So who won trade week!?

Carlton have done well but lost a lot, Essendon just as well and lost a little less. Geelong brought in the most talent but also sacrificed the most, if they win a flag in the next few years it was a masterstroke, if they don't they might have seriously jeopardized their future. We've hit the jackpot with 2 picks in the top 10, but we need to show we've changed when it comes to being able to pick and develop the right players high up in the draft. Hard to say, Pies would be up there but depends on their dealings the next two days (I also think they gave up too much for Howe).

Richmond by a mile.
Treloar.... Oh wait
Bennell.... Oh wait
Hamish Hartlett.... Oh wait
Chris Yarran.... Still waiting to see if they actually like him or not.

It's ok... They picked up Jacob "the difference" Townsend
Don't underestimate the fact that they got through Trade week without losing a player or a Draft Pick. No mean feat.
Well done Tiges.

Yeah agree can't really understand Sydney unless they have made a deal that Essendon won't bid on Callum mills with pick 4 or 5 and they need to get rid of Craig bird as he probably was on 350k and they don't see him near there best 22 when they plan on bringing in Dunkley and mills two more midfildes

Bingo. Gentleman's agreegment to say the least, not that I agree with it. However, any increase in points is a positive anyway for us. Happy with the trade. Sinclair at least provides us with an extremely good 2nd ruck.

Carlton have done well but lost a lot, Essendon just as well and lost a little less. Geelong brought in the most talent but also sacrificed the most, if they win a flag in the next few years it was a masterstroke, if they don't they might have seriously jeopardized their future. We've hit the jackpot with 2 picks in the top 10, but we need to show we've changed when it comes to being able to pick and develop the right players high up in the draft. Hard to say, Pies would be up there but depends on their dealings the next two days (I also think they gave up too much for Howe).
Only concern with Melbourne trading is you traded your first next year, which could be a huge problem if you have a bad year ie finish in the bottom 4 as there are four clubs I can't see making finals.

Saints
Brisbane

But then again what would I know I thought doggies would get the wooden spoon this year after losing libba, Griffen, Higgins and Cooney

Don't underestimate the fact that they got through Trade week without losing a player or a Draft Pick. No mean feat.
Well done Tiges.
That's half the problem.

Their VFL spine is Elton, Astbury, Hampson, Griffiths, McBean as well as McKenzie. They haven't seemed to be able to move any of them on for any picks anywhere. And the midfield depth is worse as well but Conca might've had value to swap out for a player.

Part of the reason why Collingwood should end up with 3 players in is because they had 3 players outside their best 22 in Freeman, Kennedy and Seedsman who they could move on to help bring the other guys in.

If it wasn't Conca then maybe a Grigg, Grimes or Batchelor. Are those 3 going to play in big winning finals? Or be even bolder and offer up a Shane Edwards?

Geelong win because we brought 4 guys in and traded 5 guys out, including the "biggest" trade of the season, with an absolute minimum of fuss and controversy.

Look at these clubs who can't even agree on one trade....we just did the business with no BS whatsoever.

Yes, but there are risks, not with the Dangerfield one, but the other trades, e.g. will you get the Henderson of 2015 or the one 3 years earlier who was in AA form?. Purely on numbers, you had a good period though, but it is a all or nothing trade period for Geelong.

Only concern with Melbourne trading is you traded your first next year, which could be a huge problem if you have a bad year ie finish in the bottom 4 as there are four clubs I can't see making finals.

Saints
Brisbane

But then again what would I know I thought doggies would get the wooden spoon this year after losing libba, Griffen, Higgins and Cooney
We basically traded our first next year for Bugg and P3. I don't see the down side...

The Carlton/Melbourne/Essendon strategies are interesting.

Carlton are blowing up the list but so far have made the best out of what could have been a disastrous situation. The best 22 may look worse in 2016 but the age & talent profiles already appear much healthier.

Melbourne seem to have weaved some serious magic trading into the top 10, but is it wise for bottom 6 teams to trade a future first rounder? People will identify Carlton's trades as audacious but I think Melbourne are being even ballsier.

Essendon... like Carlton, they've turned a potentially ugly situation into a really positive trade period, but does anyone but Woosha and Dodoro actually know where on the premiership cycle they rate themselves? Very good work nonetheless.

Trade week ain't over boys and girls! :cool:

Goddamn this site needs a ninja emoji
images

Carlton have done well but lost a lot
Henderson's Mum?

Our midfield hasn't been gutted. Crows lost Dangerfield to add three flankers and pick nine.

Menzel could be a loss on paper. Yet we didn't lose him for a second round pick or Howe like Freeman and Kennedy. They are former top 20 picks who couldn't cut it and get a regular game. We're potentially selling high to get Kerridge, Plowman, Sumner, Lamb and Phillips. Win as part of a package with the Henderson pick which we traded for pick eight. Should get three or more players from this deal. Sumner could be the bargain if his foot holds up as well as Menzel's knee.

Bell secured us a higher pick than 28 with Kerridge his likely replacement as a hard running forward/mid. More footy smarts than Bell.

Dixon trade could be as average as the Ryder deal. Geelong got their uncontracted KPP for a song. No ankle issues.

You are joking right?

You received 2 list plodders from GWS in 2014 and 4 more this year

You are GWS graveyard B Grade players

Melbourne picked up Bugg who is way ahead of any of those players and Pies Treloar, yet you are happy??

Geelong has done very well, if Pies can get Aish close second if not equal

Yeah GWS y'know....that team that is stacked with A-grade talent? I'm fairly sure SOS aka the former GWS list manager knows who can play and who can't on the Giants list mate.

No one patted Richmond on the back for picking Miles who had shown sfa before Richmond picked him up. Looks like a master stroke in hindsight though and why would be go all out for Treloar when our list is miles off a flag?

Personally I really like Melbourne's, Essendon's, Geelong's, Collingwood's, Brisbane's........ So many teams I think would be really happy.

I think with the amount of trades and silly season on points, a lot of teams won.

Lost, I would say the Swans (trading a first round pick for a club to take bird), Richmond (teams around them have improved, and they got townsend) , Fremantle (really needed a forward, but Bennell was a good get), GWS (offloaded dead wood but I don't get their pick trading)

I reckon a lot of teams will walk away happy, and a lot of fans.

Freo lost out even though we picked up Bennell with a second rounder :drunk:

So who won trade week!?