Autopsy Snow bunnies beat the Hawks

You probably saw him play, Jack's worth two players anyway, wouldn't you agree?

Have a close look at Gunston's face when Jack was bearing down on him, no wonder he missed the goal, he just wanted to get rid of the ball, anyway he could.

Viney is a star tough and hard, I'm not salty about the fact you knocked us out I just think Eagles will get the chocolates, think it will be close though.

What about round 22 Eagles in WA without Lever, Hogan and Viney? (just in case you want to bring up Darling and Kennedy), headed in the last and fought back to win comfortably.

What is with the "sore loser" attitude you guys have on here? We won and you just can't accept it. You have so much experience i your side but we still won. BTW you still got more free kicks than us anyway, despite all the bitching about the umpires.

You have 8 players that will be 30 plus and 2 that will be 29 plus at the beginning of next season, I'd be more worried about that if I were you. That's what happens when you take established players from other clubs and don't develop your own. And before you start to go on about Melbourne getting high picks in the draft, remember where you got the backbone of your premiership sides. Hodge 1 Roughy 2 Buddy 5 Lewis 7 Birchall 14 Rioli 12. Then you have cherry picked other club's talent, Mitchell, Burgoyne, O'Meara, Frawley, Gunston, now all the majority of posters on here want to do is poach some more.

I've supported Melbourne for over 60 years and I've put up with mainly crap since 1964, but I would never change and that's what a supporter does, he puts up with the good and in our case mainly bad, we don't throw a hissey fit if we lose. Some of the reactions on here are like little children that didn't get the right toy for their birthday and I thought that Hawthorn were a better club than that. How about you congratulate Melbourne for winning and stop trying to find excuses as to why you lost.

I don't expect this post to last but hope that a few of the more sensible posters on her take note.

We also beat GWS by 45 points, Geelong by 29 points and Hawthorn by 33, that enough to satisfy, 4 of the top 8.

Haha. You got pick 3 for Frawley mate. And you’re whining about us poaching players. You clearly won that deal for being shit and copping 150 point beltings. Meanwhile we lost pick 19 for Bud. Cry me a ferken river. Looking forward to you bending over on Sat too. Run along dickhead.

What is with the "sore loser" attitude you guys have on here? We won and you just can't accept it. You have so much experience i your side but we still won. BTW you still got more free kicks than us anyway, despite all the bitching about the umpires.

I've supported Melbourne for over 60 years and I've put up with mainly crap since 1964, but I would never change and that's what a supporter does, he puts up with the good and in our case mainly bad, we don't throw a hissey fit if we lose. Some of the reactions on here are like little children that didn't get the right toy for their birthday and I thought that Hawthorn were a better club than that. How about you congratulate Melbourne for winning and stop trying to find excuses as to why you lost.

Are you judging us all to be 'sore losers' and who'who can't accept it'? It, what is it?

Think back to when you were a young lad and melbum were ok. Now imagine that same lad today if his melbum were any good since 1964. What kind of smug prick do you think he would be? Probably not to dissimilar to the one one here now with the case of acknowledge us because our team is no longer shit and you should congratulate us.

If some of our kids in our forum want to throw their toys out of their cot, then so be it.

Didn't seem to have the same trust in his marking compared to pre injury, that was just my observation I don't think he was terrible or anything.
There was one play in the 3rd quarter where Sicily had a free run at it to float in front and take an spoil /mark and but he stayed down and Melbourne too an easy mark. I was filthy with him for that, one thing that is nit negotiable is to go when it's your turn. And that is Sicily's main role and he just didn't go for it.

What about round 22 Eagles in WA without Lever, Hogan and Viney? (just in case you want to bring up Darling and Kennedy), headed in the last and fought back to win comfortably.

You have 8 players that will be 30 plus and 2 that will be 29 plus at the beginning of next season, I'd be more worried about that if I were you. That's what happens when you take established players from other clubs and don't develop your own. And before you start to go on about Melbourne getting high picks in the draft, remember where you got the backbone of your premiership sides. Hodge 1 Roughy 2 Buddy 5 Lewis 7 Birchall 14 Rioli 12. Then you have cherry picked other club's talent, Mitchell, Burgoyne, O'Meara, Frawley, Gunston, now all the majority of posters on here want to do is poach some more.

I don't expect this post to last but hope that a few of the more sensible posters on her take note.

We also beat GWS by 45 points, Geelong by 29 points and Hawthorn by 33, that enough to satisfy, 4 of the top 8.

**** me, you sound like a senile old w***er. Go take your meds, jump in your Range-Rover, and drive into oncoming traffic.

And, no, we DON'T want to hear from you again, so DON'T reply

I guess, in terms of this year, so are Hawthorn.

Whiners are going to whine, just go for it.
Dude, that's all you've been doing in this thread. Now piss off to loserville where you've never experienced a premiership in your life (and I am gonna include this year) while we contemplate our next threepeat.

Still moaning about the below the knees free kicks on 360...
They showed 2 of them(Hawk ones) to Nathan Jones on footy show on 7 on Sunday and he said I got one 2
You didnt show my one
I dont like them but they are the rules.

They wen t on about how it could have cost Melbourne the win
yet no replay of Poppies holding the man, Breusts mark or Lewis dropping the ball or the reversal of dropping the ball to Viney

Was mentioned on the couch last night he has kicked 6 goals in his last 6 finals with 3 of them coming in 1 game.

Not a good record for someone who performs so well in the minor rounds.
It's not a good record. I don't mind if posters have a go at him for a poor performance, but I draw a pretty firm line in calling any of our players 'useless', 'pathetic' or saying that they weren't trying - especially a player who is a proven champion.

I also hate stats like the ones Brown used. Pretty convenient that he stopped at 'last 6 finals' for no reason at all. OH WAIT it's because the 2 previous finals Bruest kicked 2 and 6 goals. You can make the stats suit whatever narrative you want, but I like totals:

Luke Bruest
Games: 185
Goals: 358
Goal Assists: 170
Finals Games: 18
Finals Goals: 25

"Luke Breust doesn't try" - get f'ed

Here is a link to some interesting vision below a mate sent me of us not pulling the trigger on our offensive kicks vs the Tigers. Apparently this is just a snippet of it....there were other examples.
The wet night obviously didn’t help with the confidence to execute these kicks but this is where Birchall has been such a big loss for us and where our counter attack has been eroded somewhat. These kicks also bring runners like Smith etc into the game and keep defenders under pressure with more dangerous inside 50s entries.

Overall I thought our effort v Tigers was pretty good. If we converted a couple of chances and Stratton doesn’t go down (and in hindsight don’t play Ceglar) we push them harder than anyone in else in their last 4 Sept matches. But we couldn’t get the ball forward enough, (only 37 inside 50s and 19 scoring shots vs 66 and 27 respectively) as they defend the ground very well and we weren’t fluid enough to get around it or get the ball out of their fwd press. That’s system and lack of players for mine.
To me we were a Birchall and another effective mid and fwd out of the contest.

Then v Demons we had a couple sore (silk, Hardwick and Mitch) and missing players (even Sic with 1-2 more games under the belt goes better) and a bottom 4 with minimal game experience.
We had 4 more inside 50s than them (I thought it showed Clarko set us up quite well and that wholesale changes to his game style are not required, more so personnel) but didn’t take our chances and they did.
Melbourne allow much more opportunity than Richmond to play your game and win, (there was a net difference of 33 inside 50s) but ultimately we failed , but put Stratts and Jaeger back in and gee it’s very close for mine. We had 3 less scoring shots, I think with those 2 ins we generate a few more inside 50s and save a couple shots on goal. I think it’s a final that slipped away as much as they won and that’s why it churns.
It also raises questions of where it leaves us for 2019 and has me guessing. Clarko talks about systems but you need quality players to back it up.

I’m thinking trades like MM and Wingard would be massive and then more out of Worpel / Morrison put us in the mix, throw in a fit Birchall (he’s 30, does he have 1-2 years in him??) and there’s real optimism.

