Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday

People dont get sucked in to blaming the players for todays performance. Todays performance was that of a group of kids who have lost faith in the process. Our list has holes but it is a lot better than the effort displayed today.

As MG has stated there has been player rumblings about the coach for sometime. Its been coming and it seems the players have realised how flawed Richo's game plan and structures are and basically gave up. Again this is human nature after a time when people realise their boss or leader is incompetent and taking them nowhere.

The problem is completely Richo's and his assistants to own and repair if possible?

Or it could be cocky turds playing with no intent. I think they thought it would just happen and got found out as soft pretenders.

yes it wasn't so pleasing, but we've got to look at the positives - richo's contract ends at the same time as a very experienced coach of a not so distant premier. can't wait for 2020 and welcoming nathan to the club!

Don't laugh we are probably ringing Harves right now and he'll bring Nathan's game plan over.

I reckon the Hawks have a much better list than us, just lots of injuries last year. I think GC, North and Brisbane probably have similar lists to us. Brisbane have had injuries to all their best seniors over the last few years too. I can see us bottom 4 this year. Collingwood have a much better list and are badly coached. Freo have a pretty shit list too but in a similar boat to us with their coaching stopping a hard bottom out.

who's better? they used to. not anymore. its made up of a bunch B rate players. rookies and the like.

mitchell and rioli are good. even rioli is getting on now.

they're getting some good football out of some absolute hacks i reckon

We need to respond in some way. Not expecting us to win the next few but we have to be competitive.

I’m all for bringing more kids in, but that would cost us even more wins. If we take out some middle tier players to see if the younger ones can develop then I think we’re admitting that the rebuild hasn’t worked.

Today for the first time I actually wished I followed Essendon like all of my mates did.

We've ****ed our rebuild. We're going to be like Norf we're by being a 6-10 team till we drop off.

Adelaide, Geelong and GWS next.

Knowing our shitty luck we'll pull a win or two out of our asses to cover it up.

Genuinely, I'd be happy losing all of the games to get Richo out.

But regardless I follow St Kilda, I should realise not to expect anything.

Bye friends, all of you are great :)

Pathetic.

Do we have enough talent?
If we don’t, can we develop it?

Do we have a game plan that’s good but poorly executed?
Could the current group improve enough to execute it?
Is the game plan even at all executable?

Can we afford to sack a coach at this point in time?
Can we afford to keep him on?
If we can’t sack him, could an assistant take over?
If one could, who?
Could such an arrangement even work?
And if it could, what’s to say we pick the right one?

So many questions, but there is one thing that I know for certain.
Adelaide will utterly destroy this side next week.

Had we lost to the Crows, we would be filthy but the narrative is that we are a long way off etc.

However we got pumped by a team that we (fans) expected to easily account for.

We had also hoped that another preseason would have eliminated these types of "let down" losses.

So I think this has amplified our disappointment.

At this stage there isn't a heap we can do and it is only round two.

Not making excuses or in denial. Just have to wait and see if it is endemic or an aberration.

I'll give it until mid season, but meanwhile the club deserve every piece of shit thrown at it until things turn around on a consistent level.

Lack of onfield leadership is a big concern. Maybe we have to go one step back this year until our youth grow into that leadership?

Over the last 17 years we have always had a smattering of senior players.

Loewe, Burke Harvey.
Then Harvey, Gehrig Hamill and Max.
Then Roo Lenny BJ Dal Joey and Co.
Right now we down have that depth of senior experience and leadership IMO.

Maybe I'm just delusional and trying to make sense of it.

Spot on mate. Tbh i felt before the season that many ppl here overrated our list. We have at least 12 guys who could easily be delisted at seasons end. So i guess im not as surprised by todays display. However that does not excuse rolling over and giving up like that.

I really hope the guys can turn it around. The alternative is too painful to contemplate. Yet another rebuild, another sacked coach, countless more years in the football wilderness. If that happens many will turn away from the club. I cant say ill blame them.

Well I guess we were crucified...
The crucifixion is now the 2nd worst thing to happen on Good Friday ever.
Just did a quick check to make sure there were no massacres on GF. Looks like there was an ice hockey game called the "Good Friday Massacre". At any rate it sounds better than yesterday's game.
But I've come to the conclusion that football shouldn't be played on Good Friday after all. Probably not something we'll have to worry about by the look on Ronald McLachlan's face at half time.

Spot on mate. Tbh i felt before the season that many ppl here overrated our list. We have at least 12 guys who could easily be delisted at seasons end. So i guess im not as surprised by todays display. However that does not excuse rolling over and giving up like that.

I really hope the guys can turn it around. The alternative is too painful to contemplate. Yet another rebuild, another sacked coach, countless more years in the football wilderness. If that happens many will turn away from the club. I cant say ill blame them.
fmd , did the crows delist 12 players when they lost by 60points to the roos last year

I think you misunderstood me. I was referring to a post i made preseason in a different thread where i thought a number of guys could easily be delisted at years end if they didnt show significant improvement this year. Nobody should be sacked after Round 2.

I still maintain hope(perhaps misplaced) that this was an aberration. Either way we will have a clearer picture in the next 4-6 weeks. Till then hold off on the pitchforks fellas.

Just been out flogging around a difficult golf course here in Edinburgh. Rained pretty much the whole time, freezing cold. I got beaten.

Come back home and catching up with this thread. Makes me want to head back out into the rain! Far less painful.

Hard to see us turn it around the way things are. Going to be a long season. But you never know.....

Just been out flogging around a difficult golf course here in Edinburgh. Rained pretty much the whole time, freezing cold. I got beaten.

Come back home and catching up with this thread. Makes me want to head back out into the rain! Far less painful.

Hard to see us turn it around the way things are. Going to be a long season. But you never know.....
Yep, I'm not far away in Cardiff, got the ferry from Dublin this morning, staring at miserable rain outside thinking my footy and cricket sides are both cactus. Mexico in a fortnight travelling south can't come quick enough.

I reckon the Hawks have a much better list than us, just lots of injuries last year. I think GC, North and Brisbane probably have similar lists to us. Brisbane have had injuries to all their best seniors over the last few years too. I can see us bottom 4 this year. Collingwood have a much better list and are badly coached. Freo have a pretty shit list too but in a similar boat to us with their coaching stopping a hard bottom out.
I disagree that the Dawks and the Filth have better lists to be honest. The poo and gold just have a fantastic coach and the pies have... well, a gameplan. If we had any of the 17 other coaches in the AFL there's no doubt in my mind we'd be a better side.

Very dissappointing, but anybody who didn't expect a game or two like this from this side hasn't been paying attention.

The lack of top end talent has been a talking point for the media since the Adelaide game last year, add that to a relatively young side and it spells trouble.

There will be no quick fixes for this side IMHO, we just have to suck it up and hope we can draft top end talent.

We need to luck out with our own version of Cripps or Oliver for starters, I doubt too many top free agents have us on their list of destination clubs.

Terrible day all around it was very difficult to find any positives, how badly must hickey be going that we played an obviously injured longer.

I have said it before we need to see what we have on our list guys like rice, battle, white etc must be given opportunities and this list needs to be churned during the season. We are going nowhere near finals so we need to get something out of the year.

Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday