Roast Statement on Umpires

I think the umpires have reintroduced a downfield free for pushing in the back when a player kicks. I noticed one called on Rioli last week for the umpires sweethearts - North Melbourne. It was a nothing action, the type that happens 100 times a game. For some reason they called it.

All we want is consistency, and for our players to learn how to tackle. The bloody rules committee fiddling with the rules to prevent non existent increases in injuries of certain types doesn't help either.

Anybody hazard a guess what reinterpreted rule of the week will be this week? I will go with a crackdown on the 1m boundary throw in rule.

I think the free kick differential numbers can be deceiving. For me its more the impact, and the timing.

Dylan Roberton was clearly grabbed without the ball across half back late in the third quarter. Because the obvious free kick was not paid (and because he was prevented from getting the ball by the infringement), Gold Coast got the ball and kicked a goal, which swung momentum in a game we then went on to lose.

Same sort of thing with Rhys Stanley not getting free kicks against Hawthorn last year and Richmond this year, Nick Reiwoldt against Freo last year, and Dean Polo against Hawthorn last year. That's not to mention Milne v Collingwood last year.

I have said before that I go to games with a former umpire and it changed my view on many decisions. What he does say adamantly is what you say Punter - it is all about the timing and the impact. This is a roundabout way of saying inconsistency. They seem to pluck free kicks against us that were let go for the earlier part of the game at crucial times and not pay kicks later in games that were paid earlier in the game. If you listen to Paul Roos talk about Sydney's problems with umpires back in 05/06 - that is his point also - no consistency. What I will say is this - Milney has made a rod for his own back with umpires. They are human and he has given it to them for years so many don't like him and he does stupid and irrational things in games. His problem is that he needs to take ownership of the issue and fix it. Every player makes their own bed. Lenny is known as a moralist (i.e. did you see that...he could have really injured him). That came from Brett Kirk which was interesting. Reivolt is known for running under the ball and still throwing his hands up and diving forward as if he was tunneled. Ironically his reach means that he is tunneled more than what is paid but having watched him live he definitely does it. An umpire told me this week that Bellchambers has been stamped as a diver and won't get half the free kicks he has got so far this year because the umpires have worked out that he is either physically weak or a diver or both. Terry Milera is known for ducking his head to draw a free kick. The older umpires all know that Goodes is massive cry wolf.

So in summary - my former umpiring mate reckons we are getting stooged each week and in particular with inconsistent umpiring because we are never allocated 3 good umpires. We get 1 good umpire who controls the other 2 work experience kids. This results in inconsistent decisions. Also - they don't know the player's tricks and get sucked in or are out of position and miss things altogether.

I say the club should continue to be vocal about the poor umpiring we are getting. Drop hints like Scotty Watters did on Thursday about how well Sydney blocked Kosi off the ball (illegally from what people at the game saw). Suddenly it is in the media and Watters is on the couch talking about it.

We also need to be more disciplined. Watch Melbourne Storm and you will see why they are so good - discipline. Saad has been pinged 3 times this year for inside the 5m protected zone :rolleyes: WAKE UP!! Each time it was blatantly obvious as he wandered around with his head in the clouds. If Milney pulls his head in then perhaps O'Brien doesn't get a free kick. (FWIW - I think it was a 50:50 cal. On the day in real time it looked like interference with O'Brien. Looking at it on replay a 1000 times proves that it wasn't a free kick but we all know that a bloke running with the flight cannot touch the other bloke without risking a free-kick). Jason Blake infringes every marking contest. I think there have been other howlers this year such as Gilbert's holding the ball against Richmond and your examples Punter. Jack REivolt ducking and getting head high contact twice and we get nothing or holding the ball for ducking!

Exactly I dont worry about the stats becase they arent MEANT to be equal , they are meant to be paid in an equivalent manner.
But I see:
Milnely looks slightly perplexed.... phhhhht 50 metres.
Opponent punches riewoldt in the head...... nothing .
Opponent punches riewoldt in the head while other opponent has him in headlock. Phhht free kick, brings the ball back from the goal Saad has just kicked so that Riewoldt can have a free from 70 out.

Oh equal free kickes what are you worried about?

Yeah the free kick count doesn't tell the whole story, it doesn't show free kicks missed or when/where the free kicks were paid, it also doesn't show if the free kicks paid were correct.