Anyway, here’s the link:

Here is a link to some interesting vision below a mate sent me of us not pulling the trigger on our offensive kicks vs the Tigers. Apparently this is just a snippet of it....there were other examples.
The wet night obviously didn’t help with the confidence to execute these kicks but this is where Birchall has been such a big loss for us and where our counter attack has been eroded somewhat. These kicks also bring runners like Smith etc into the game and keep defenders under pressure with more dangerous inside 50s entries.

Overall I thought our effort v Tigers was pretty good. If we converted a couple of chances and Stratton doesn’t go down (and in hindsight don’t play Ceglar) we push them harder than anyone in else in their last 4 Sept matches. But we couldn’t get the ball forward enough, (only 37 inside 50s and 19 scoring shots vs 66 and 27 respectively) as they defend the ground very well and we weren’t fluid enough to get around it or get the ball out of their fwd press. That’s system and lack of players for mine.
To me we were a Birchall and another effective mid and fwd out of the contest.

Then v Demons we had a couple sore (silk, Hardwick and Mitch) and missing players (even Sic with 1-2 more games under the belt goes better) and a bottom 4 with minimal game experience.
We had 4 more inside 50s than them (I thought it showed Clarko set us up quite well and that wholesale changes to his game style are not required, more so personnel) but didn’t take our chances and they did.
Melbourne allow much more opportunity than Richmond to play your game and win, (there was a net difference of 33 inside 50s) but ultimately we failed , but put Stratts and Jaeger back in and gee it’s very close for mine. We had 3 less scoring shots, I think with those 2 ins we generate a few more inside 50s and save a couple shots on goal. I think it’s a final that slipped away as much as they won and that’s why it churns.
It also raises questions of where it leaves us for 2019 and has me guessing. Clarko talks about systems but you need quality players to back it up.

I’m thinking trades like MM and Wingard would be massive and then more out of Worpel / Morrison put us in the mix, throw in a fit Birchall (he’s 30, does he have 1-2 years in him??) and there’s real optimism.

Anyway, here’s the link:

That’s fantastic footage!! Incredible how much space there is out there but didn’t have the cahoonas to pull the trigger! Back in the day, Sam, Birch, Lewis, Hodgey and Gibbo take those options. It’ll make a huge difference to the overall make up of our game style.

I presume Melbourne game will be similar. Hawks were just loathe to go inside - was it perceived pressure/second guessing? When they did, I cheered as it turned the game around.

It's human nature to be more conservative when the stakes seem higher.

No doubt it's perceived pressure and the small risks seem larger than they are, but it's also likely less confidence in teammates this year as others have said. When it's Not Hodge, Franklin, a peak fitness Roughead etc. you're double second-guessing yourself moving the ball on. That thought process alone is enough to close down the best option.

On top of all of this, the skills and abilities of our players aren't what they used to be. David Mirra hasn't nailed pressure kicks back inside the corridor in an AFL final in his life. Ditto for a big chunk of 2018's finals teams.

The shaky confidence in our Hawks was palpable a few times in 2018, from both senior and junior players. Richmond's inexperienced players had no such issues, because they had a young team coming off a flag around them. The difference was stark. They all played with a level of freedom our guys just didn't seem to have access to.

Darling and Kennedy? What about, Darling, Kennedy, Gaff and Nicnat. Their 4 best players were out. Basically Melbourne's last few weeks have been a perfect storm for them. Got WC with their best 4 players out. Then played GWS at the MCG, a ground at which they've now won 1 of their last 8 matches at.
You then get Geelong in the first week of finals - a team that wouldn't have even been in the 8 if you'd not completely choked in both games against them, with embarrassingly soft capitulations. Then you get Hawthorn, who most would admit have the shallowest midfield of any of the top 8 sides, and you get them without O'Meara. Most top 8 teams could handle having their second best mid out due to their midfield depth, but we can't, and it was a massive blow. Then Mitchell gets a shoulder injury early in the game. Not sure if true, but some on here said he played 3 quarters with a broken collarbone. We still pantsed your midfield in the second quarter with 17 inside 50s to 8, dominating contested ball and clearances. Unfortunately with O'Meara out, Mitchell hurt, and a confidence sapping 0 goals 6 in the second quarter despite all our dominance, you managed to get on top in the second half. Would have been a completely different game with O'Meara in (and not even going to mention Stratton).

