 clubs playing Doveton just walk through the gate in protest, tell the volunteers at the gate you are not paying, what are they going to do, Call the police??? Please. What charge, attending a public place owned by the COUNCIL not the club. Does the COUNCIL know Doveton are charging the community a fee to use their facilities, bet they don't

Nah, do what we do, walk through the gate and tell them to stick their charge up Robbi's big butt. Or even better just boycott playing them

Very dangerous Precident Doveton of are heading down and the poor volunteers at the gate will feel the angst.

Get off you fat butts Doveton committee and get an additional sponsor or 2 on board so you can get rid of this disrespectful charge. Don't care if $5 $10 whatever, you are a disgrace just charging it
We have not charged opposition Teams at all and we've encouraged other clubs to set up a gate when we play them you peanut.

No one charges room hire fees anywhere. Absolute dribble.

As I've said before, the council and league are informed on what we are doing, which is no different to any other club outside the SFL, only we are cheaper and not charging the opposition.

And our sponsorship is up on last year thanks to some great work by some of our committee members.

Someone said a while ago it was premiership or bust for ashwood this year... which was a rediculous call and maybe it should be more directed at doveton
I'm sure they won't be folding any time soon but they'll look like idiots recruiting ex afl players and being the only club to charge at the gate then not winning the granny

I'm pretty sure every club would have jumped at the chance to have Robbo play for them this year. Not sure how that makes our club look foolish?

We are a small club that had an opportunity to try something different and bring a "name" player Onboard.

We are in an area where many clubs, (including us) are struggling for several reasons. So far it's been a good move for us.

We are doing other things, like getting the clubs first u19s up and going and working hard on relationships with junior clubs in the area, so it's not like this is all or nothing for us.

Yeah we want to win a flag, like every club in the Comp but if it's Ashwoods year, or Hallam or whoever, we won't feel stupid for trying something. Our players and supporters had a great day seeing Robbo take the field as an eagle. And I reckon the Lyndhurst players that played on him went home with an experience they'll remember as well.

We haven't just locked him in for home games. He'll be playing at some away grounds and we are hoping he boosts the numbers for other clubs along the way.

I'm pretty sure every club would have jumped at the chance to have Robbo play for them this year. Not sure how that makes our club look foolish?

We are a small club that had an opportunity to try something different and bring a "name" player Onboard.

We are in an area where many clubs, (including us) are struggling for several reasons. So far it's been a good move for us.

We are doing other things, like getting the clubs first u19s up and going and working hard on relationships with junior clubs in the area, so it's not like this is all or nothing for us.

Yeah we want to win a flag, like every club in the Comp but if it's Ashwoods year, or Hallam or whoever, we won't feel stupid for trying something. Our players and supporters had a great day seeing Robbo take the field as an eagle. And I reckon the Lyndhurst players that played on him went home with an experience they'll remember as well.

We haven't just locked him in for home games. He'll be playing at some away grounds and we are hoping he boosts the numbers for other clubs along the way.
It's all well and good but your charging everyone else to pay for them
Shove it up your a$$

SFNL Div 3 2017