The free kick count in the Freo game last year was even but it was a horribly umpired game with the umpires ignoring blatant frees against us and paying soft frees to Freo.

Likewise against Gold Coast this year we won the free kick count but the umpires paid a couple of soft frees in front of goal in the last quarter which gave Gold Coast two goals, the lead and the momentum at a crucial time of the game. The whole 2nd half was horribly umpired in Gold Coast's favour.

On Milne v Collingwood last year, at the game I thought it was a free. Giving 50 metres for abusing an opponent, less so.

The umps aren't going to change their mind on Milne. It's not too late for guys like Milera and Saad.

Riewoldt's reputation for not engaging in physical marking contests (read Wrestling) means he gets away with such stuff. Go away with a howler last week in Wellington where he threw Richards away.

I think the Gold Coast game was only poorly officiated after half time, the Richmond game was an affront to fairness, and the Sydney game was evenly poorly umpired until the ruck free late. The umpiring in the GWS and Essendon games had no effect on the result.

The Sydney game was poorly umpired but still favoured Sydney, evidenced by the 19-11 free kick count their way. They had a few bad decisions go against them but we had more go against us. Not as bad as the Richmond game but bad enough to affect the game.

The problem in that Sydney game was the lack of consistency and where the free kicks were being paid. Sydney sealed the match with a soft free kick in front of foals and were also brought into the contest by the umpires early on. This is only frustrating because they let the same incident go 99 other times.

Also my new pet hate, when we run a player down who has taken 4 bounces from behind it seems to be a push in the back but when we get caught in possession it is given holding the ball.

I can handle the umpiring being rubbish, but as long as it is consistently rubbish and is paid both way, I think that is all we are asking

Also my new pet hate, when we run a player down who has taken 4 bounces from behind it seems to be a push in the back but when we get caught in possession it is given holding the ball.

Yep ... the Armstrong vs Ross frees was an excellent case in point. Almost identical and both went against us. It's like the umpires have their own personal interpretation and don't give a rat's tossbag how the other umpires on the day view it.

If it comes out in the tackle without prior opportunity, it should be play on.

If it comes out in the tackle with prior opportunity, it should be holding the ball.

With the Sam Gilbert one, I knew they were going to ping him because being tackled by three guys, he was held so tight he couldn't even look like he was making a genuine attempt.

Perhaps he could have made some gesticulations with his face to indicate an effort to dispose of the ball. Literally every other part of his body was being held.

With the Sam Gilbert one, I knew they were going to ping him because being tackled by three guys, he was held so tight he couldn't even look like he was making a genuine attempt.

Perhaps he could have made some gesticulations with his face to indicate an effort to dispose of the ball. Literally every other part of his body was being held.

Should have blinked more rapidly perhaps?

Might have to clarify that with Gieschen.

Our favourite work experience kid didn't manage to see the roundhouse arm chop on Gilbo either, but saw a free to Richmond immediately after. Whilst it was there, the free should have been ours in the first instance. Goal to Richmond.

943735_10151917911229128_966566582_n.jpg

482637_10151917909104128_1945268183_n.jpg

947310_10151917908774128_1377090122_n.jpg

375000_10151917909529128_88057046_n.jpg

The work experience kid was horrendous, decided the game with some ridiculously soft frees to Richmond in front of goal and ignored obvious frees to us.

Haven't seen him since either btw, must have been a one off Gieschen special plucked from the Richmond cheer squad.

Fair dinkum the amount of shit umpiring we've copped since Watters has taken over is beyond a joke.

I try and bring it up on the main footy board here and everyone calls me a sook, whinger, troll, tinfoil hat wearing conspiracy theorist that's even after showing them the free kick ladder with us having the worst free kick differential by a country mile..

Just have a look at this thread.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2013-afl-power-rankings.994497/page-30

That Brown Bottle muppet was sooking about me complaining about the umpires all the time.

Posted a link to this thread to show him I'm not the only St Kilda supporter pissed off with the umpires, of course the dickhead refuses to even read it because we're all biased St Kilda supporters.

This is the same Richmond supporting dickhead that thought the umpiring was fine in the St Kilda v Richmond game and didn't favour Richmond at all. Yeah of course he's not biased :rolleyes:

That's the sort of level of dickheadness you have to deal with there.