I don't care who you had out. You've had 12 years of tanking and first round picks to pad your depth. We don't have the talent depth to cover injuries like you do, so you were very lucky to get us this week and not the week before when we got the closest any team has got to Richmond in a final in their last 4 finals, despite woeful inaccuracy, little input from some of our best players, and weather conditions that suited Tigers.

Some luck is always required in finals, and we've had pretty much none. You've had a charmed run.

You do realise this is the Hawthorn board right? If we want to whinge about a loss on our own board, that is our prerogative , and frankly none of your ****ing business. You must be severely autistic to think it is appropriate to come onto the Hawthorn board and whinge to us about whinging over a loss to your mob.

I've supported Melbourne for over 60 years

I'm sure that sucked for you, but that is hardly our problem. I hope your run of luck comes to an end, and WC thump you in the prelim. Better still I hope you get a win over them, and get done in the GF, so I can go onto your board and lecture your fans about how they should take the loss , and tell them what kind of whinging would be appropriate in that situation. You are a flog of the highest order.

Darling and Kennedy? What about, Darling, Kennedy, Gaff and Nicnat. Their 4 best players were out. Basically Melbourne's last few weeks have been a perfect storm for them. Got WC with their best 4 players out. Then played GWS at the MCG, a ground at which they've now won 1 of their last 8 matches at.
You then get Geelong in the first week of finals - a team that wouldn't have even been in the 8 if you'd not completely choked in both games against them, with embarrassingly soft capitulations. Then you get Hawthorn, who most would admit have the shallowest midfield of any of the top 8 sides, and you get them without O'Meara. Most top 8 teams could handle having their second best mid out due to their midfield depth, but we can't, and it was a massive blow. Then Mitchell gets a shoulder injury early in the game. Not sure if true, but some on here said he played 3 quarters with a broken collarbone. We still pantsed your midfield in the second quarter with 17 inside 50s to 8, dominating contested ball and clearances. Unfortunately with O'Meara out, Mitchell hurt, and a confidence sapping 0 goals 6 in the second quarter despite all our dominance, you managed to get on top in the second half. Would have been a completely different game with O'Meara in (and not even going to mention Stratton).

I don't care who you had out. You've had 12 years of tanking and first round picks to pad your depth. We don't have the talent depth to cover injuries like you do, so you were very lucky to get us this week and not the week before when we got the closest any team has got to Richmond in a final in their last 4 finals, despite woeful inaccuracy, little input from some of our best players, and weather conditions that suited Tigers.

Some luck is always required in finals, and we've had pretty much none. You've had a charmed run.

You do realise this is the Hawthorn board right? If we want to whinge about a loss on our own board, that is our prerogative , and frankly none of your ******* business. You must be severely autistic to think it is appropriate to come onto the Hawthorn board and whinge to us about whinging over a loss to your mob.

I'm sure that sucked for you, but that is hardly our problem. I hope your run of luck comes to an end, and WC thump you in the prelim. Better still I hope you get a win over them, and get done in the GF, so I can go onto your board and lecture your fans about how they should take the loss , and tell them what kind of whinging would be appropriate in that situation. You are a flog of the highest order.
This is one of the best rants i've read in a while. Articulate, factual, and ripped that Melbourne ponce a new one. Well played sir.

That’s fantastic footage!! Incredible how much space there is out there but didn’t have the cahoonas to pull the trigger! Back in the day, Sam, Birch, Lewis, Hodgey and Gibbo take those options. It’ll make a huge difference to the overall make up of our game style.

Yes, thanks for the footage. I think it really demonstrates the guys are getting to good spots, but they haven't 'gelled' into a cohesive unit yet.
The good stuff only comes in little bursts.

Autopsy Snow bunnies beat the Hawks