Opinion Sponsorship Discussion

Question is whether you merge a small club with a big club or two smells together.

I reckon a North and Bulldogs merger would work, or a St. Kilda + Melbourne.

All theoretical and I don't wish it on anyone though. It would be horrible for the supporters.
Strong case for a Melbourne City (Saint Demons)

and a Greater Melbourne Districts (Bullroos)

i wouldn't wish it on anyone 'cept for Norf fans they can get sturfffed

I like to think of Adelaide as being located in the Adelaide Supreme Court. ...
The Adelaide Football Club was established in 1986 (or 1984?) and was located in the offices of what is now Duncan Basheer Hannon (IIRC it was Povey Waterhouse & Basheer) until it relocated to West Lakes in late 1990 after an appearance in the Adelaide Supreme Court.

Honestly, St K, Melbourne, Bulldogs & North ripe for a merger / relocation
North is already playing games in Tasmania. Should be a no brainer to relocate them there. Tassie Kangaroos. Keeps it as 18 teams, so we aren't back to byes. Although I don't really mind a team having a bye each round, by also merging Saints and Bulldogs one less game for the TV rights would outweigh the benefits, unless the season is extended by 3 rounds (200 games vs. the current 198).

ok off topic but...

there's been discussion over conferences for a while which i don't mind nor care one way or another for but really only would have worked when you could have had 2x 8 team conferences that play each other twice, that's fine for 16 teams if you go by current season lengths (14 double up games + 8 single = 22)

to do that you'd have to:
delete Gold Coast -1
Move NM to Tas -0 (do it anyway)
Merge / delete another vic team (Saint Demons) -1
but this won't ever happen

for 18 teams with 2x 9 team conferences*

double up games = 16, + 9 single games = 25 matches per season

No one will want to play that many games per season (except, TV rights)

but you could do something like this (this is without much organised thoughts so bear with me):

drop all preseason matches and let clubs organise their own "friendly's" as required
reduce quarter lengths to 18 minutes
maintain on-field rotations to a lower level and possibly (consider) increase to 5 man bench (not a sub)

if total gametimes reduce by 10% over the minor round it comes to be ~2 total matches over a season reduction, take into account no JLT, there's your 3 extra games

total 25 minor round games with two split round / byes, 27 weeks?

(this is almost as bad as my 20 teams with 4x 5 team conferences that has +1 Tas and +1 from one of Perth / Central Aus / Wanderers / Nord proposal)

hey guess who should be working but is looking for distractions

*conferences aside, an "even" fixture is more achievable if you can iron out discrepancies by increasing double up games to 9 or even grouping (without necessarily splitting the ladder into 2 conferences)

Still glass houses and all that. Are we “making our community proud” with the $3 million in gaming that we took?

I always think back to the time I saw the Gotta Getta Gutta guy and his mate drop over a grand easy into a couple of Shoguns and feel much better about it (and my intermittent donations).

I play pokies maybe 3 or 4 times a year and man, Shoguns always suck. Why are they so popular?

I'm all about dolphin treasure

If it stopped just one GGG ad making it to local screens then I think we can chalk it up as a community service. :p

Almost $20 million!

Still glass houses and all that. Are we “making our community proud” with the $3 million in gaming that we took?

From the article that @The_FVK took that graph from re 2015 Club revenues

https://hurlingpeoplenow.wordpress.com/2016/09/20/how-much-money-does-your-club-make/
That’s $110m in gaming takings, from $876m in total club revenue. It’s a significant amount to be removing. Clubs argue that they have little choice but to rely on this money, and it’s not hard to see why. Below is our modelling of what each club’s profit and loss situation would look like if pokies were removed:

Based on the research we have done, we think that a generous assumption is that 25% of the revenue from pokies are extracted as profit. The rest of that revenue will of course go to maintaining the venues containing the pokies – to operating costs and to subsidised food and drink, and perhaps on other donations (including charitable ones).

Some clubs, such as Port Adelaide, barely make any profit on having poker machines after costs – South Australia does not permit any denomination of notes to be bet in poker machines, while Queensland permits $100 notes to be fed into the machines........

If you want more figures re 2015 onward re clubs and their pokie reveue there is this thread of the footy industry board that was started from this article.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/the-afl-clubs-and-pokies-thread.1155637/

View attachment 463107

I knew I still had it in the cloud <3
Not even remotely on topic but this reminded my that i snapped this pic of the brains trust at my local mid morning coffee shop aa fe days ago

Only kept it for the look on Fages' face

IMG_20180224_144236.jpg

Yes the dome belongs to the great firewalker

That's... just his face.

It's like he was once accused by a mentor of having resting bitch face, or maybe just looking disengaged, and has since made it his mission to spend every waking moment emoting like a ****ing cartoon

Opinion Sponsorship Discussion