No one else cares about us getting screwed by the umpires, they're all quite happy to see us get screwed and slide down the ladder because it helps their teams.

It's time we stood up against this bullshit because no one else will.

The work experience kid was horrendous, decided the game with some ridiculously soft frees to Richmond in front of goal and ignored obvious frees to us.

Haven't seen him since either btw, must have been a one off Gieschen special plucked from the Richmond cheer squad.

Fair dinkum the amount of shit umpiring we've copped since Watters has taken over is beyond a joke.

I try and bring it up on the main footy board here and everyone calls me a sook, whinger, troll, tinfoil hat wearing conspiracy theorist that's even after showing them the free kick ladder with us having the worst free kick differential by a country mile..

That Brown Bottle muppet was sooking about me complaining about the umpires all the time.

Posted a link to this thread to show him I'm not the only St Kilda supporter pissed off with the umpires, of course the dickhead refuses even read it because we're all biased St Kilda supporters.

This is the same Richmond supporting dickhead that thought the umpiring was fine in the St Kilda v Richmond game and didn't favour Richmond at all. Yeah of course he's not biased :rolleyes:

No one else cares about us getting screwed by the umpires, they're all quite happy to see us get screwed and slide down the ladder because it helps their teams.

To be fair , if umps are found to have &*^%ed up, its not publicized or acknowledged but they are dropped.

Our favourite work experience kid didn't manage to see the roundhouse arm chop on Gilbo either, but saw a free to Richmond immediately after. Whilst it was there, the free should have been ours in the first instance. Goal to Richmond.

943735_10151917911229128_966566582_n.jpg

482637_10151917909104128_1945268183_n.jpg

947310_10151917908774128_1377090122_n.jpg

375000_10151917909529128_88057046_n.jpg

Yep - an absolute shocker. A professional free kick to stop momentum and it was not called. That work experience kid was in the same position so he saw it clearly. In fact it was a mark first and then a free kick (if that is possible) so either way it is Gilbert's ball. I lost the plot over this one and got asked to tone it down in the MCC members.

I

Posted a link to this thread to show him I'm not the only St Kilda supporter pissed off with the umpires, of course the dickhead refuses even read it because we're all biased St Kilda supporters.

Love your post dude. We did have some non-supporters on our boards commiserating about the umpiring in the Richmond game, which I think puts the matter beyond any reasonable doubt: these people had no cause to seek us out and say they thought the umpiring was shithouse beyond the fact that they found it aggravating as impartial observers of footy.

It's got to the point of seriously affecting our season as a team on the outside edge of the eight and it's an absolute disgrace.

The Giesch.

Apr 29 http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-04-29/tigers-werent-denied-gieschen

Jeff Gieschen is adamant that the goal umpire who appeared to deny Richmond a goal late in the Tigers' one-point loss to Fremantle on Friday night did nothing wrong.

Gieschen is happy with the way the umpire handled the situation.

May 2 http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/goal-umpire-dropped-after-gaffe/story-fndv8t7m-1226634212910

Perth-based goal umpire Dale Edwick has paid the price for his gaffe in last week's Fremantle-Richmond match by being dropped from AFL action this weekend.

To be fair, we have Stevic and Rosebury tonight, who are two of the better umpires.

About time we got some decent umpires, hopefully we get treated better than we did last time we played Collingwood, that wouldn't be hard though.

Even great players make absolute howlers every now and then. Take our own Roo, awesome player but every now and then he kicks like his left & right boots on the wrong feet.
Umpires make a few mistakes as well, wich is only natural in a game wich changes the bloody interpretation of its rules every 5 minutes. but when they do make an error we demand action and blame them for the loss. We forgive players but not umpires for some reason.

I just realised i have for the first time ever in my life stood up for the umpires:eek::eek:
I must be unwell. Im off to the doctors:confused:

14.50 in the last qtr...Sippa has a free kick. Daisy runs from behind Sippa, about 2 meters away from him, with his arms in tha air, calling for play on. He runs to the Collingwood player on the mark, now they have 2 on the mark....and still no 50. Can someone please explain the difference between this and Saunders 50 for encroaching in the 1st qtr (where Saunders actually veered away from the restricted zone)?
It seems like all the 50/50 decisions go against us at the most inopportune times...especially in our defence

Roast Statement on Umpires